Map Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Other library resource(s)
- Geologic map of Virginia, 1993: digital representation of the 1993 geologic map of Virginia byCall Number: Evans Map Room CD-ROM G 3881 .C5 2003 .V5 1993 c.2The digital data files are an extension of the original version of the 1993 geologic map ...
Selected geologic maps in the Library's collections
- Geological map of the world, scale 1:50 000 000 byCall Number: Baker-Berry Evans Map Room G 3201 .C5 2002 .B6A geologic map of the world on 3 sheets.
- Tektonicheska︠i︡a karta ︠t︡sentral'nogo i ︠i︡ugozapadnogo Afganistana = Tectonic map of Central and Southwestern Afghanistan byCall Number: Baker-Berry Evans Map Room G 7631 .C55 1973 .T42
- Cross section of the eastern Aleutian Arc from Mount Spurr to the Aleutian Trench near Middleton Island, Alaska byCall Number: Baker-Berry Evans Map Room G 4372 .A4 C5 1982 .P52
- Antarctic geologic map byCall Number: Baker-Berry Evans Map Room G 9801 .C5 s250 .G46For specific holdings, please contact the Evans Map Room.
- Geological map of the Caribbean byCall Number: Baker-Berry Evans Map Room G 4391 .C5 1990 .M37 sheets 1 - 2
- Geology and resource assessment of Costa Rica at 1:500,000 scale a digital representation of maps of the U.S. Geological Survey's 1987 folio I-1865 byCall Number: eBookIn 1986 and 1987, the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), the Dirección General de Geología, Minas e Hidrocarburos, and the Universidad de Costa Rica conducted a mineral-resource assessment of the Republic of Costa Rica. The results were published as a large 80- by 50-cm color folio (U.S. Geological Survey and others, 1987). ...
Books on geologic mapping
These resources handle geologic mapping exclusively. You will find various resources and examples of geologic maps stored in the Evans Map Room.
The map that changed the world: William Smith and the birth of modern geology by Call Number: Baker-Berry QE 22 .S6 W55 2001ISBN: 9780060193614This is the fascinating story of William Smith, the orphaned son of an English country blacksmith, who became obsessed with creating the world's first geological map and ultimately became the father of modern geology. In 1793 William Smith, a canal digger, made a startling discovery that was to turn the fledgling science of the history of the earth -- and a central plank of established Christian religion -- on its head. He noticed that the rocks he was excavating were arranged in layers; more important, he could see quite clearly that the fossils found in one layer were very different from those found in another. ...
An Introduction to geological structures and maps by Call Number: Baker-Berry QE 601.2 .B46 2003ISBN: 9780340809563Publication Date: 7th ed.A concise text that leads students in easy stages from the simplest ideas on geological structures right through to more advanced geological mapping technique.
Basic geological mapping by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780470686348Basic Geological Mapping is an essential basic guide to field techniques in mapping geology. Now completely revised and updated, the book retains the concise clarity which has made it an indispensable instant reference in its previous editions. It provides the reader with all the necessary practical information and techniques that they will need while carrying out work in the field, covering a wide spectrum of different conditions, needs and types of countries. ...
Understanding geology through maps by Call Number: Baker-Berry QE 36 .B67 2014ISBN: 9780128008669Understanding Geology through Maps guides young professional geologists and students alike in understanding and interpreting the world's dynamic and varying geological landscapes through the liberal use of visual aids including figures, maps, and diagrams.
Preliminary Integrated Geologic Map Databases of the United States
These Open-File Reports represent one preliminary parts of a larger planned series of integrated geologic databases that will ultimately be available for the entire United States. These interim versions are being released now in order to provide ready access to standardized geologic data for use in regional analyses and to meet product distribution goals. The final compilation of these state databases will allow integration of the data that are found on state-scale geologic maps, presented in a uniform database structure.
Internet resource(s)
- Database of the Geologic Map of North America
The Geological Society of America’s (GSA) Geologic Map of North America (Reed and others, 2005; 1:5,000,000) shows the geology of a significantly large area of the Earth, centered on North and Central America and including the submarine geology of parts of the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans. - Map Database for Surficial Materials in the Conterminous United StatesFor the conterminous United States, a map by Soller and Reheis (2004, scale 1:5,000,000 shows these sediments and the weathered, residual material; for ease of discussion, these are referred to as "surficial materials."
- National Geologic Map Database
This Portal is intended to give users a quick, integrated, browse-and-query "glimpse" of map data published by many agencies, and to direct them to the source information. - GEOSCAN
GEOSCAN is the bibliographic database for scientific publications of the Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) of Natural Resources Canada. GEOSCAN also provides links to publications available online or for free download (GeoPub and MIRAGE), ... - USGS Publications Warehouse DatabaseThe USGS publishes many reports on the geology of the United States. The reports usually include a map or maps. If the report is online, the map or maps are also online.