African & African American Studies: Articles & Journals
Begin your research with the best resources recommended by the subject liaison for African & African American Studies. The guide features journal indexes, reference works, primary source collections, and film documentaries.
Indexes books, journal articles and book chapters on Africa - and to a lesser extent the African diaspora. Subject coverage principally in the social and environmental sciences, development studies, humanities and arts. Some items from the medical, biological and natural sciences are included. African government publications and works of creative literature are not normally listed.
This suite of databases includes the International Index to Black Periodicals, which indexes over 150 magazines and journals from the United States, Africa, and the Caribbean, with coverage as early as 1902. Includes full text of 40 key scholarly journals
Provides access to the diversity of literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy and a secondary emphasis on significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Topics covered include politics, economics, the labor movement, ecology and environment, women's studies, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.
Indexes articles from more than 200 of the most popular general-interest magazines published in the United States and Canada, covering all subjects of such general news areas as current events, business, fashion, politics, crafts, food, education, sports, history, and science.
Suite of ten databases indexing books, articles, conference papers, government reports, and non-print resources from 1972-present. Don't be fooled by the name -- this resource covers men's and gender studies as well.
Indexes 30+ years of economics literature from around the world. Compiled by the American Economic Association, EconLit is a comprehensive index of journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations.
Citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage begins in 1963.
Consists of searchable database of citations (1949-present) to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews in the fields of religious and theological studies. Journals representing all the major religious faiths, major denominations, and numerous language groups are included.
Contains: International index to film periodicals, 1972- ; International index to television periodicals, 1979- ; List of periodicals indexed; Treasures from the film archives; International directory of film and TV documentation collections; and Bibliography of FIAF affiliate's publications.
Cites articles from more than 350 English-language periodicals in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, art and photography, folklore, general scholarship, history, journalism and communications, language and literature, literary and political criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion and theology.
Indexes more than 375 international music periodicals, and includes feature music articles from the New York Times & the Washington Post. Started current indexing in 1996, and is in the process of retrospectively adding material going back to the 19th c.
The most comprehensive index of scholarship in literature, language, folklore, film, new media, and rhetoric and composition. Covers articles in periodicals, books, and book chapters. Does not index book reviews.
Indexes 135 English-language periodicals published in the United States and Great Britain. Includes popular science publications like Scientific American and National Geographic as well as major scholarly journals and trade publications. Covers all the sciences.
PubMed comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Collection of major 19th century African-American newspapers, including: Christian Recorder (Philadelphia, Pa.); Freedom's Journal (NY); Colored American (NY); Provincial Freeman (Ontario, Canada); National Era (Washington, DC); and Frederick Douglass' North Star (Rochester, NY) and its later titles.
Indexes and provides full text to 28,000+ news and business information sources from 157 countries in 23 languages, includes regional and industry publications, newspapers, newswires, Web and blog content.
Provides information about emerging market countries, their companies, and industries. It includes country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, and analysis; reports on financial markets, companies and industries; exchange rates; analyst reports; and business news, both in English and the local languages.