You have three search options on the HathiTrust Digital Library main search page. Note that the Catalog Search is supposed to be a temporary catalog and will be replaced with a catalog developed using the OCLC WorldCat Local interface.
1. Catalog Search: search for materials by author, title, subject headings and source.
Also try the new WorldCat Local Prototype catalog, the first version of a HathiTrust built on OCLC's WorldCat Local interface. From here you have access to the HathiTrust Digital Library AND to OCLC’s database of worldwide library collections. From any record, see the “Find a copy in a library” section to see which libraries hold a print copy of the item. You can also limit your search results to volumes that are only full view or limited view, using the “View” facet on the left hand side of the search results screen.
Send feedback for this prototype to inform a second version of the catalog.
2. Full Text Search: searches each word in the text, whether or not the full text is available for download, and you will find the pages on which the term(s) appear. You can then locate a library that holds the item, and request it via InterLibrary Loan.
3. Collections Search: you can search for materials that you or others have grouped into "collections". Users can create "private" or "public" collections from materials they find in the HathiTrust Digital Library. If a library adds a special collection of digital materials to HathiTrust, this is how the collection can continue to have a separate identify within the whole Digital Library.
It is necessary to log in in order to create or search collections. Members of the Dartmouth College Community log in by selecting the "HathiTrust Partner Institution" pull down menu, choosing Dartmouth College, and then Login. If you have a PKI certificate, you will automatically be logged in at this point, and if not, you will login uisng your email name and password on the Dartmouth WebAuth page.