This is the "Welcome!" page of the "History 63: History of Recent Science & Technology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History 63: History of Recent Science & Technology   Tags: hist.063-sp12  

Prof. Richard Kremer ~ Spring '12 Jane Quigley & Shirley Zhao, Kresge Library
Last Updated: May 17, 2012 URL: http://researchguides.dartmouth.edu/histsci Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Welcome! Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Not Available?

BORROW DIRECT Delivers books from the combined library catalogs of Brown, Columbia, Cornell, the University of Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale within 4 business days.

DartDoc is for articles or books that are in Storage, OR that are not owned by Dartmouth at all (Interlibrary Loan). See the Document Delivery webpage for more details on these services.

Use the Request Selected Item feature of the Library Catalog to request books from Storage.

 

Summon

Summon: Easily discover the world of library content

Dartmouth Users: Using Summon from off-campus? You'll need to use VPN for access to full-text.

About Summon

 

Great Starting Points

Web of Science
Web of Science indexes about 8000 journals in all subject areas. Particularly useful for working with citations (i.e. show me papers that have cited this paper).  Especially strong in the sciences and interdisciplinary fields. Coverage varies; journals in the social sciences are indexed back to 1956; some science journals back to 1900.

Academic Search Complete
A large, multi-disciplinary article database with full text from thousands of mostly scholarly publications. Coverage varies; contains material back to 1975. Indexes articles from the Chronicle of Higher Education and the New York Times as well as many general science and social science scholarly journals.

America: History and Life
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.  

History of Science, Technology and Medicine (1975-present)  
Indexes about 600 scholarly journals covering the history, philosophy and sociology of science with partial contents of several hundred more. 

JSTOR
Contains the complete archives of core scholarly journals in several disciplines, digitized and full-text searchable from the first issues.  Search in individual journals or disciplines, or across collections such as History of Science & Technology, General Science, or Health Policy. Note that the most recent 5 years of JSTOR journals are not generally searched.

Wilson Web Databases: These can be searched separately or together.

  • General Science Abstracts
    Indexes about 197 popular science and multidisciplinary journals,including: Ambio, Science, Scientific American, Nature, American Scientist, PNAS. Also indexes articles on science topics from the New York Times. Covers 1984- present.
  • Book Review Digest (Wilson Web)
    Provides descriptive summaries of books as well as excerpts of book reviews, with complete book review citations and all book reviews from other Wilson indexes. Books appear with all their reviews grouped together.
 

Kresge Librarians

Kresge Reference Librarians

Contact Info:
Kresge Physical Sciences Library
3rd floor Fairchild Hall
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755

tel. (603) 646-3563
Email Kresge Library

Librarians: (above, left to right)
Shirley Zhao (email)
Jane Quigley (email)
Ann Perbohner (email)

Links:
Kresge Library Website
Kresge Library Hours

Kresge Library Location

Subjects:
Astronomy
, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Sciences, Environmental Studies, Mathematics, Physics

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip