Film Studies Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Other library resource(s)
Comics, film, and media from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Comics emerged as a mass medium at the same time as film, and were one of the most popular and influential media in pre–World War II America. In the postwar period, comic books were ghettoized as a medium for children and subliterates, while comic strips entered a decades-long stagnation. Conversely, other countries, particularly France and Japan, developed their own comics traditions, which derived from the American model but diverged from it at an early point; ...
The amazing story of Superman by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #4893ISBN: 9781419828935An amazing, thrill-packed story of the legendary hero through the years: from comic books to cartoons to TV to movies.
Internet resource(s)
- The Complete History of Comic Book Movies from ScreenCrushThere was a time, not that long ago, when comic books were a niche subculture. Today, that niche subculture has completely conquered the mainstream. ...
- The Reason Why Hollywood Makes So Many Boring Superhero Movies from The Atlantic
Hollywood has a fever, and the only prescription is more superheroes. The Amazing Adventures of Spider-Man 2 (sequel to reboot) opened last weekend, while Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (reboot), X-Men: Days of Future Past (sequel/prequel blend), and Transformers: Age of Extinction (third sequel) are all opening this summer. A second Avengers and a Superman vs. Batman film are both slated to open next year. ... - Superhero films from Box Office Mojo
A list of the highest grossing superhero films from 1978 to the present. - SuperHeroHypeThe cape-wearing team of editors at SuperHeroHype aim to provide up-to-the-minute news and an insider look into the universe of comics, superheroes, fantasy, sci-fi, and geek culture written by superfans for the highest level of authenticity.
A short introduction to Superhero films
A cycle of contemporary Hollywood films adapted from comic books and featuring heroic characters with superhuman powers. Superheroes have been part of the hinterland of US cinema since the 1930s, with characters such as Buck Rogers, Flash Gordon, and Superman appearing in comic books, newspaper comic strips, radio serials, and television programmes. However, the dedicated, large-budget, special-effects heavy, superhero film is a relatively recent phenomenon, usually traced back to the New Hollywood blockbuster Superman (Richard Donner, 1978) and its sequels. The subsequent success of Tim Burton’s Batman (1989), which achieved a reimagining, or rebooting, of a pre-existing superhero character by combining adult themes, moral angst, and a dark, noirish mise-en-scene with high octane fight sequences, encouraged Hollywood producers to seek out similar superhero franchises through the 1990s. Films such as The Rocketeer (Joe Johnston, 1991), The Crow (Alex Proyas, 1994), and Blade (Stephen Norrington, 1998), struggled to emulate Burton’s success, but X-Men (Brian Singer, 2000), Spider-Man (Sam Raimi, 2002) and a further Batman reboot, Batman Begins (Christopher Nolan, 2005), ensured that the superhero film would become Hollywood’s commercially dominant genre in the 21st century (see also computer games).
Kuhn, A., & Westwell, G. (2020). superhero film. In A Dictionary of Film Studies. : Oxford University Press. Retrieved 17 Mar. 2021
Finding library resources for superheros
To find superhero resources in the Library's collections, you can click on one of the subject headings below:
- superhero filmsThe call number range for some Superhero resources is PN 1995.9 .S76 on Baker Level 4. There are other locations. Check the online catalog for more.
- comic books strips etc AND adaptationsThis is a subject, keyword search in the online catalog.
Introductory reading(s)
A brief guide to superheroes by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 6725 .R57 2014ISBN: 9780762452316From the beginning superheroes represented the hopes and fears of the time. In this detailed history, Brian Robb takes the reader through the diverse history of superheroes, from the first creations--Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman--to the DC and Marvel feud and the darker versions of the 1980s, ending with their rebirth at the movies.
A brief history of comic book mMovies by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .A1 D59 2017ISBN: 9783319471839A Brief History of Comic Book Movies traces the meteoric rise of the hybrid art form of the comic book film. These films trace their origins back to the early 1940s, when the first Batman and Superman serials were made. The serials, and later television shows in the 1950s and 60s, were for the most part designed for children. But today, with the continuing rise of Comic-Con, they seem to be more a part of the mainstream than ever, appealing to adults as well as younger fans. This book examines comic book movies from the past and present, exploring how these films shaped American culture from the post-World War II era to the present day, and how they adapted to the changing tastes and mores of succeeding generations.
The comic book film adaptation: exploring modern Hollywood's leading genre by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781628462036In the summer of 2000 X-Men surpassed all box office expectations and ushered in an era of unprecedented production of comic book film adaptations. This trend, now in its second decade, has blossomed into Hollywood’s leading genre. From superheroes to Spartan warriors, The Comic Book Film Adaptation offers the first dedicated study to examine how comic books moved from the fringes of popular culture to the center of mainstream film production. ...
The encyclopedia of superheroes on film and television by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .S76 M85 2004ISBN: 9780786417230A complete guide to 50 years of superheroes on screen. Each entry includes cast and credits, a format guide, individual episode descriptions, cross references, critical commentaries, as well as notations about arch-villains, gadgets, powers, and headquarters.
The graphic canon: [the world's great literature as comics and visuals] by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 6714 .G738 2012ISBN: 9781609803834The classic canon of Western civilization meets the artists and illustrators who have remade reading in the last years of the twentieth century and the first decade of the twenty-first century in Russ Kick's magisterial, three-volume, full-colour The Graphic Canon.
