Skip to main content

HIST 96.22 Nazism: Culture, Society, War

Nazism: Culture, Society, War

Your course explores the origins, nature, and consequences of Nazism and culminates in a research paper on some aspect of Nazism. A wealth of primary sources exists in English-language translations. Consequently, much of this research guide is concerned with directing you to these sources in print and digital form, as well as important scholarship.

Scholarship: Leading Indexes

Loading

Scholarship: Full-Text Journal Archives

Full-text archives put a wealth of scholarship at your fingertips, but they differ in scope and content and are incomplete. Any substantial literature review should also use disciplinary indexes like those linked above.

Loading

Primary Sources: Print Collections

Loading

Primary Sources: Digital Collections

Loading

Primary Sources: Contemporary English-Language Periodical Press

Primary Sources: Digitized Newspapers

Loading

Primary Sources: Collections in North American and European Depositories

There are many ways to identify archives with sources suitable for your research project, but savvy researchers use novel tools to search across archives for relevant sources -- especially those in unexpected places.

Tools like ArchiveGrid, Archive Web, and Archives Portal Europe facilitate access to collections at hundreds and even thousands of different institutions. You may not find digitized content, but you will learn which institutions hold unique resources of interest.

Loading