Research Guides: ENGS 5: Healthcare and Biotechnology in the 21st Century: Books

Examples

Biomaterials by Brian Love Biomaterials: A Systems Approach to Engineering Concepts provides readers with a systems approach to biomaterials and materials engineering. By focusing on the mechanical needs of implants, disease states, and current clinical needs, readers are encouraged to design materials and systems targeted at specific conditions, and to identify the impact of their proposed solutions. This inventive text is a useful resource for researchers, students, and course providers of biomaterials and biomedical engineering.
Biomaterials and Regenerative Medicine by Peter Ma (Editor) Written by world-leading experts, this book focusses on the role of biomaterials in stem cell research and regenerative medicine. Emphasising basic principles and methodology, it covers stem cell interactions, fabrication technologies, design principles, physical characterisation and biological evaluation, across a broad variety of systems and biomaterials. Topics include: stem cell biology, including embryonic stem cells, IPS, HSC and progenitor cells; modern scaffold structures, including biopolymer, bioceramic, micro- and nanofiber, ECM and biohydrogel; advanced fabrication technologies, including computer-aided tissue engineering and organ printing; cutting-edge drug delivery systems and gene therapy techniques; and medical applications spanning hard and soft tissues, the cardiovascular system and organ regeneration. With a contribution by Nobel laureate Shinya Yamanaka, this is a must-have reference for anyone in the field of biomaterials, stem cell biology and engineering, tissue engineering and regenerative medicine.
Stem Cells, Tissue Engineering, and Regenerative Medicine by David Warburton Stem cells, tissue engineering and regenerative medicine are fast moving fields with vastly transformative implications for the future of health care and capital markets. This book will show the state of the art in the translational fields of stem cell biology, tissue engineering and regenerative medicine. The state of developments in specific organ systems, where novel solutions to organ failure are badly needed such as the lungs, kidney and so forth, are discussed in various chapters. These present and future advances are placed in the context of the overall field, offering a comprehensive and quick up-to-date drink from the fountain of knowledge in this rapidly emerging field.This book provides an investigator-level overview of the current field accessible to the educated scientific generalist as well as a college educated readership, undergraduates and science writers, educators and professionals of all kinds.
Biofabrication by Gabor Forgacs (Editor); Wei Sun (Editor) Biofabrication is a practical guide to the novel, inherently cross-disciplinary scientific field that focuses on biomanufacturing processes and a related range of emerging technologies. These processes and technologies ultimately further the development of products that may involve living (cells and/or tissues) and nonliving (bio-supportive proteins, scaffolds) components. The book introduces readers to cell printing, patterning, assembling, 3D scaffold fabrication, cell/tissue-on-chips as a coherent micro-/nano-fabrication toolkit. Real-world examples illustrate how to apply biofabrication techniques in areas such as regenerative medicine, pharmaceuticals and tissue engineering. In addition to being a vital reference for scientists, engineers and technicians seeking to apply biofabrication techniques, this book also provides an insight into future developments in the field, and potential new applications.
Biomimetics -- Materials, Structures and Processes by Dietmar Bruckner (Editor); Petra Gruber (Editor); Christian Hellmich (Editor); Heinz-Bodo Schmiedmayer (Editor); Herbert Stachelberger (Editor); Ille C. Gebeshuber (Editor) The book presents an outline of current activities in the field of biomimetics and integrates a variety of applications comprising biophysics, surface sciences, architecture and medicine. Biomimetics as innovation method is characterised by interdisciplinary information transfer from the life sciences to technical application fields aiming at increased performance, functionality and energy efficiency.The contributions of the book relate to the research areas:- Materials and structures in nanotechnology and biomaterials- Biomimetic approaches to develop new forms, construction principles and design methods in architecture- Information and dynamics in automation, neuroinformatics and biomechanicsReaders will be informed about the latest research approaches and results in biomimetics with examples ranging from bionic nano-membranes to function-targeted design of tribological surfaces and the translation of natural auditory coding strategies.