Superheroes on world screens by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781628462340Superheroes such as Superman and Spider-Man have spread all over the world. As this edited volume shows, many national cultures have created or re-imagined the idea of the superhero, while the realm of superheroes now contains many icons whose histories borrow from local folklore and legends. Consequently, the superhero needs reconsideration, to be regarded as part of both local and global culture as well as examined for the rich meanings that such broad origins and re-workings create.
Selected book title(s)
The 21st century superhero: essays on gender, genre and globalization in film by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .S76 A88 2011ISBN: 9780786463459Superhero films are one of the most enduring genres of cinema, and their popularity is only increasing in the 21st century. These ten critical essays explore the phenomenon through the lenses of numerous academic disciplines, and cover topics such as the role of globalization in the formation of superhero narratives, the shifting nature of masculinity and femininity in the superhero world and the state of the genre today. ...
American theology, superhero comics, and cinema: the Marvel of Stan Lee and the revolution of a genre by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 6712 .M55 2014ISBN: 9780415843584Stan Lee, who was the head writer of Marvel Comics in the early 1960s, co-created such popular heroes as Spider-Man, Hulk, the X-Men, the Fantastic Four, Iron Man, Thor, and Daredevil. This book traces the ways in which American theologians and comic books of the era were not only both saying things about what it means to be human, but, starting with Lee, they were largely saying the same things.
Batman, Superman, and philosophy: badass or boyscout? by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .S76 B38 2016ISBN: 9780812699180Batman or Superman? Which of these heroic figures is morally superior? Which is more dramatically effective? Which is more democratic? Which shows us the better way to fight crime? In Batman, Superman, and Philosophy, 26 philosophers evaluate Superman vs. Batman in order to decide which of them "wins" by various criteria.
Marvel Comics into film: essays on adaptations since the 1940s by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .C36 M375 2016ISBN: 9780786443048Marvel Studios' approach to its Cinematic Universe--beginning with the release of Iron Man (2008)--has become the template for successful management of blockbuster film properties. Yet films featuring Marvel characters can be traced back to the 1940s, when the Captain America serial first appeared on the screen. This collection of new essays is the first to explore the historical, textual and cultural context of the larger cinematic Marvel universe, including serials, animated films, television movies, non-U.S. versions of Marvel characters, films that feature characters licensed by Marvel, and the contemporary Cinematic Universe as conceived by Kevin Feige and Marvel Studios.
Superhero synergies: comic book characters go digital by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 6714 .S85 2014ISBN: 9781442232112In the age of digital media, superheroes are no longer confined to comic books and graphic novels. Their stories are now featured in films, video games, digital comics, television programs, and more. In a single year alone, films featuring Batman, Spider-Man, and the Avengers have appeared on the big screen. Popular media no longer exists in isolation, but converges into complex multidimensional entities.
Finding scholarly articles & journals
Articles and other writings about superhero films can be found in many publications. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find relevant articles.
Film & television literature index by Call Number: Electronic resourceUse this index to find articles about this genre.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
A selected list of superhero films
Find more superhero movies in the library's collections.
Captain America: civil war by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #20041After another incident involving the Avengers results in collateral damage, political pressure mounts to install a system of accountability, headed by a governing body to oversee and direct the team. The new status quo fractures the Avengers, resulting in two camps, one led by Steve Rogers and his desire for the Avengers to remain free to defend humanity without government interference, and the other following Tony Stark's surprising decision to support government oversight and accountability.
The dark knight rises by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #16127ISBN: 9780780684904It has been eight years since Batman vanished into the night, turning, in that instant, from hero to fugitive. Assuming the blame for the death of D.A. Harvey Dent, the Dark Knight sacrificed everything for what he and Commissioner Gordon both hoped was the greater good. For a time the lie worked, as criminal activity in Gotham City was crushed under the weight of the anti-crime Dent Act.
Deadpool by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #19939Based upon Marvel Comics' most unconventional anti-hero, the film tells the origin story of former Special Forces operative turned mercenary Wade Wilson, who after being subjected to a rogue experiment that leaves him with accelerated healing powers, adopts the alter ego Deadpool. Armed with his new abilities and a dark, twisted sense of humor, Deadpool hunts down the man who nearly destroyed his life.
El noctámbulo by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #11746A comic story about a national hero, having suffered the tragedy of the murder of his partner, by her own boss, a businessman gangster, decides to become an avenger annihilating all that is related to that criminal. The first superhero of Uruguay cinema.
Guardians of the galaxy by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #18317Brash adventurer Peter Quill finds himself the object of an unrelenting bounty hunt after stealing a mysterious orb coveted by Ronan, a powerful villain with ambitions that threaten the entire universe. To evade Ronan, Quill is forced into an uneasy truce with a quartet of disparate misfits. But when Quill discovers the true power of the orb and the menace it poses to the cosmos, he must do his best to rally his ragtag rivals for a last, desperate stand-with the galaxy's fate in the balance.
Max Fleischer's Superman by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #15405Superman's adventures in comic books were scarcely three years old when Max Fleischer began producing these animated films for Paramount. Contains 17 theatrical shorts filmed in Technicolor, with stories steeped in heroics and wartime topicality.
Watchmen by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #9779ISBN: 9781419878923In the United States, costumed superheroes are part of the fabric of everyday society. But when one of his former colleagues is murdered, the washed-up, but no less determined, masked vigilante Rorschach sets out to uncover the plot to kill and discredit all past and present superheroes. As he reconnects with his former crime-fighting legion, a ragtag group of retired superheroes, only one of whom has true powers, Rorschach glimpses a wide-ranging and disturbing conspiracy with links to their shared past and catastrophic consequences for the future.
Keeping up with the journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.