I need to find Bibliographies
Compilations or lists of writings that often include references to other books, periodicals and journals, articles in periodicals and journals, newspapers, government publications, micro-forms, manuscripts, etc. and often center around a specific topic.
American & British genealogy & heraldry: a selected list of books by Call Number: Library Depository Z 5311 .F55 1983ISBN: 9780880820042Publication Date: 3rd ed.For the family historian embarking on research for the first time or for the hardened researcher, Filby's excellent bibliography is a valuable reference guide to genealogical resources. Among its many attributes are the critical annotations that often warn the researcher of deficiencies and problems found in specific works on genealogy and heraldry.- Genealogies cataloged by the Library of Congress since 1986: with a list of established forms of family names and a list of genealogies converted to microfilm since 1983 byCall Number: Library Depository Z 5313 .U5 L53 1991This multi-volume set, containing over 50,000 titles and arranged by family surname, is an invaluable source for identifying published family histories that deposited, for the most part, in America's national library and other major genealogical libraries. "Many of the books of a genealogical nature described in [these volumes] are not published widely; therefore, it may be necessary to make a visit to the Library of Congress if copies cannot be located locally." [Genealogies Cataloged..., p.II].
- Genealogies in the Library of Congress: bibliography byCall Number: Library Depository Z 5319 .U53ISBN: 9780910946155This bibliography brings up to date similar printed works published in 1910 and 1919 under the title American and English genealogies in the Library of Congress ... The present compilation ... includes all the entries from the Family Name Index ... in the Local History and Genealogy Room of the Library of Congress.
- A complement to Genealogies in the Library of Congress: a bibliography byCall Number: Library Depository Z 5319 .K35ISBN: 9780910946247
- Genealogies in the Library of Congress: a bibliography: supplement, 1972/1976- byCall Number: Library Depository Z 5319 .U531 v.1ISBN: 9780910946193
- Genealogies in the Library of Congress: a bibliography. Second supplement, 1976-1986 byCall Number: Library Depository Z 5319 .U532ISBN: 0910946302
Acknowledgement
(Text and resources taken from the print edition of: Jaccaud, Robert D, comp. Passages to Family History: A Guide to Genealogical Research in the Dartmouth College Library. Rev. ed. Hanover: Dartmouth College Library, 1994).