Medical Biotechnology by Bernard R. Glick (Editor); Cheryl L. Patten (Editor); Terry L. Delovitch (Editor) The future is now--this groundbreaking textbook illustrates how biotechnology has radically changed the way we think about health care Biotechnology is delivering not only new products to diagnose, prevent, and treat human disease but entirely new approaches to a wide range of difficult biomedical challenges. Because of advances in biotechnology, hundreds of new therapeutic agents, diagnostic tests, and vaccines have been developed and are available in the marketplace. In this jargon-free, easy-to-read textbook, the authors demystify the discipline of medical biotechnology and present a roadmap that provides a fundamental understanding of the wide-ranging approaches pursued by scientists to diagnose, prevent, and treat medical conditions. Medical Biotechnology is written to educate premed and medical students, dental students, pharmacists, optometrists, nurses, nutritionists, genetic counselors, hospital administrators, and individuals who are stakeholders in the understanding and advancement of biotechnology and its impact on the practice of modern medicine. Hardcover, 700 pages, full-color illustrations throughout, glossary, index.
The Brain Electric by Malcolm Gay The gripping and revelatory story of the dramatic race to merge the human brain with machines Leading neuroscience researchers are racing to unlock the secrets of the mind. On the cusp of decoding brain signals that govern motor skills, they are developing miraculous technologies that will enable paraplegics and wounded soldiers to move prosthetic limbs and will give all of us the power to manipulate computers and other objects through thought alone. These fiercely competitive scientists are vying for government and venture capital funding, prestige, and wealth. Part life-altering cure, part science fiction, part Defense Department dream, these cutting-edge brain-computer interfaces promise to improve lives--but they also hold the potential to augment soldiers' combat capabilities. InThe Brain Electric, Malcolm Gay follows the dramatic emergence of these technologies, taking us behind the scenes in operating rooms, startups, and research labs, where the future is unfolding. With access to many of the field's top scientists, Gay illuminates this extraordinary race--where science, medicine, profit, and war converge--for the first time. But this isn't just a story about technology. At the heart of the scientists' research is a group of brave patient-volunteers, whose lives are given new meaning through these experiments.The Brain Electricasks us to rethink our relationship to technology, our bodies, even consciousness itself, challenging our assumptions about what it means to be human.
Machines in Our Hearts by Kirk Jeffrey Today hundreds of thousands of Americans carry pacemakers and implantable cardioverter-defibrillators (ICDs) within their bodies. These battery-powered machines--small computers, in fact--deliver electricity to the heart to correct dangerous disorders of the heartbeat. But few doctors, patients, or scholars know the history of these devices or how "heart-rhythm management" evolved into a multi-billion-dollar manufacturing and service industry. Machines in Our Hearts tells the story of these two implantable medical devices. Kirk Jeffrey, a historian of science and technology, traces the development of knowledge about the human heartbeat and follows surgeons, cardiologists, and engineers as they invent and test a variety of electronic devices. Numerous small manufacturing firms jumped into pacemaker production but eventually fell by the wayside, leaving only three American companies in the business today. Jeffrey profiles pioneering heart surgeons, inventors from the realms of engineering and medical research, and business leaders who built heart-rhythm management into an industry with thousands of employees and annual revenues in the hundreds of millions. As Jeffrey shows, the pacemaker (first implanted in 1958) and the ICD (1980) embody a paradox of high-tech health care: these technologies are effective and reliable but add billions to the nation's medical bill because of the huge growth in the number of patients who depend on implanted devices to manage their heartbeats.
