Important tools
- Article Citation FinderHave an article citation and want to find the article?
- Borrow DirectDirectly request books from the combined library catalogs of Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, University of Pennsylvania, Princeton, Yale and the Center for Research Libraries; 4 day turnaround.
- Browse eJournals & eBooksSearch or browse by title or by subject the electronic journal and ebook titles available from the Dartmouth College Library.
- DartDocGet documents (articles, patents, etc.) that are not available at Dartmouth.
- HathiTrustSearch the full-text of books.
(Can use Google Books as well) - Library CatalogEverything owned or licensed by the library. Search for books and journals, both print and electronic, videos, maps, manuscripts, scores, sound recordings, and more.
- LibX Browser ToolbarProvides quick searching of the Dartmouth College Library Catalog, the Howe Library Catalog, Worldcat, Summon, Google Books, Amazon Books and Google Scholar. Highlight text on a Web site and right-click (or ctrl-click with a one button mouse) to search the highlighted text in the Dartmouth College Library Catalog or Google Scholar. Standard numbers like ISBN's, ISSN's, Crossref DOI's and PubMed ID's are automatically hyperlinked to Dartmouth licensed resources. Click on the Baker tower image to check Dartmouth holdings and go directly to the fulltext of articles.
- Google Type the following after your search terms ...
(filetype:pdf OR filetype:ppt) for PDFs or PowerPoint slides.
((site:.edu OR site:.org) OR site:.gov) to filter out .com sites.
More tips ...
Type intext:your search terms to require the terms.
Use the images search and filter by the color white to find diagrams, charts, and schematics.
Word order matters.
To include synonyms, place the tilde (~) immediately in front of your term.
Type related:Web site URL to find related Web sites.
The operator OR only applies to the words directly on either side of it.
Comments (0)
Summon (limited to Engineering & Medicine)
Dartmouth Users: Using Summon from off-campus? You'll need VPN for access to full-text.
Ex: medical imaging and development
Besides the term development, another useful term is evolution.
Ways To Find Journal, Magazine, Newspaper or Encyclopedia Articles
Follow the "Get It" icon for full-text.
- Academic Search CompleteCan limit to Peer Reviewed and full-text
Ex: SU IMAGING systems in medicine AND history NOT "patient* histor*" - AccessScience
- History of Science, Technology, and MedicineInternational database for the history of science, technology, and medicine from 1975 to present.
(found this article: Forty years of obstetric ultrasound 1957–1997)
Ex: SU medic* AND SU imaging AND LA english - LexisNexis Academic Use Advanced Search for these ... Help - Boolean Searching
Ex: (prenatal or fetus or fetal) and (ultrasound or imaging) and (pros or cons or benefit* or concern or concerns or risk*)
Ex: ((prenatal or fetus or fetal) w/2 (ultrasound or imaging)) w/3 (pros or cons or benefit* or concern or concerns or risk*) - MedlinePlus
- New York TimesSearch and retrieve the full-text.
- ProQuest Health & Medicinesearch across all our ProQuest resources at once; offers options to search each individual resource or collections of resources by subject area or type.
Ex: su(imaging) AND su(history) AND su((medicine OR medical)); Peer reviewed Checked.
Ex article: the evolution of medical imaging: From Geiger counters to MRI - PubMedComprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- Web of Science Web of Science can be used in the familiar way of keyword searching for articles, but Web of Science also provides other methods for tracking down useful articles. Want a Tutorial?
Ex: search for Title=(medic* imaging and history); found History of Medical Imaging
Subject Liaisons |
Contact Info Feldberg Library 6193 Murdough Center Hanover, NH 03755-3560 Holt: Office 101D; phone 603-646-3066 Mounts: Office 101F; phone 603-646-1145 Fax: 603-646-2384 Send Email Subjects: Engineering |




Loading...
