Start your research with resources recommended by the visual arts librarian. Here you will find the key databases, indexes, and reference works in art & architecture, as well as sources for finding images. Special topics include color theory, artists boo
Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
The BHA archive on the Getty Web site offers both basic and advanced search modules, and can be searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements. Note that the database search includes both BHA (covering 1990-2007) the International Bibliography of Art (IBA), covering the years 2008 and part of 2009, and Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA), with records that cover 1975–1989.
Featuring full-text articles dating back to 1977, indexing and abstracts from an array of publications, this database is a robust resource for art students and art historians. It covers a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, folk art, film and architecture.
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, ecology, and other fields of the sciences, humanities, and social sciences.
Includes titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, journals with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields. Coverage includes 426 journals by 106 publishers.
An initiative launched by the art and architecture librarians at Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Johns Hopkins, Harvard, Princeton, and Yale universities, MIT, and the universities of Chicago and Pennsylvania, under the auspices of Columbia University Libraries and Information Services. This project aims to preserve websites devoted to the related topics of architecture, urban fabric, community development activism, public space and sustainability.