Other library resource(s)
Animé from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Japanese animation comprises a variety of forms, formats, genres, franchises, and markets. Its forms include cel animation, digital animation, puppet and doll animation, silhouette animation, cut-paper animation, and different kinds of experimental animation.
Asian Film Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceThere is a small collection of Asian animation included in this collection.
Internet resource(s)
These are various sites that stream anime. Some of the content is free, the rest you must pay for access.
- Anime News NetworkAnime News Network (ANN) was created as a news source that focuses on the medium of Japanese Animation (anime) and Japanese Comics (manga).
- That Anime ProjectThis site was designed in order to provide information about anime to a wide audience, from first-time viewers to serious fan-subbers.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.
Getting started
Surprisingly, animé is not used as a subject heading in our online catalog. The subject heading used is "animation (cinematography) japan." You can also use the subject heading animated films. Often books discuss both genres together. To see what we have in Animé, you can do a subject or title search. If you do a subject search, type "animated films japan," you will get a list of those films that are classified as Anime. The films are located in the Jones Media Center in Baker/Berry Library.
You can also do a Title search in the online catalog. If we have it, a record will display. If we do not have a particular title, and it is something you think the library's collection should have, you can always make a request that the library buy the title. Making a request does not guarantee the purchase, but it lets us know about our users' interests. You can also try to obtain the title through Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan.
Resources about Animation and Animated films are split between two libraries. Sherman Art Library has a small collection about Anime. Most books would have the call number NC 1766 .J3. Baker/Berry Library also has books on Animé and animated films, their history and criticisms with the call number of PN 1997.5 on Baker Level 4.
- animation (cinematography) japanMost of these books and other resources will be found in the Sherman Art Library.
- animated television programsCall number range is PN 1992.8 .A59 located on Baker Level 4.
Introductory reading(s)
Anime: a history by Call Number: Sherman Art Library NC 1766 .J3 C55 2013ISBN: 9781844573905This comprehensive history of Japanese animation draws on Japanese primary sources and testimony from industry professionals to explore the production and reception of anime, from its early faltering steps, to the international successes of 'Spirited Away' and Pokemon.
The anime encyclopedia: a guide to Japanese animation since 1917 by Call Number: Sherman Art Library NC 1766 .J3 C53 2006ISBN: 9781933330105This fantastic book is 40 percent larger--with all-new entries on hundreds of anime released after 2001, updates on older entries, and over fifty thousand words on anime creators (like Tezuka and Otomo) and genres ("Early Anime," "Science Fiction and Robots," etc.). ...
Status of media in Japan from the Encyclopedia of international media and communications by Call Number: eBookJapan is one of the world's media superpowers, from newspapers and broadcasting to telecommunications and anime (animation). This article provides a general description of the media status of Japan, its historical background, and the media-life of Japanese as a whole. ...
Manga impact!: the world of Japanese animation by Call Number: Sherman Art Library NC NC1766 .J3 M36 2010ISBN: 9780714857411Manga Impact! is a fascinating, informative guide to the vibrant world of Japanese comic books (manga) and animation (anime), from their most commercial manifestations to works at the cutting edge of design and production. Lavishly illustrated and beautifully designed, this book introduces 350 of the most important manga characters and their creators, with 15 original essays exploring the history and significance of the artform. ...
Mostly manga: a genre guide to popular manga, manhwa, manhua, and anime by Call Number: Sherman Art Library Z 5956 .C6 K35 2012ISBN: 9781598849387... , this book provides a comprehensive readers' advisory guide for Japanese manga and anime, Korean manhwa, and Chinese manhua.
Selected book title(s)
Anime explosion!: the what? why? & wow! of Japanese animation by Call Number: Sherman Art Library NC 1766 .J32 D73 2003ISBN: 9781880656723Suddenly anime is . . . exploding. But where did Japanese animation come from, and what does it all mean? Written for fans, culture watchers, and perplexed outsiders, this is an engaging tour of the anime megaverse, from older arts and manga traditions to the works of modern directors like Miyazaki and Otomo. ...
Anime from Akira to Howl's Moving Castle: experiencing contemporary Japanese animation by Call Number: Sherman Art Library NC 1766 .J3 N36 2005ISBN: 9781403970510Anime From Akira to Howl's Moving Castle is the updated edition of Susan Napier's groundbreaking bestseller, Anime from Akira to Mononoke. It is a must-have for both seasoned and new fans of anime. Spirited Away proved that anime was much more than cartoons for children or a ploy for selling trading cards, and Napier demonstrates how anime often portrays important social and cultural themes in a sophisticated yet entertaining way. ...
The animé art of Hayao Miyazaki by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .M577 C38 2006ISBN: 9780786423699The thought-provoking, aesthetically pleasing animated films of Hayao Miyazaki attract audiences well beyond the director's native Japan. Princess Mononoke and Spirited Away were critically acclaimed upon U.S. release, and the earlier My Neighbor Totoro and Kiki's Delivery Service have found popularity with Americans on DVD. This critical study of Miyazaki's work begins with an analysis of the visual conventions of manga, Japanese comic books, and anime; an overview of Japanese animated films; and a consideration of the techniques deployed by both traditional cel and computer animation. ...
