Rauner Library
Rauner Library, housing our Special Collections, comprising the divisions of Rare Books, Manuscripts, and Archives, maintains the Dartmouth College Library's extraordinary collection of rare and unique research materials. The College Archives maintains an exhaustive collection of documents, historical records and other sources pertaining to the history of the College, Hanover, other localities in the Upper Valley. Items include official publications, letters, student publications, photographs and other iconography, and realia (artifacts such as canes, hats, mugs, etc.). Most resources in Rauner Library's Special Collections, including the extensive manuscripts collections, are listed in the Library's online catalog.
All materials are available for use in Rauner's Reading Room located in Webster Hall. Research materials in Rauner Library do not circulate.
- New Hampshire and Vermont Cemetery Collection, 1845 -Call Number: Rauner Manuscript DH-38Chiefly notes recording headstone data from New Hampshire and Vermont cemeteries in the vicinity of Hanover, N.H.. A substantial portion of the notes were taken by Gilman D. Frost and Arthur Chivers, former Dartmouth professors. Also includes records of the Dartmouth Cemetery and the Dartmouth Cemetery Association as well as maps, inscriptions, and sketches of headstones. A collection of notebooks arranged by cemetery plot that is to be used in conjunction with a card file arranged by name of the deceased.
- Genealogical papers, 1926-1942 [of Gilman D. Frost] byCall Number: Rauner Manuscript DH-15
- Microfilm edition of Dr. Gilman Frost's genealogical records of Hanover, New Hampshire byCall Number: Library Depository 1969r reels 1-15 + guide (Guide in Baker Reserves)Gilman Dubois Frost (1864-1942), Dartmouth class of 1886 and physician/professor at his alma mater for nearly fifty years, was also an avid genealogist who collected genealogical data for all Hanover families from its founding to the early 1900's and many families from surrounding communities. Dr. Frost's correspondence regarding genealogical queries and his notes dealing with his research on the genealogy of Hanover families are also included. For two very informative articles about Dr. Frost and his collection, please see the Dartmouth College Library Bulletin 8 (NS), no. 1 (Nov. 1967).
- Papers, 1761-1970 [of Vernon A. Hood] byCall Number: Rauner Manuscript MS 56Vernon Hood was a tax collector, selectman and historian of Plainfield, New Hampshire. References to Plainfield and Cornish families are part of this unusual genealogical jewel.
- Sketches of the alumni of Dartmouth college, from the first graduation in l771 to the present time: with a brief history of the institution byCall Number: Baker-Berry LD 1435.4 .C47In addition to the Dartmouth College directories, which often contain useful biographical information, the Library owns a variety of alumni directories from other universities around the world. These are located in Baker/Berry stacks and in Baker/Berry Reference.
Acknowledgement
(Text and resources taken from the print edition of: Jaccaud, Robert D, comp. Passages to Family History: A Guide to Genealogical Research in the Dartmouth College Library. Rev. ed. Hanover: Dartmouth College Library, 1994).