Dementia Information Resources
Geriatrics At Your Fingertips
A pocket guide, published by the American Geriatrics Society. Provide immediate access to specific information to care for older adults in various health care settings. Requires free registration.
The Merck Manual of Geriatrics
From Merck Publishing -- specifically addresses caring for the elderly. It incorporates an interdisciplinary focus, including specific information regarding nursing care, pharmacy, and planning issues.
National Guidelines Clearinghouse
A comprehensive database of more than 995 evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced by the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (AHCPR), in partnership with the American Medical Association (AMA) and the American Association of Health Plans (AAHP). Updated weekly.
The American Geriatrics Society
The American Geriatrics Society (AGS) is a not-for-profit organization devoted to improving the health, independence and quality of life of all older people. Provides leadership to healthcare professionals, policy makers and the public by implementing and advocating for programs in patient care, research, professional and public education, and public policy. The web site includes a link to “Clinical Practice,” which includes practice guidelines and abstracts of guidelines from other organizations.
Resources for Patient Information, Communication, and Counseling
Connect to MEDLINE, the premier index of the world's most important medical journals, and to other authoritative health information resources selected by the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to information on “death and dying,” including hospice care, pain management, law and policy, children, coping, and research.
NIH Senior Health
The web site for older adults. Makes aging-related health information easily accessible for family members and friends seeking reliable, easy to understand online health information. This site was developed by the National Institute on Aging (NIA) and the National Library of Medicine (NLM) both part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
National Institute on Aging (NIA)
NIA’s mission is to improve the health and well-being of older Americans through research, and specifically, Support and conduct high-quality research on: aging processes, age-related diseases, apecial problems and needs of the aged.
DHMC Office of Care Management
Includes information about advance care planning, including community resources, forms, etc.
Foundation for Healthy Communities
A not-for-profit organization with a mission to improve health and health care delivery in New Hampshire. The Foundation is a partnership involving hospitals, physicians, health plans, home care agencies and other organizations concerned about improving health in our state.
A program of the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization (NHPCO), Caring Connections is a national consumer and community engagement initiative to improve care at the end of life, supported by a grant from The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. Includes information about advance directives, “planning ahead,” and information for caregivers.
Information for Caregivers
A voluntary health organization in Alzheimer care, support, and research. The alzheimer Includes information about Alzheimer’s Disease, information for caregivers, personal stories, and community resources and services.
National Family Caregivers’ Association
The National Family Caregivers Association educates, supports, empowers and speaks up for individuals who care for loved ones with a chronic illness or disability or the frailties of old age. NFCA reaches across the boundaries of diagnoses, relationships and life stages to help transform family caregivers' lives by removing barriers to health and well being.
Family Caregiver Alliance
From the National Center on Caregiving. Offers a variety of programs, including information, education, services, research, and advocacy, which support and sustain the work of families caring for loved ones with chronic and disabling health conditions. Includes caregiving information and advice.
A statewide network of community-based connections for elders, adults with disabilities and their families. The ServiceLink network consists of thirteen community-based Resource Centers and many satellite offices with the common purpose of providing information and supportive referrals about resources for older adults, adults living with disabilities, chronic illness, and their families and caregivers.
Long-term care/Nursing home information
A nonprofit, nonpartisan membership organization for people age 50 and over. Dedicated to enhancing quality of life for all as we age. AARP leads positive social change and delivers value to members through information, advocacy and service. Includes checklists for evaluating long-term care and nursing home facilities.
Nursing Home Compare (Medicare Website, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services)
A tool which provides detailed information about the past performance of every Medicare and Medicaid certified nursing home in the country.
Palliative and End-of-Life Care (Biomedical Libraries Research Guide)
A guide to palliative and end-of-life care information resources.