Leiji Matsumoto: essays on the manga and anime legend by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 6790 .J33 L45 2021ISBN: 9781476679969Leiji Matsumoto is one of Japan's most influential myth creators. Yet the huge scope of his work, spanning past, present and future in a constantly connecting multiverse, is largely unknown outside Japan. Matsumoto was the major creative force on Star Blazers, America's gateway drug for TV anime, and created Captain Harlock, a TV phenomenon in Europe. As well as space operas, he made manga on musicians from Bowie to Tchaikovsky, wrote the manga version of American cowboy show Laramie, and created dozens of girls' comics. He is a respected manga scholar, an expert on Japanese swords, a frustrated engineer and pilot who still wants to be a spaceman in his eighties. This collection of new essays--the first book on Matsumoto in English--covers his seven decades of comic creation, drawing on contemporary scholarship, artistic practice and fan studies to map Matsumoto's vast universe. ...
Millennial monsters: Japanese toys and the global imagination by Call Number: Baker-Berry GN 635 .J2 A55 2006ISBN: 9780520221482From sushi and karaoke to martial arts and technoware, the currency of made-in-Japan cultural goods has skyrocketed in the global marketplace during the past decade. The globalization of Japanese "cool" is led by youth products: video games, manga (comic books), anime (animation), and cute characters that have fostered kid crazes from Hong Kong to Canada. Examining the crossover traffic between Japan and the United States, Millennial Monsters explores the global popularity of Japanese youth goods today while it questions the make-up of the fantasies and the capitalistic conditions of the play involved. ...
Finding articles & journals
Articles and other writings about movies can be found in many publications. Our collection includes 1 magazine which looks exclusively at Animé. That title is listed below. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find more articles.
Animation magazine by Call Number: Electronic journalThis is a trade publication the covers all aspects of the animation industry.
Mechademia (Online) by Call Number: Electronic journalMechademia’s subject area extends from manga and anime to game design, fashion, graphics, packaging, and toy industries, as well as a broad range of fan practices related to popular culture in Japan.- Design & applied arts index (DAAI) byCall Number: Electronic resourceThis database is the premier source of information for all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items from 1973 to the present. ...
Film & television literature indexCall Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Selected list of Animé films
Find more Animé titles in the online catalog.
Appleseed by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #5175Earth's last city, Olympus rose from the ashes of a global war on the backs of bioroids, artificial clones who make up half the city's population. Human terrorists seek a return to power and clash with a legendary soldiers, Deunan Knute and her boyfriend who is 75% machine. To save humanity and end the conflicts, retrieving the Appleseed is a must. Deunan alone holds its secret.
Castle in the sky by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #1729Orphaned, Pazu is caught up in a thrilling adventure after Sheeta, a young girl wearing a glowing pendant, floats out of the night sky and into his life. Now, the pair must soar above the clouds in order to find the legendary floating city of Laputa and its treasures.
Final fantasy: the spirits within by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #666The year is 2065 A.D. and the Earth is infested with alien spirits, and mankind faces total extinction. Led by a dream and guided by a mentor, a scientist struggles to collect eight good spirits to create a powerful source strong enough to destroy the alien presence, but is it pure enough to protect the planet. The Earth must be saved from its darkest hate and unleash the final spirit.
Grave of the fireflies = Hotaru no haka by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #624ISBN: 9781562197292Two orphans in war-time Kobe, Japan, face fire-bombs, hunger, homelessness, and despair as the war and their lives come to an end.
Hadashi no Gen by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #623Six year old Gen has lived practically his entire life in the shadow of war yet he is not prepared for the horrors which follow the bombing of Hiroshima. Drawn from Keiji Nakazawa's true life experiences in the aftermath of the nuclear bombing of Hiroshima, Barefoot Gen tells the story of one family's struggle to survive against overwhelming odds.
Jin-roh: the Wolf Brigade by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #1112Set in an alternate history of Japan - Constable Fuse is part of an elite Special Forces team whose mission is to maintain peace during a time of civil unrest. Entangled within a web of intrigue and politics, his decisions will determine the ultimate fate of the Capital Police and those dearest to him ...
Metropolis by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #1113In the industrial, tri-level world of Metropolis, Duke Red is a powerful leader with plans to unveil a highly advanced robot named Tima. But Duke Red's violent son Rock distrusts robots, and intends to find and destroy Tima. Lost in the confusing labyrinth beneath Metropolis, Tima is beginning a friendship with the young nephew of a Japanese detective. But when Duke Red separates the two innocents, Tima's life-- and the fate of the universe-- is dangerously at stake.
Princess Mononoke by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #1014A young warrior searching for a cure for a deadly curse becomes entangled in a battle between a clan of humans and the forest's animal gods.
Spriggan by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #1029ISBN: 9781578132416At the top of the world, an ancient artifact known as Noah's Ark has been uncovered. Buried and forgotten since before the birth of history, it holds the potential to elevate its holder to the status of a god or to wipe mankind from the face of the Earth in a second!
