Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Internet resources for shows
Besides the sites listed below, don't forget to look at various channels' web sites. More channels are re-broadcasting episodes on their web sites the day after that episode airs on television.
- TVShowPilot
TVShowPilot.com allows you to find everything from the latest news on all your favorite TV series and show reviews to informative articles on new shows, other fun posts about various different TV series, and their characters, and even the occasional interview with actors and show creators.
Internet resources for older programs
- Classic TV DatabaseThis database includes TV listings by decades and yearly line-up schedules. Although they only list 4 shows for the 1950's, this could be a valuable resource.
- FiftiesWebScroll down this page and see a list of 1950's shows. There are short descriptions, cast information, theme song lyrics and more. Also see the Pop History link. You get a list of happenings for each year in the Fifties.
- MeTV"Me-TV features a wide range of classic television programming, some of the best programming written for television, that audiences and advertisers find comfortable and engaging."
- Retro TVA television network that specializes in showing classic television shows from 1950's to the early 1990's.
- THiS TVTHiS TV is a free premium channel that brings you award winning films, box office hits, cult classics, retro TV series and all your favorite Hollywood stars!
Finding a show
The Library collects all types of scripted television programs. Our aim is to build a wide ranging collection which has examples of all types of genres from television. We do not have every show or every episode, but we do have examples of many television genres.
You have several ways to find television programs in our online catalog. You can do a subject search. The subject heading "television programs" will give a list of all the headings which begin with "television programs." From this list, you see various country names following "television programs." The 41 related subject headings are narrower or more specific subject headings such as "cop shows," "television plays" or "science fiction television programs."
To find a specific title, do a title search in the online catalog. For example, if you want to find the Mary Tyler Moore Show, type that into the online catalog. From that search, you see we have the first 3 seasons of the show.
To have more options about television shows, see the Television Genres research guide.
- mary tyler moore showThis is an example of a title search.
Books about television shows
You found a particular television show in our collection in the Jones Media Center. Now you want to see if we have books about that television show in the collection. If you did a title search for the television show, change the index to a subject search.
Battlestar Galactica and philosophy: knowledge here begins out there by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.77 .B354 B38 2008ISBN: 9781405178143What's the point of living after your world has been destroyed? This is one of many questions raised by the Sci-Fi Channel's critically acclaimed series Battlestar Galactica. More than just an action-packed "space opera," each episode offers a dramatic character study of the human survivors and their Cylon pursuers as they confront existential, moral, metaphysical, theological, and political crises. This volume addresses some of the key questions to which the Colonials won't find easy answers, even when they reach Earth: Are Cylons persons? Is Baltar's scientific worldview superior to Six's religious faith? Can Starbuck be free if she has a special destiny? ...
Blood relations: chosen families in Buffy, the vampire slayer and Angel by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.77 .B84 B38 2005ISBN: 9780786421725The television series Buffy and Angel revolve around radical conceptions of family. Indeed, their coherence depends on the establishment of nontraditional families that admit vampires, demons, witches, werewolves, and other bizarre characters without censuring them for their peculiarities. This work argues that what makes these characters enduring and engaging is their critical family connections--for their most involved struggles occur not within the graveyard, but around the dinner table, just as the most challenging adversarial forces that they must face are not demons or vampires but the stuff of everyday life. ...
Dear Angela: remembering My so-called life by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.77 .M9 D43 2007ISBN: 9780739116920Dear Angela includes fourteen critical essays that examine the brief-lived but landmark television series, My So-Called Life (1994-1995). Though certainly not the first young woman to be the center of a television series, Angela Chase and the show about her life were doing something new on television and influenced many of the shows about young people that followed. ...
Fassbinder, Berlin Alexanderplatz by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .F37 F37713 2007ISBN: 9783829603102This book includes film stills from television program, screenplay by Fassbinder, and relevant essays.
