Anthropology Librarian
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
Reference Sources
Items in the Reference collection -- particularly subject encyclopedias -- are great starting points for your research. Encyclopedia articles offer concise overviews of a topic, summaries of key research in a particular discipline, and often include a bibliography which can serve as a starting list of sources for your project.
Most anthropology material is shelved in the GN call number area, but be aware that anthropology material also appears in the CC range (archaeology), N (art), P (linguistics), Q (biology) & R (medicine). Regional studies often are shelved in the call number for history of the region : DA-DR (Europe); DS (Asia); DT (Africa); DU (Oceania); E-F (Americas). Browsing these areas of the reference collection may yield additional relevant material.
General background & literature reviews
International Encyclopedia of AnthropologyRecent (2018), broad, extensive coverage with in-depth articles and bibliographies.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (2nd edition)Online!
This massive, broad-coverage work is great for in-depth overviews - particularly social theory.
Archaeology
Encyclopedia of ArchaeologyOnline!
- Encyclopedia of Global ArchaeologyBaker-Berry Ref. CC70 .E55 2014 (vols.1-11)
- Encyclopedia of precolonial Africa : archaeology, history, languages, cultures, and environmentsBaker-Berry Ref. DT2 .E53 1997
- Archaeology of Prehistoric Native America : an encyclopediaBaker-Berry Ref. E77.9 .A72 1998
- Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican culturesOnline! Also in Baker-Berry Ref. F1218.6 .O95 2001
- Oxford art onlineOnline! Includes Grove's Dictionary of Art, which is also available in Sherman Ref. N31 .D5 1996 (vols. 1-34)
Biological Anthropology
- History of physical anthropologyBaker Berry stacks:. GN50.3 .S64 1997
- Encyclopedia of EvolutionOnline!
- Oxford Companion to the BodyOnline!
- Cambridge encyclopedia of human paleopathologyBaker-Berry Ref. R134.8 .A93 1998
- Encyclopedia of MammalsOnline!
see in particular the entry "Primates" and related entries - Grzimek's animal life encyclopedia (2nd ed.)Online!
see in particular the entry on Primates [volume 14: Mammals, part 3]
Cultural Anthropology
Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology: An EncyclopediaCall Number: Online!quick overviews of key theories and theorists within the field.
- Encyclopedia of cultural anthropologyBaker-Berry Reference GN307 .E52 1996
- Encyclopedia of medical anthropologyBaker-Berry Reference RA418 .E354 2004
- Encyclopedia of ReligionOnline! Also in Baker-Berry Ref. BL31 .E46 2005 (vols. 1-15)
- Greenwood encyclopedia of world folklore and folklifeBaker-Berry Ref. GR35 .G75 2006 (vols. 1-4)
- Continuum encyclopedia of native art : worldview, symbolism, and culture in Africa, Oceania, and North AmericaBaker-Berry Ref. E98.A7 W49 2000
Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Theory"interdisciplinary compendium of original entries focusing on the origins, evolution, and global development of contemporary social theory"
Linguistic Anthropology
- Encyclopedia of language & linguistics - 2nd ed. (2006)Baker-Berry Ref. P29 .E48 2006 (vols. 1-14)
- Ethnologue : languages of the world.Catalog of living languages and dialects world-wide. Includes maps, language family trees, and an extensive bibliography.