Skip to main content

Maps & Atlases: Citing cartographic information

This subject guide looks at finding different maps and atlases throughout our collections. This is not an exhaustive list, but the guide does list various examples of resources within each section.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web based service used to create a personal database of bibliographic citations through importing the citations from other online databases or typing them in manually. Citations can be automatically formatted for bibliographies and footnotes. You can also search within your own personal database.

RefWorks is available to any current student, staff or faculty at Dartmouth College.

You can import searching results from most of the article indexes directly into RefWorks. You can import search results from online library catalogs too. Look for RefWorks under "Result Sets" in the catalog's online Help section.

Note: Write down the Institutional number for Dartmouth when you register for your account. You can get into RefWorks from any computer on campus or any computer from off-campus. To get in from off-campus, you need your Institutional code.

What can I do with RefWorks?

  1. You can search the library's online catalog within RefWorks and import your results into a folder.
  2. You can export search results from most of the article databases into folders in RefWorks.
  3. You can share folders with group members. You set their rights and privileges for the folder.
  4. You can add notes, abstracts and annotations to your citations.
  5. You can create bibliographies from the contents of folders just by clicking your mouse.
  6. You can insert references while writing your paper using Write-N-Cite.
  7. You can grab bibliographic information from web sites with RefGrab-It.

Tools available within RefWorks:

RefShare
Allows others access to a folder under your login. Once you make that folder available for sharing, you send an email to the others sharing. The email gives them information about getting into the folder and their rights and privileges. RefShare is available under the FOLDERS menu or the TOOLS menu.

Write-N-Cite
Write-N-Cite is a utility that works with Microsoft Word to place references in your paper as you write and also create a bibliography when you finish the paper. There is a small program that you download and install. It will either run from within Word or your desktop.

RefGrab-It
Works with your browser (Firefox or IE) to capture bibliographic information about the web page.

In the Library's collection

A word about EndNote

Also available is the software program called Endnote.

For more information about managing your references, click here.

To see a comparison chart between RefWorks and Endnote, click here.

Other online sites for citing references