The Flip Wilson show by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.77 .F595 S88 2008ISBN: 9780814332528This title analyzes the social, political, and institutional context of The Flip Wilson Show, which ran on NBC between 1970 and 1974. When The Flip Wilson Show debuted on NBC in 1970, the major legislative victories of the civil rights movement had been won, but the broadcast airwaves were far from integrated. A handful of shows featured black leading characters, but none had quite reached the top spot of the Nielsen ratings. By 1971, however, Wilson's "old-fashioned" comedy-variety hour was a bonafide hit, and in January 1972 Time magazine declared Wilson "TV's First Black Superstar." ...
Inside Inside by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.77 .I557 L57 2007ISBN: 9780525950356An intimate portrait of the award-winning TV show Inside the Actors Studio and James Lipton's life as its founder and host, this irresistible memoir offers behind-the-scenes close-ups of hundreds of celebrated artists. ...
Inside Star Trek: the real story by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.77 .S73 S65 1997ISBN: 9780671009748In the spring of 1964, a rumpled, soft-spoken ex-cop named Gene Roddenberry walked into the office of Herbert F. Solow, the new head of production at Desilu Studios. Roddenberry presented an idea for a new science fiction television series called Star Trek. Immediately seeing the show's potential, Solow struck a script development deal with Roddenberry on the spot. Soon, Solow and Roddenberry brought Robert H. Justman on board as assistant director and together the three men embarked on an incredible odyssey that would make television history. Inside Star Trek is a comprehensive look at the development and life of a television and cultural phenomenon. ...
The philosophy of the X-Files by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.77 .X22 P45 2009ISBN: 9780813192277In The Philosophy of The X-Files, Dean A. Kowalski has gathered a remarkable cast of contributors to shed light on the philosophical mysteries of the television show The X-Files. With sections devoted to the show's credos, individual characters, and specific episodes, The Philosophy of The X-Files illuminates the philosophical assumptions and presuppositions of the show as well as presents discussions through the show to help the reader better understand philosophy and philosophical inquiry. ...
Reading Sex and the City by Call Number: Baker/Berry PN 1992.77 .S48 R42 2004ISBN: 1850434239This highly readable critical celebration of the life and times of Carrie, Miranda, Charlotte and Samantha looks at the series as a new departure for television.
Round up the usual suspects: criminal investigation in Law & Order, Cold Case, and CSI by Call Number: Baker-Berry HV 8073 .R79 2009ISBN: 9780275995126TV shows that retain their popularity over the years do so for obvious reasons: good production values, good acting, and compelling storylines. But detective stories in particular also endure because they appeal to the gumshoe in all of us. America is obsessed with crime solving. Nancy Grace on CNN Headline News, Greta Van Susteren on Fox, and the seemingly annual recurrence of the courtroom sensation all testify to this fact. And these people and cases are able to reach their phenomenal status not simply because of the media-the media only demonstrates the enormous national appetite for this material. Rather, Cold Case, CSI, and Law & Order have achieved their current popularity because they all respond to the same national craving for crime, and do so with great skill and creativity. Round Up the Usual Suspects provides a comparison of the crime fighting models and justice proceedings of each of these TV series. ...
Seven Up by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.77 .S484 B78 2007ISBN: 9781844571963Seven Up was made as a one-off documentary by Granada's flagship current affairs series World in Action in 1964. It featured fourteen seven-year-olds who were interviewed about their lives and what they wanted to be when they grew up. The children were selected to provide a representative cross-section of British society, and the program's intention was to test the Jesuit maxim - "give me a child until he is seven and I will give you the man" - in the context of the British belief in the overriding and determining importance of class origins. ...
The Twilight Zone companion by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.77 .T87 Z52 1992ISBN: 9781879505094The Twilight Zone has captivated, teased and haunted the imaginations of countless millions of viewers from 1959 debut through its 156 subsequent episodes and many rebroadcast. This companion is the complete show-by-show guide to one of television's all-time greatest series. Zicree's account of the series from inception to cancellation, through syndication and subsequent offshoots and remakes, is fascinating reading for even the most casual fan. ...
