Research Guides: Business : Articles/News: Key Resources

Searching Articles

Should I search more than one database? Depending upon what you're looking for, YES. Although there's overlap, all publications aren't in every database, e.g. Harvard Business Review is in Business Source & Sloan Managment Review is in ABI/Inform. If you don't want to miss something, search more than one.

What types of articles are you looking for?

Scholarly/Academic Literature:

Newspapers/Newswires:

General Business & Trade Publications:

Specialized Subject Databases:

GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) (Environment)
Nexis Uni (fka Lexis Nexis) (Legal/Law)
PubMed (Medical/Healthcare)
WestlawNext (Legal/Law)

Ulrichsweb
International periodicals directory, with information on more than 300,000 periodicals, including academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, magazines, newspapers, and more. Can be used to find information about a particular journal, including where it is indexed, as well as to identify journals that publish in specific subject areas.
Browzine
Browse eJournals by topic or title. See latest issues.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Indexes business and management journals worldwide; covers corporate strategies, marketing, product development, industry conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and more. Includes the full text of articles from many publishers and links to full text options for other articles. 1923 to present.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes business journals worldwide; covers marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, economics and more. Also includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses. Includes the full text of articles from many publishers and links to full text options for other articles. 1886 to present.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Indexes 30+ years of economics literature from around the world. Compiled by the American Economic Association, EconLit is a comprehensive index of journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides full text to 33,000 news and business information sources from 200 countries in 28 languages, includes regional and industry publications, newspapers, newswires, Web and blog content.

Financial Times
One of the worlds leading business news organizations, providing essential news, comment, data and analysis for the global business community. Dartmouth users must register here using your @dartmouth.edu email address.
GreenFILE
"GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology."

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text resources on topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; company directories; government and politics; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax; federal and state laws; legal cases; regulations; and patents.

PressReader
Database that includes 250 newspapers from 55 countries in facsimile formthat means all newspapers are readable in their original format, layout and pagination. Texts are searchable, and about 30 papers (LA Times, Washington Post, etc.) have enhanced features ("SmartNavigation") for easy reading or cutting and pasting. The file for each newspaper goes back 60 days.
McKinsey Quarterly
Journal of the global management-consulting firm McKinsey & Company. Articles offer new ways of thinking about management in the private, public, and nonprofit sectors.
NYT.com - New York Times
Register to access NYT.com from your laptop, phone, or other mobile device. Use your Dartmouth email address.

ProQuest Business This link opens in a new window
Search across 17 databases of scholarly, business & trade publications, and newspapers in nearly every area of business, economics, banking, trade, and industry. Also includes Hoover's company profiles.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books, including business, management, accounting, decision sciences, economics, econometrics and finance.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scholarly peer-reviewed literature covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities. Scopus includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Wall Street Journal
WSJ.com - Wall Street Journal
Register to access WSJ.com from your laptop, phone, or other mobile device. Use your Dartmouth email address.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.

Westlaw
Provides search interfaces to cases, statutes and legislative materials, and encyclopedias; legal guides on various topics; famous documents; and pre-law topics.

Barron's
The Economist
January 1986 to date
The Economist [online]
Financial Times
One of the worlds leading business news organizations, providing essential news, comment, data and analysis for the global business community. Dartmouth users must register here using your @dartmouth.edu email address.
Harvard Business Review
McKinsey Quarterly
Journal of the global management-consulting firm McKinsey & Company. Articles offer new ways of thinking about management in the private, public, and nonprofit sectors.
NYT.com - New York Times
Register to access NYT.com from your laptop, phone, or other mobile device. Use your Dartmouth email address.
Wall Street Journal
WSJ.com - Wall Street Journal
Register to access WSJ.com from your laptop, phone, or other mobile device. Use your Dartmouth email address.

Start with a question:

"How does board diversity affect the bottom line in banking?"

Break your question into concepts, using synonyms or similar ideas together.

Concept A		Concept B		Concept C
Board	AND	diversity	AND	profit
OR		OR		OR
Board of Directors		inclusion		performance
OR		OR		OR
Corporate Directors		gender		benefits

Use your terms in the database search:

(HINT: Use the * to truncate your search terms. Perform* will return performance, performing, performed etc.. 5221* returns all NAICS codes that start with those digits.)

Sample search criteria from Business Source Ultimate Sample search from Business Source Ultimate

Getting Copies of Articles

Full text is available for most articles in these databases, look for the "full-text" or "pdf" links.

If there is no full-text, look for the button. This will link you to a copy of the article in another database, or help you request it though Interlibrary Loan.