Living Machines by Tony J. Prescott (Editor); Nathan Lepora (Editor); Paul F. M. J. Verschure (Editor) Contemporary research in the field of robotics attempts to harness the versatility and sustainability of living organisms. By exploiting those natural principles, scientists hope to render a renewable, adaptable, and robust class of technology that can facilitate self-repairing, social, andmoral - even conscious - machines. This is the realm of robotics that scientists call "the living machine".Living Machines can be divided into two entities - biomimetic systems, those that harness the principles discovered in nature and embody them in new artifacts, and biohybrid systems, which couple biological entities with synthetic ones.Living Machines: A handbook of research in biomimetic and biohybrid systems surveys this flourishing area of research. It captures the current state of play and points to the opportunities ahead, addressing such fields as self-organization and co-operativity, biologically-inspired active materials,self-assembly and self-repair, learning, memory, control architectures and self-regulation, locomotion in air, on land or in water, perception, cognition, control, and communication. In all of these areas, the potential of biomimetics is shown through the construction of a wide range of differentbiomimetic devices and animal-like robots. Biohybrid systems is a relatively new field, with exciting and largely unknown potential, but one that is likely to shape the future of humanity. Chapters outline current research in areas including brain-machine interfaces - where neurons are connected tomicroscopic sensors and actuators - and various forms of intelligent prostheses from sensory devices like artificial retinas, to life-like artificial limbs, brain implants, and virtual reality-based rehabilitation approaches.The handbook concludes by exploring the impact living machine technology will have on both society and the individual, by forcing human beings to question how we see and understand ourselves.With contributions from leading researchers drawing on ideas from science, engineering, and the humanities, this handbook will appeal to both undergraduate and postgraduate students of biomimetic and biohybrid technologies. Researchers in the areas of computational modeling and engineering,including artificial intelligence, machine learning, artificial life, biorobotics, neurorobotics, and human-machine interfaces, will find Living Machines an invaluable resource.
Medical Instrumentation by John G. Webster (Editor) This contributed book provides the premiere reference on medical instrumentation as well as a comprehensive overview of the basic concepts of medical instrumentation illustrating the interdisciplinary nature of bioinstrumentation. This revised edition features new material on infant apnea monitors, impedance pneumography, the design of cardiac pacemakers, and disposable defibrillator electrodes and their standards.
Engineering Animals by Mark Denny; Alan McFadzean The alarm calls of birds make them difficult for predators to locate, while the howl of wolves and the croak of bullfrogs are designed to carry across long distances. From an engineer's perspective, how do such specialized adaptations among living things really work? And how does physics constrain evolution, channeling it in particular directions? Writing with wit and a richly informed sense of wonder, Denny and McFadzean offer an expert look at animals as works of engineering, each exquisitely adapted to a specific manner of survival, whether that means spinning webs or flying across continents or hunting in the dark-or writing books. This particular book, containing more than a hundred illustrations, conveys clearly, for engineers and nonengineers alike, the physical principles underlying animal structure and behavior. Pigeons, for instance-when understood as marvels of engineering-are flying remote sensors: they have wideband acoustical receivers, hi-res optics, magnetic sensing, and celestial navigation. Albatrosses expend little energy while traveling across vast southern oceans, by exploiting a technique known to glider pilots as dynamic soaring. Among insects, one species of fly can locate the source of a sound precisely, even though the fly itself is much smaller than the wavelength of the sound it hears. And that big-brained, upright Great Ape? Evolution has equipped us to figure out an important fact about the natural world: that there is more to life than engineering, but no life at all without it.
Fundamentals of Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine by Ulrich Meyer (Editor); Thomas Meyer (Editor); Jorg Handschel (Editor); Hans Peter Wiesmann (Editor) 'Fundamentals of Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine' provides a complete overview of the state of the art in tissue engineering and regenerative medicine. Tissue engineering has grown tremendously during the past decade. Advances in genetic medicine and stem cell technology have significantly improved the potential to influence cell and tissue performance, and have recently expanded the field towards regenerative medicine. In recent years a number of approaches have been used routinely in daily clinical practice, others have been introduced in clinical studies, and multitudes are in the preclinical testing phase. Because of these developments, there is a need to provide comprehensive and detailed information for researchers and clinicians on this rapidly expanding field. This book offers, in a single volume, the prerequisites of a comprehensive understanding of tissue engineering and regenerative medicine. The book is conceptualized according to a didactic approach (general aspects: social, economic, and ethical considerations; basic biological aspects of regenerative medicine: stem cell medicine, biomolecules, genetic engineering; classic methods of tissue engineering: cell, tissue, organ culture; biotechnological issues: scaffolds; bioreactors, laboratory work; and an extended medical discipline oriented approach: review of clinical use in the various medical specialties). The content of the book, written in 68 chapters by the world s leading research and clinical specialists in their discipline, represents therefore the recent intellect, experience, and state of this bio-medical field."
