Test methods are approved procedures for measuring the presence and concentration of physical and chemical pollutants; evaluating properties, such as toxic properties, of chemical substances; or measuring the effects of substances under various conditions.
EPA Test Methods This overview page provides lots of helpful information, including links to ...
EPA: Test Method Collections
The EPA Test Methods Collections page provides links to numerous sources of methods and guidelines.
Index to EPA Test Methods (download the 2003 Index to EPA Test Methods (pdf)
The Index to EPA Test Methods provides information on locating and obtaining test methods and provides both chemical name and numeric indexes.
A finding tool for published EPA methods; some are available online. The index is organized by chemical name. Use broad terms (e.g. metals) as well as specific ones (e.g. lead). To find out how to obtain the method cited in the index, see the section entitled “Sources.”
Also see this FAQ: "Where Can I Find EPA Test Methods?"
EPA Water Science : Analytical Test Methods
Laboratory analytical methods used by industries and municipalities to analyze the chemical, physical, and biological components of wastewater and other environmental samples
NEMI: National Environmental Methods Index
An easy-to-use searchable database of analytical methods developed by government agencies, including EPA, USGS, the National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration, and the U.S. Department of Energy, as well as private organizations such as ASTM International, Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater, AOAC International, and several private companies.
FDA Laboratory Methods
Includes the Elemental Analysis Manual (EAM) for Food and Related Products, with the analytical methods used in FDA laboratories to examine food for toxic and nutrient elements for regulatory purposes. The manual also provides general guidance on related aspects of a laboratory analysis. Does not include *all* methods used by the FDA.
Methods for the Determination of Metals in Environmental Samples (1992).
and Supplement 1.
Environmental Monitoring Systems Laboratory, EPA
Kresge TD196.M4 M49 1992
This manual contains 13 analytical methods covering 35 analytes (metals) in a variety of environmental sample types, ranging from water samples, sediments, soils, and biological tissues.
NIOSH Manual of Analytical Methods
A collection of methods for sampling and analysis of contaminants in workplace air, and in the blood and urine of workers who are occupationally exposed. Also includes chapters on quality assurance, sampling, portable instrumentation, etc.
OSHA: Sampling and Analytical Methods
See the index to the analytical sampling methods used by field hygienists of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA).
Quantitative Chemical Analysis, 8th ed.
Baker-Berry Reserves
QD101.2 .H37 2010
A very widely used analytical chemistry textbook.
Dean’s Analytical Chemistry Handbook, 2nd ed.
Berry QD78 .P37 2004
Concise summaries of the fundamental data and practical procedures that are among the most important and useful analytical chemistry methods.
Environmental Analytical Chemistry, 2nd ed.
Berry TD193 .E542 2000 (view catalog record)
Focuses exclusively on the analytical chemistry methods relevant to environmental studies.
Sample Preparation Techniques in Analytical Chemistry
Berry QD 75.4 .S24 S26 2003 (view catalog record)
Outlines the accepted and preferred practices in a modern analytical laboratory. Well diagrammed, with procedures clearly outlined.
Principles of Instrumental Analysis, 6th ed.
Douglas A. Skoog, F. James Holler, Stanley R. Crouch, eds.
Berry QD79.I5 S58 2007
Places an emphasis on the theoretical basis of each type of instrument, its optimal area of application, its sensitivity, its precision, and its limitations.