Skip to main content

Evaluating Sources: An Interactive Guide: Author Expertise

Use library databases, catalogs, and other tools to help you critically evaluate an article or book and place it in the context of an academic discipline.

Author Expertise

Who is the author of the book or article?

  1. How often is this person writing?  Any co-authors?
  2. About what subject(s)?
  3. What do you know about the sources publishing this writer's work?

Search the AUTHOR of the work you want to evaluate in one or more relevant databases in the boxes to the right to see what else s/he may have written.

dog reading book

 

Photo credit: betta design / Foter.com / CC BY-NC

 

 

Article Indexes: Humanities

Below are some useful article databases for the humanities.  Find more discipline-specific article databases using the Library's Database Finder.

Article Indexes: Social Sciences

Below are some useful article databases for the social sciences.  Find more discipline-specific article databases using the Library's Database Finder.

Article Indexes: Sciences

Below are some useful article databases for the sciences.  Find more discipline-specific article databases using the Library's Database Finder.

Find out about the sources in which this author publishes

Search Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to find out about the sources in which your author has published -- Ulrich's can tell you whether a journal or magazine is scholarly or popular, tends to be liberal or conservative, is published by a professional association, a non-profit, or a commercial publisher.  Who is the journal or magazine's intended audience?  What kinds of articles do they typically publish?

The Library Catalog

Do an author search in the Library Catalog to find any books or other material by the author in the Library's collections (this will NOT locate journal articles).  Enter the last name first for persons.

The Library Catalog connects you to our collections: books and journals (print and electronic), videos, CDs, maps, manuscripts, scores, sound recordings, and more.

 

Find out about publishers of the author's books