I need to find Biographical Information
The following compilations contain short biographical sketches and often include genealogical charts.
- The abridged compendium of American genealogy; first families of America byCall Number: Baker-Berry Old Dartmouth BX V819a v. 1 - 7Important source for immigrants before 1750. Includes over 54,000 lineages.
- A genealogical register of the first settlers of New England ... To which are added various genealogical and biographical notes, collected from ancient records, manuscripts, and printed works byCall Number: Baker-Berry Old Dartmouth BX F229g"Invaluable directory to first settlers of New England." [See Filby, page 53].
- A genealogical dictionary of the first settlers of New England: showing three generations of those who came before May, 1692, on the basis of Farmer's Register byCall Number: Baker-Berry F 3 .S2 1965 v. 1 - 4 1998 printingISBN: 9780806307596"Probably the greatest work on genealogy ever compiled for the New England area." [See Filby, page 94]. Includes A Genealogical Cross Index compiled by O. P. Dexter.
- Genealogical and family history of the State of New Hampshire: a record of the achievements of her people in the making of a commonwealth and the founding of a nation byCall Number: Baker-Berry F 33 .S79 v. 1 - 4A good example of the infamous "mug book" that was extremely popular during the turn of the century (thus called "either because of the portraits accompanying the biographies or because the biographies were copied by the publisher without any attempt to check the facts"). [See P. William Filby's A Bibliography of American County Histories, page ix. Baker Stacks Z 1250 .F54 1985]. Use with caution.
- Genealogical dictionary of Maine and New Hampshire byCall Number: Rauner Special Collections Ref. F 18 .N68 1976In addition to biographical sketches of early settlers, this source includes references to wills, deeds, and court cases.
Acknowledgement
(Text and resources taken from the print edition of: Jaccaud, Robert D, comp. Passages to Family History: A Guide to Genealogical Research in the Dartmouth College Library. Rev. ed. Hanover: Dartmouth College Library, 1994).