In the Library's collections
Relevant subject headings include:
Introductory reading(s)
These encyclopedias cover "censorship" in general but have articles about Television.
Censorship: a world encyclopedia by Call Number: Baker-Berry Ref. Z 658 .W675 C38 2001 v.1-4ISBN: 9781579581350This work provides a wide-ranging view of censorship, spanning ancient Egypt to present times and covering art, literature, music, newspapers and broadcasting, and the visual arts, among many other topics. In addition, the work provides country surveys and discussions of major controversies for specific movies, books, and television shows. ...World press encyclopedia: a survey of press systems worldwide by
Call Number: eBookThis comprehensive survey of press and electronic media covers over 200 countries and their systems. Arranged alphabetically by country, entries include overview and background, economic framework, general characteristics, number and type of media, press laws, censorship issues, state-press relations, education and training in journalism, and more.
Selected book title(s)
"You can't air that": four cases of controversy and censorship in American television programming by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.3 .U6 S555 2007ISBN: 9780815631507In this illuminating book, David S. Silverman assesses four controversial television programs from the perspective of media history, assessing the censorship present at all four networks and the political and intellectual inertia it produces in broadcast television. Beginning with The Smothers Brothers Comedy Hour in the sixties, the author also examines The Richard Pryor Show, TV Nation, and Politically Incorrect. Drawing on firsthand accounts by the writers, producers, and performers of these programs, Silverman offers an unbiased view of the ways in which censorship, sponsor intimidation, regulation, and network tampering force all American broadcasters to manipulate creative talent and stifle genuine controversy. ...
America's first network TV censor: the work of NBC's Stockton Helffrich by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.4 .H42 P76 2010ISBN: 9780809385744America's First Network TV Censor: The Work of NBC's Stockton Helffrich is a unique examination of early television censorship, centered around the papers of Stockton Helffrich, the first manager of the censorship department at NBC. Set against the backdrop of postwar America and contextualized by myriad primary sources including original interviews and unpublished material, Helffrich's reports illustrate how early censorship of advertising, language, and depictions of sex, violence, and race shaped the new medium. ...
Edited clean version: technology and the culture of control by Call Number: Baker-Berry P 96 .C42 U655 2009ISBN: 9780816648153Not long ago it would have been an absurd idea to purchase a television, CD or MP3 or DVD player, computer software, or game console with the intention of limiting its capabilities. However, as Raiford Guins demonstrates in Edited Clean Version, today's media technology is marketed and sold for what it does not contain and what it will not deliver. TVs equipped with V-chips, Internet filters, editing DVD players, clean-version CDs and MP3s, and game consoles with parental control features can block out, monitor, disable, and filter information. As Guins argues in this provocative book, consumers now find themselves in new relationships with their everyday media in which they inscribe their viewing, listening, and playing experiences with self-prescribed and technologically enabled values and morals. ...
The gatekeeper: my thirty years as TV censor by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.4 .S28 A3 2001ISBN: 9780815606833From 1960 to 1990, Alfred R. Schneider served as head of standards and practices, or "chief censors," for the ABC television network. From his unique vantage point, Schneider managed issues of taste and morality that determined what millions of U.S. viewers watched. During his tenure the nation's attitudes changed drastically, as did the content shown on American airwaves. Controversies arose about TV's influence on children, its portrayal of violence, and its introduction of once taboo subjects.
Seven dirty words and six other stories: controlling the content of print and broadcast by Call Number: Baker-Berry KF 4772 .S65 1986ISBN: 9780300035681Why does the United States control the content of broadcast more strictly than it controls the content of print? In this provocative book, Matthew L. Spitzer explores the various rationales that support such different treatment and concludes that broadcast media should not be as strictly regulated as it is. Spitzer attacks the three most prevalent arguments in favor of broadcast control, utilizing insights from economics and social psychology and relating them to basic questions of First Amendment law and regulation of broadcasting. ...
Other library resource(s)
Censorship from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286All social orders make decisions about what facts, ideas, and representations can safely appear in public. Liberal polities from the 18th century came to value “free speech” and, accordingly, limited prior restraint of materials. However, these freedoms are limited. These limits have been tested particularly by the rise of popular newspapers in the mid-19th century and the mass distribution of moving images from the late 19th century. Obscenity, for example, is not protected speech. ...
Censorship from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Communicatione by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199756841In a very large body of censorship scholarship spanning centuries, communication scholars point out that every civilization since antiquity has attempted to stop disagreeable expression. This bibliographic essay, focusing primarily on the United States, demonstrates that censorship can be institutional, individual, and by practice, a way to restrict or expunge objectionable material, information, or expression. Societies, as well as major institutions of the state, family, and church and their representatives, suppress expression thought to be dangerous, harmful, immoral, sensitive, or inconvenient. ...
Internet resource(s)
Keeping up with Television Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Television Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.