This is a guide to resources from the Dartmouth College Library.
Watch lectures taught by world-class professors, learn at your own pace, test your knowledge, and reinforce concepts through interactive exercises; designed based on sound pedagogical foundations, to help you master new concepts quickly and effectively.
- Engineering Learning and Knowledge Support Wiki
Lecture notes, podcasts, seminars
Log in with your Dartmouth netid and password. You will be able to access Lynda courses and exercise files. Topics include Interactive Data Visualization with Processing, Negotiating Your Salary, AutoCAD Essential Training, Responsive Design Fundamentals and a whole lot more.
- MIT’s OpenCourseWare
- Reference Managers Research Guide
- Serendipity - Engineering
Linked open courseware data faceted search
- Sources and Citations at Dartmouth College
- Stanford Engineering Everywhere
Programming and computer science courses currently populate this site.
- Wikibooks: Engineering bookshelf
This bookshelf contains a number of wikibooks in various stages of completion. All books on this shelf deal with the topic of Engineering, broken down into a number of subdisciplines.
- YouTube EDU Engineering
- Applied Science
Applications of science and technology in ten-minute videos
Over 525 episodes; each 5-8 minute episode shows cutting-edge technology in action and looks behind the scenes as today’s engineers discover new technology to shape tomorrow’s designs.
- Slow Mo Guys
videos in HD using high-speed cinema cameras
- Smarter Every Day
Limited to engineering, medicine, CS & applied sciences and english language; excludes newspaper articles and book reviews.
Dartmouth Users: Using Summon from off-campus? You'll need VPN for access to full-text.
- Article Citation Finder
Use an article citation or a DOI / PMID to find the full-text of an article.
- Browse eJournals in Engineering
- Annual Reviews
Comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for more than 41 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
- ASCE Library
Journal archive from 1983 to the present; proceedings archive from 2000 to the present; complete ASCE Press, Manuals and Reports, and Standards backlist for current in-print titles, plus new titles published in 2013/14
- ASME Digital Collection
- Ei Compendex Web
Includes the following areas of engineering: civil, energy, environmental, geological, biological, electrical, electronics and control, chemical, mining, metals, fuel, mechanical, automotive, nuclear, and aerospace as well as computers, robotics, and industrial robots.
INSPEC Archive (1898 to 1968) is now included; select also GEOBASE, US PATENTS, EP PATENTS..
- IEEE Xplore
Includes the IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)
- Proquest Science and Technology
- SPIE Digital Library
Includes SPIE journals and proceedings; extensive resource on optics and photonics.
- Web of Science
Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)
Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present)
- TRAIL - Technical Report Archive & Image Library
U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976
- Patent Searching
Search strategy and resources
- Ei Patents
Offers sophisticated search and retrieval tools across all 9.5 million patents registered with the US and European Patent Offices.
- esp@cenet Patents search
Worldwide patent database. Abstracts, bibliographic data and full text of patents are provided for: EPO, France, Germany, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States and WIPO.
- USPTO Patent Database
- Access Engineering
Delivers multidisciplinary information in a dynamic interactive format, providing integrated access to thousands of pages of trusted content from such renowned resources as Perry's Handbook for Chemical Engineers and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, as well as newer resources, such as Mechatronics in Medicine; includes instructional videos, calculators and interactive tables and charts.
- ASCE Library
Standards backlist for current in-print titles, plus new titles published in 2013/14
- ASM Handbooks
Complete content of twenty-five ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions
- ASME eBooks
- ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information.
- Browse eBooks in Engineering
- CRC handbook of chemistry and physics
- Digital encyclopedia of applied physics
Provides the basic principles and in-depth coverage of all technically relevant areas of physics, coupled with technological applications from real life.
- Engineering Standards
- IET Digital Library eBooks
years of licensed content: 2010-2013
- Knovel Online Interactive Books
Collection of science and engineering handbooks
- NIST Digital Library of Mathematical Functions
Complete revision of Abramowitz and Stegun's Handbook of Mathematical Functions with Formulas, Graphs, and Mathematical Tables. See Also: NIST handbook of mathematical functions
Baker Berry Cook QA331 .N57 2010
- OCW Bookshelf
MIT OpenCourseWare shares the course materials from classes taught on the MIT campus. Occasionally textbooks are shared openly. This page provides an index of textbooks (and textbook-like course notes) that can be found throughout the OCW site.
