Skip to main content

Creating Your Bibliography in PubMed and NCBI: Guidelines and Instructions

How to fill in your NIH BioSketch and link to your bibliography

Guidelines for NIH Biographical Sketches

As of May 25, 2015, the NIH implemented a new policy concerning biographical sketches. One of the several changes involves investigators being encouraged to include a link to their bibliography, as created and maintained in NCBI. The new biosketch format page can be found here

From the instructions: "Also provide a URL to a full list of your published work as found in a publicly available digital database such as SciENcv or My Bibliography, which are maintained by the US National Library of Medicine."

Create List and Generate Link

1. On the PubMed homepage, click the "Sign in to NCBI" link in the top right-hand corner.

2. Click the "Register for an NCBI account" link to create an account. Once you have done so, confirm your account via email. The confirmation email may end up in your spam box, so if it doesn't arrive within 10 minutes, check spam.

3. Go back to PubMed.

4. Select "Advanced" under the primary search bar.

5. From the drop-down menu, select "Author" and enter your name any way it may appear in a publication. We recommend the following formula: Mead T OR Mead TL OR Thomas Mead OR Thomas L Mead OR Tom Mead OR ... and maiden names, if applicable with capital OR between each incidence.

6. From the drop-down menu, select "Affiliation" and enter your affiliations any way it may appear in a publication. We recommend the following: Dartmouth OR Hanover OR Lebanon OR New Hampshire OR DHMC … and any other prior affiliations with capital OR between each incidence. Click "search."

7. Place a checkmark next to each publication that belongs to you.

8. Click “Send To” (on the right) and select “My Bibliography.” Click "Add to my bibliography" and select the bibliography you wish to save items to.

9. To ensure that your publications are in fact in your bibliography, select “ My NCBI” next to your username in the top right-hand corner. Your bibliography should appear on the left-hand side.

10. You may also manually add citations not indexed by PubMed. Such citations may include conference proceedings and book chapters. You may do this by navigating back to your bibliography and clicking "Manage My Bibliography." Click "Add Citation" and select the type of publication you wish to add. 

11. To generate a public URL, select “settings” next to where it says, “Your bibliography is private.” Select “public” and click save. Once you hit save, a link should appear at the top of the screen.

Save Your Search

1. Go to PubMed.

2. Select “Advanced.” Under the search builder, you’ll see your history. Select the hyperlink under “Items found” to the right of your search terms. This will bring back the search you just completed. This will return your results.

3. Select “create alert” which is under the search bar. You now have the option to only save your search, or to be notified via email whenever a new publication matches your search criteria. If you don’t wish to be notified, select “No thanks” in response to the question, “Would you like e-mail updates of new search results?”

4. In either case, your search will be saved in your NCBI account, on the right-hand side. To re-run the search in the future, click the hyperlink. You may also view only the new items, which will be separated out. To add the new ones to your bibliography, select the results, click “send to” and select “My bibliography.”

Contact Us

Biomedical Libraries Reference

Contact:
(603) 650-7660
hours: 9:00am to 5:00pm, M-F

Visit Our Website!

Helpful Links

For information about the NIH Public Access Policy, please see our research guide here.