Company Financials, Multiples, & Comps
The following databases will help you find financials for your selected company.
- Capital IQ This link opens in a new windowS&P Capital IQ provides a wealth of information on companies, markets and people. Covers market intelligence, financial analysis, screening and targeting, and relationships between people and organizations. Register for an account.
- Refinitiv Workspace This link opens in a new windowRefinitiv provides information on public & private global companies and includes: financials and filings, overview, news & corporate events, deals, share ownership, and analyst reports. Refinitiv also provides market views as well as screening and analysis for companies, deals/league tables, private equity, mergers and acquisition data, and more. Register for Refinitiv
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window162 million+ public, private, and nonprofit global companies. News, corporate overviews, financial data, market research reports, analyst reports, executive biographies, SWOT analysis, significant developments, strategic initiatives, industry norms, market share. Create lists of companies that match a given set of criteria.
- CalcbenchA database and research tool for financial statement analysis, financial accounting, and auditing of public companies using SEC data. If you are not a Dartmouth student, check with your institution’s library to see if your school subscribes or create an account. Full instructions on Canvas.
- Orbis This link opens in a new window306+ million public and private companies worldwide: financials in a standardized format, financial strength indicators, ratings, directors and contacts, filings, stock data, PE data, detailed corporate ownership structures, industry research, news, M&A deals and rumors, and global patent agreements.
- S&P's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowIndustry surveys of 50+ major U.S. industries, including current environment, industry profile, trends, how the industry operates, key industry ratios & statistics, how to analyze the industry and downloadable comparative company analysis.
- PrivCo This link opens in a new windowBusiness and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. PrivCo also covers venture capital funding deals, private equity deals, and merger acquisition data.
- BloombergReal-time news, financial and economic data. Worldwide pricing of bonds, stocks, commodities, currencies, money markets, and mortgages, with historical data. Economic time series, company financial statements, press releases, analysts forecasts, company filings and prospectuses, executive profiles, and more. Bloomberg terminals are available in Feldberg Library.
- EMIS Intelligence (fka EMIS Emerging Markets) This link opens in a new windowProvides information about emerging market countries, their companies, and industries. It includes country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, and analysis; reports on financial markets, companies and industries; exchange rates; analyst reports; and business news, both in English and the local languages.
- COMPUSTAT - North America & Execucomp (via WRDS)North America - U.S. and Canadian fundamental and market information on active and inactive publicly held companies. It provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items. Execucomp - executive compensation data.
Request an account
Analyst Reports
- Refinitiv Workspace This link opens in a new windowRefinitiv provides information on public & private global companies and includes: financials and filings, overview, news & corporate events, deals, share ownership, and analyst reports. Refinitiv also provides market views as well as screening and analysis for companies, deals/league tables, private equity, mergers and acquisition data, and more. Register for Refinitiv
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window162 million+ public, private, and nonprofit global companies. News, corporate overviews, financial data, market research reports, analyst reports, executive biographies, SWOT analysis, significant developments, strategic initiatives, industry norms, market share. Create lists of companies that match a given set of criteria.
Beta & Cost of Capital
- Kroll (fka Ibbottson) SBBI ... Classic Yearbook Market Results for Stocks, Bonds, Bills, and Inflation
Feldberg Ref. HG4501.S863
- Damodaran on Cost of Capital
includes datasets on betas and cost of capital by sector.
| Resource/Location | Company Beta | Industry Beta | ||
| Current | Historical | Current | Historical | |
| Bloomberg {Ticker symbol} EQUITY <Go> BETA <Go> Adjusted and Raw |
X | X | ||
| Capital IQ Select "tearsheet" on left navigation bar |
X | |||
| CRSP (via WRDS) | X | X (1962-) |
||
| D&B Hoovers Profile a company, choose "Stock Report" under Financials |
X | X | ||
| Refinitiv Workspace Search for a company and look at "key fundamentals" |
X | |||
| Yahoo!Finance Lookup a company, view "Summary" |
X | |||
| NASDAQ Lookup a company, view "Key Data" |
X | |||
Industry Norms, Multiples, & Comps
Compare your company financial statements with industry averages.
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window162 million+ public, private, and nonprofit global companies. News, corporate overviews, financial data, market research reports, analyst reports, executive biographies, SWOT analysis, significant developments, strategic initiatives, industry norms, market share. Create lists of companies that match a given set of criteria.
- Mergerstat ReviewLocation: Feldberg Ref HD2746.5 .M47
To find industry multiples : go to table of contents, look under Part Two: Industry Analysis - Mergerstat M&A DatabaseAvailable through Nexis Uni
- Orbis M&A (AKA Zephyr) This link opens in a new windowGlobal information on 1 million M&A, IPO, Private Equity and Venture Capital deals and rumors. Search by hundreds of criteria, including multiples; analyze a set of deals; refer to original sources (translated into English); and integrated financials for companies involved. Formerly known as "Zephyr."
Industry Profiles
- IBISWorld: Industry This link opens in a new windowA collection of market research reports for over 700 U.S. industries and almost 60 global industries. Reports are typically 30-60 pages in length and include key statistics, market segmentation, market characteristics, industry conditions, key factors, key competitors, industry performance, and outlook.
- BizMiner This link opens in a new windowGranular industry statistical reports and market analysis reports at the national and local levels down to the zip code. Industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and market trends for thousands more.
- MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new windowCountry-specific industry reports include market overviews, data, segmentation, outlook and five forces analysis. Company reports include financials, top competitors, deals and SWOT analyses.
- S&P's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowIndustry surveys of 50+ major U.S. industries, including current environment, industry profile, trends, how the industry operates, key industry ratios & statistics, how to analyze the industry and downloadable comparative company analysis.
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window162 million+ public, private, and nonprofit global companies. News, corporate overviews, financial data, market research reports, analyst reports, executive biographies, SWOT analysis, significant developments, strategic initiatives, industry norms, market share. Create lists of companies that match a given set of criteria.
Books
Find even more books in the library catalog, try these searches:
Damodaran on Valuation by Call Number: Feldberg HG4028.V3 D35 2006Also check out Damodaran's website on valuation, it includes various datasets by sector.
Corporate Valuation : measuring the value of companies in turbulent times by Call Number: Feldberg HG4028.V3 M37 2016
Investment Valuation by Call Number: Feldberg HG4028.V3 D353 2012
Valuation : measuring and managing the value of companies by Call Number: Feldberg HG4028.V3 C67 2010
Web Resources
- uValue AppBy Damodaran & Sundaram, uValue is a corporate valuation app for the iPad. The app helps you value businesses using conceptually rigorous, yet practical and widely-used tools. You can value firms using the ‘weighted average cost of capital’ (WACC, or 'cost of capital') approach, the ‘adjusted present value’ (APV)
- uValue CompanionThis is a book that is designed to go with the uValue app. It provides background material for the models in the app and suggestions on which model to use and how best to estimate parameters.
- Damodaran OnlineCheck out Data (includes many datasets by sector).
- Musings on MarketsAswath Damadoran's blog