Watching M*A*S*H, watching America: a social history of the 1972-1983 television series by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.77 .M2854 W58 1998ISBN: 9780786404575It has been said that M*A*S*H was a show set in the 1950s which reflected the shifting values of the 1970s and early 1980s. Hawkeye Pierce, Radar O'Reilly, Trapper John McIntyre, Sherman Potter, Margaret (Hot Lips) Houlihan, B.J. Hunnicutt, Frank Burns, Charles Emerson Winchester, Max Klinger--these and the many other characters who populated the MASH 4077 used the Korean War as a backdrop to comment on many of the social issues of their day. Using a unique blend of comedy and drama, the show's first three seasons (1972-1975) focused on the anti-Vietnam War sentiment that consumed much of America. ...
Selected television shows
A very short list of the television programs in the collections! Find more titles in the online catalog.
The affair. Season oneCall Number: Jones Media DVD #19010It explores the emotional effects of an extramarital relationship. Noah is a New York City schoolteacher and novelist who is happily married, but resents his dependence on his wealthy father-in-law. Alison is a young waitress trying to piece her life and marriage back together in the wake of a tragedy. The provocative drama unfolds when Alison and Noah meet in Montauk at the end of Long Island.
Almost human: the complete seriesCall Number: Jones Media DVD #18851The year is 2048. Technology has evolved by quantum leaps. The L.A. police department now teams manmade robots with human officers.
Doctor Who. The complete eighth series by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #18865The newly regenerated Doctor and his companion, Clara, travel across time and space.
Ed McBain's 87th Precinct: the complete series by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #15653Manhattan's 87th Precinct forms the backdrop for this grim and gritty police drama based on the long-running series of novels by Ed McBain. Storylines focus on neighborhood crime, and the tight-knit lives of the officers of the 87th and their families.
The Flash. The complete series by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #18864ISBN: 9780780667716After an accident in a crime lab a detective is transformed into The Flash, with the ability to move at superhuman speed, he uses his newfound power to battle crime. This is the 1990's edition.
Gotham. The complete first season by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #19054The good. The evil. The beginning. When rookie Gotham City detective James Gordon, dedicated to restoring his crime-ridden metropolis back to its decent and illustrious past, catches the case of a murdered socialite couple, he promises their shattered, surviving son Bruce Wayne he'll find their killer. It is an obligation and an obsession that will cost him dearly, and set the stage for the gritty and exciting world of Gotham.
Homicide--life on the street. The complete season 6Call Number: Jones Media DVD #6359ISBN: 9780767075961Day to day, the officers of the Baltimore Police Department Homicide Division face one of the United States worst crime rates, not to mention the pressures of their own personal lives. Some days, justice isn't just blind, it flat-out just doesn't exist. This season includes "Subway" guest starring Vincent D'Onofrio. It also includes the Frontline episode "Anatomy of a Homicide" where they discuss all the elements that make up the "Subway" episode.
Jane the virgin. The complete first season by Call Number: Jones Media #19166Jane the Virgin is a loose adaptation of the Venezuelan telenovela Juana la Virgen created by Perla Farías. Jane Villanueva, a working, religious young Latina virgin woman, who becomes pregnant after being artificially inseminated by mistake.
The Mindy project. Season two by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #18827The optimistic Mindy Lahiri (Mindy Kaling) is about to learn that fantasy doesn't always mesh with reality. After a stint in Haiti with her pastor boyfriend, Mindy returns to New York City, only to find that her relationship with Dr. Danny Castellano (Chris Messina) is more complicated than ever before. In this surprising second season, Mindy struggles to get in shape, fast-track her career, and find love in the most unexpected places.
Prisoners of war. Season one by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #18841The story of three Israeli soldiers captured for seventeen years and the lives they return to after being released.
Keeping up with Television Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Television Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.