Global Issues and Ethical Considerations in Human Enhancement Technologies by Steven John Thompson (Editor) With rapid advancements in human enhancement technologies, society struggles with many issues, such as definition, effects, participation, regulation, and control. Current and future initiatives in these technologies may not be in the participants' best interests; therefore, it is imperative for research on humanitarian considerations to be available to those affiliated with this field. Global Issues and Ethical Considerations in Human Enhancement Technologies compiles prestigious research and provides a well-rounded composite of the field's role in emerging technologies. Addressing both present and future concerns, this publication serves as a valuable reference work for researchers, students, professionals, and practitioners involved in computer science and the humanities, as well as many engaged in a humanities approach to metasystems, new artificial life, and robotics.
Human Enhancement by Julian Savulescu (Editor); Nick Bostrom (Editor) To what extent should we use technology to try to make better human beings? Because of the remarkable advances in biomedical science, we must now find an answer to this question.Human enhancement aims to increase human capacities above normal levels. Many forms of human enhancement are already in use. Many students and academics take cognition enhancing drugs to get a competitive edge. Some top athletes boost their performance with legal and illegal substances. Many anoffice worker begins each day with a dose of caffeine. This is only the beginning. As science and technology advance further, it will become increasingly possible to enhance basic human capacities to increase or modulate cognition, mood, personality, and physical performance, and to control thebiological processes underlying normal aging. Some have suggested that such advances would take us beyond the bounds of human nature.These trends, and these dramatic prospects, raise profound ethical questions. They have generated intense public debate and have become a central topic of discussion within practical ethics. Should we side with bioconservatives, and forgo the use of any biomedical interventions aimed at enhancinghuman capacities? Should we side with transhumanists and embrace the new opportunities? Or should we perhaps plot some middle course?Human Enhancement presents the latest moves in this crucial debate: original contributions from many of the world's leading ethicists and moral thinkers, representing a wide range of perspectives, advocates and sceptics, enthusiasts and moderates. These are the arguments that will determine howhumanity develops in the near future.
Enhancing Human Capacities by Julian Savulescu (Editor); Ruud ter Meulen (Editor); Guy Kahane (Editor) Enhancing Human Capacities is the first to review the very latest scientific developments in human enhancement. It is unique in its examination of the ethical and policy implications of these technologies from a broad range of perspectives. Presents a rich range of perspectives on enhancement from world leading ethicists and scientists from Europe and North America The most comprehensive volume yet on the science and ethics of human enhancement Unique in providing a detailed overview of current and expected scientific advances in this area Discusses both general conceptual and ethical issues and concrete questions of policy Includes sections covering all major forms of enhancement: cognitive, affective, physical, and life extension
Implantable Biomedical Microsystems by Swarup Bhunia (Editor); Steve Majerus (Editor); Mohamad Sawan (Editor) Research and innovation in areas such as circuits, microsystems, packaging, biocompatibility, miniaturization, power supplies, remote control, reliability, and lifespan are leading to a rapid increase in the range of devices and corresponding applications in the field of wearable and implantable biomedical microsystems, which are used for monitoring, diagnosing, and controlling the health conditions of the human body. This book provides comprehensive coverage of the fundamental design principles and validation for implantable microsystems, as well as several major application areas. Each component in an implantable device is described in details, and major case studies demonstrate how these systems can be optimized for specific design objectives. The case studies include applications of implantable neural signal processors, brain-machine interface (BMI) systems intended for both data recording and treatment, neural prosthesis, bladder pressure monitoring for treating urinary incontinence, implantable imaging devices for early detection and diagnosis of diseases as well as electrical conduction block of peripheral nerve for chronic pain management. Implantable Biomedical Microsystems is the first comprehensive coverage of bioimplantable system design providing an invaluable information source for researchers in Biomedical, Electrical, Computer, Systems, and Mechanical Engineering as well as engineers involved in design and development of wearable and implantable bioelectronic devices and, more generally, teams working on low-power microsystems and their corresponding wireless energy and data links.