Encyclopedia of Note
Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology: An EncyclopediaCall Number: Online!quick overviews of key theories and theorists within the field.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences (2001)Online!
Published over a decade ago, this massive (26 vol.) work is great for in-depth overviews - particularly social theory. You'll still need to check for new research, but this encyclopedia goes a long way in setting the groundwork.
Library Catalog
WorldCat
WorldCat is the union catalog of all libraries in the huge library network called "OCLC." Most items are cataloged using the same Library of Congress subject headings used at Dartmouth. Items not available in the Dartmouth collection can be requested via : Interlibrary Loan & BorrowDirect
Literature Reviews
Recent literature reviews related to your topic can save a huge amount of time getting up to speed on prior research. Use them to understand different approaches to studying an issue, and exploit the bibliographies to gather key studies.
Search across entire Annual Reviews collection (social, physical, and life sciences)
- Annual ReviewsOnline suite of publications providing literature review of a wide range of social sciences & sciences, including Annual Review of Anthropology, Annual Review of Public Health, Annual Review of Psychology, Annual Review of Sociology, and more!
Includes tie-in with citation tracking in the Web of Science database.
Anthropology Databases
- Anthropological LiteratureBibliographic index to articles in journals and edited works received by the Tozzer Library, the anthropology library of Harvard University. Covers publications dating from the early 19th century to the present.
- AnthroSourceCurrent issues of American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins. Journal issues generally appear online prior to distribution in print.
Sociological Abstracts
- Sociological AbstractsCitations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines, including scholarly journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage begins in 1963.
[Previous embedded search widget has been replaced with link due to errors.]
Web of Science
Despite the name, Web of Science is multidisciplinary. Covers scholarly journal articles, and offers a "cited reference search" to track research forward.
|
Search Web of Science™ Copyright 2014 Thomson Reuters |
Google Scholar
- Bibliography Manager - select "Show links to import citations into Refworks"
Additional subject indexes
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new windowAn online bibliography of educational materials available since 1966. Great for finding studies about student populations (e.g., college students!)
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology. Use the methodology search limit to restrict to qualitative studies
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowindexes approximately 5,600 scholarly life sciences journals published around the world
- Women's Studies InternationalAn interdisciplinary database combined from Women studies abstracts (1984-present), Women's studies database (1972-present), Women's studies bibliography database, New books on women and feminism (1987-present), Women of color and southern women (1975-1995), The history of women and science, health, and technology: a bibliographic guide to the professions and disciplines (1970-1995), Women's health and development: an annotated bibliography (1995), Women, race, and ethnicity: a bibliography (1970-1990), WAVE: Women's audiovisuals in English: a guide to nonprint resources in women's studies (1985-1990), POPLINE subset on women (1964-2000).
- Can't deal with single-databases? Search all of ProQuest's at onceand then use the side-menu filters to winnow down results. Realize that by searching across multiple databases, you'll lose the precision of database-specific subject headings, methodology filters, etc. But this serves as an alternative to Summon.
Full-text search tools for Anthropology journals
- JSTOR advanced searchSet the journal filter below the search form to "Anthropology"
- Project MuseProject MUSE compliments JSTOR in that it includes different journals, and it works backward from the latest issue.
It offers full-text coverage of over 400 journal titles from some 100 scholarly publishers. - Wiley Online LibraryWiley publishes the American Anthropological Association's journals, along with the American Journal of Physical Anthropology, the Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute, and more. Warning: While Wiley allows you to browse a list of their anthropology journals, you cannot easily limit searches to that set of titles.
Anthropology Librarian
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
Need more help?
Schedule an appointment to meet with me in the Reference Office (Berry 180).
- Online scheduler: https://libcal.dartmouth.edu/appointments/baker-berry
- No time available in the online scheduler? Email me (a few days in advance, please) to find a mutually convenient time.
E-Mail, Chat, or Text the on-call Reference Librarian
Review one of the library's subject-specific research guides for additional suggestions.
RWIT [Berry Level 1]
Schedule an appointment to meet with an RWIT tutor