- Physical sciences and engineering eBooks on ScienceDirect
Professionally focused physical sciences and engineering eBooks bringing together key sources of reference material.
- Safari Tech Books Online
- SPIE Digital Library
includes SPIE eBooks; extensive resource on optics and photonics.
- Springer Materials
Based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series; Resource for Physical & Chemical Data in Materials Science: 250,000 Substances & Material Systems | 3,000 Properties | 1,200,000 Literature Citations
- Springer Protocols
online database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the biomedical and life sciences; includes biotechnology and imaging
- Synthesis Digital Library Of Engineering And Computer Science
- Table of integrals, series and products
I.S. Gradshteæin and I.M. Ryzhik ; [edited by] Alan Jeffrey and Daniel Zwillinger; 7th ed.
- Wiley-IEEE & MIT eBooks from IEEE Xplore
- Alternative Energy e-track
business intelligence including market, competitor, product and customer information; in-depth research, analysis, data and forecasts through a range of interactive online databases, reports and management briefings.
- BCC Research
BCC's market research reports explore major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology organizations. Industry analysis and market forecasts for advanced materials, high-tech systems and components, nanotechnology and novel processing methods are at the forefront of the company's expertise.
- Frost & Sullivan
Covers Healthcare; Aerospace & Defense; Automotive & Transportation; Chemicals, Materials & Food; Electronics & Security; Energy & Power Supplies; Environment & Building Technologies; Industrial Automation & Process Control; Information & Communication Technologies; Measurement & Instrumentation. Coverage is both US and Global.
You'll be prompted to login with your first and last names as well as your email address. Use your Dartmouth email address. Restrictions on downloading; full text is viewable online, but you can not export PDFs. If you need the PDF of a report email firstname.lastname@example.org with your request and include the title of the report.
a leading provider of IT research including statistics, forecasts and market analysis on the Hardware, Software, IT Services, Communications, and Semiconductor markets.
Collection of market research reports for over 700 U.S. industries and almost 60 global industries. Reports are typically 30-60 pages in length and include key statistics, market segmentation, market characteristics, industry conditions, key factors, key competitors, industry performance, and outlook.
- ISI Emerging Markets (EMIS)
ISI Emerging Markets provides information about emerging market countries, their companies, and industries. It includes country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, and analysis; reports on financial markets, companies and industries; exchange rates; analyst reports; and business news, both in English and the local languages. Coverage includes countries from Latin America, Central & Eastern Europe, Central Asia-Caucasus, Southeast Europe, Asia, Australia, Africa, and Middle East.
- Marketline Advantage
Market research reports including top competitors, industry profiles, economic analysis, product launches
- MarketResearch.com Academic
Provides primary research and expert analysis. Industry Interviews; Competitive Analysis; Market Trends; Product Innovations; Buyer Behavior; Market Share; Demographics.
Industries: Energy & Resources; Manufacturing & Construction; Materials & Chemicals; Computer Hardware & Networking; E-Commerce & IT Outsourcing; Telecommunications & Wireless; Biotechnology; Diagnostics; Healthcare; Medical Devices; Pharmaceuticals.
- Thomson ONE Banker
Private Equity : news & trends; search profiles of companies, funds, firms, executives, IPOs, limited partners; deal prospecting; fund commitments and fund statistics.
**MUST USE INTERNET EXPLORER**
Mark Mounts & Janifer Holt
6193 Murdough Center
Hanover, NH 03755-3560
Holt: Office 101D; phone 603-646-3066
Mounts: Office 101F; phone 603-646-1145
Fax: 603-646-2384Send Email
- Borrow Direct
Directly request books from the combined library catalogs of Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, MIT, University of Chicago, University of Pennsylvania, Princeton, Yale and the Center for Research Libraries; 4 day turnaround.
Get documents (articles, patents, etc.) that are not available at Dartmouth.
- FAQs - Engineering
Browse answered questions or ask us a new question.