Your Librarians
Visit us at Feldberg Library!
Matt Benzing
(he/him)
Engineering & Computer Science
Jentry Campbell
(she/her)
Engineering
Upcoming Library Workshops
Various Dates: Reproducible Research Workshops on Python, Git, R, and more!
Engineering Course Guides
These are the course guides available for Spring 2024. If you are looking for past course guides, they are still accessible via direct link but are not searchable. If you would like to access a past course guide, please email us.
Program Area Guides
Guides are maintained for each program area outlined by Thayer. We recommend bookmarking the links of the guides you access most for easy access.
Key Resources
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowInstitute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and more than 3,400 technical standards.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowIncludes materials like the 2021 International Building Code Illustrated Handbook, Mark's Standard Engineering Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, and more.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, with bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities. Scopus has 55 million records dating back to 1823, 84% of these contain references dating from 1996.
- ACM Portal This link opens in a new windowConsists of a searchable, browsable, bibliographic database from the key publishers in computing, including books, journals, proceedings and theses.
- The Lens (for Patents and more)Within the next two years, the Lens expects to host over 95% of the world's patent information and link to most of the scholarly literature, creating open public innovation portfolios of individuals and institutions.
Feldberg Library
Feldberg Library is located in the Murdough building, directly behind the Irving Institute.
- Feldberg Library WebsiteHours, Directions to the Library, etc.
- Dartmouth VPNAccess most Dartmouth Resources from anywhere in the world using the Dartmouth VPN. Requires NetID SSO log-in. Please note that there are some resources that are only available on campus.
- Interlibrary LoanFormerly known as "DartDoc" but now sporting a new name! If you've never used interlibrary you will login using your Dartmouth NetID credentials. Digital materials will be delivered online, but for physical materials you can set your delivery preferences to Feldberg Library on your profile.
- For Faculty: Requesting Course ReservesInformation on requesting course reserves and using the Leganto reserve system through Canvas.
Browser Extensions
Why use browser extensions?
In short there are a number of articles & ebooks that we have access to through a platform like EBSCO, but not via the direct link to the publisher. Instead of you taking the time to use the library search to determine if access is available, LibKey Nomad++ will help to redirect you from that publisher page to the access point available through the library. Extensions help you get the information you need faster with less effort. Additionally, the extensions can redirect you to submit an interlibrary loan request for materials we do not have. Another benefit: LibKey Nomad is also directly linked to RetractionWatch, and will let you know if the article you are examining has been retracted!
Do you get frustrated when you can't get access to an article? We do! That's why we have set up LibKey Nomad to provide a link to an article's full text! Simply install the extension in your browser, and access articles from publisher websites at the click of a button. Nomad works with Chrome, Firefox, Edge, Brave, Vivaldi & Safari. LibKey is also directly linked to RetractionWatch, and will let you know if the article you are examining has been retracted! Select the "Access Options" to be directed to the catalog where you can place an interlibrary loan request.