Skip to main content
Dartmouth College Library
Dartmouth College Library Research Guides

Earth Sciences 79 - Remote Sensing & Arctic Hydrology: Home

Michael Rawlins ~ Winter '10 ~ Jane Quigley, Kresge Library

Summon

Summon: Easily discover the world of library content

Dartmouth Users: Using Summon from off-campus? You'll need the VPN for access to full-text.

About Summon

Key Resources

Web of Science

Multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories, creating opportunities for serendipitous article discovery. Includes some coverage of review series (eg, Advances in Space Research) and conference proceedings (eg, IEEE Transactions on Geoscience and Remote Sensing).

INSPEC

Extensive coverage of  journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports and other literature in physics and engineering.   The strength of this database lies in the indexing terms applied to each document, allowing for very focused retrieval.

GeoRef

The major index to the international geological literature from 1785 to the present. Covers geology, geochemistry, geophysics, mineralogy, petrology, economic geology, hydrology, oceanography, geomorphology, and engineering geology.

Arctic & Antarctic Regions

A searchable collection of references to the interdisciplinary research literature of polar and cold temperature environments from 1800 to the present, from anthropology to climate change to zoology.

IEEE Xplore

Full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards. This is the technical literature of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).

NTIS (National Technical Information Service)

NTIS is the preeminent source for accessing research in engineering, technology, and scientific subjects sponsored by agencies and departments of the United States government and select foreign governments.

Not Available?

BORROW DIRECT Delivers books from the combined library catalogs of Brown, Columbia, Cornell, the University of Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale within 4 business days.

DartDoc is for articles or books that are in Storage, OR that are not owned by Dartmouth at all (Interlibrary Loan). See the Document Delivery webpage for more details on these services.

Use the Request Selected Item feature of the Library Catalog to request books from Storage.

LibX Toolbar


LibX Extension for Firefox & Chrome
Install this even if you don’t use the toolbar, to enable the right-click menu.  Customize your menu choices by using the LibX Preferences (eg, enable amazon.com, Summon, GoogleScholar or WorldCat right-click searching).

View this 3-minute video to see it in action!

Search Google Scholar