Guide Index
Research Databases
- Islamic Heritage ProjectThrough the Islamic Heritage Project (IHP), Harvard University has cataloged, conserved, and digitized hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps, and published texts from their libraries and museum collections.
- Travelers in the Middle East Archive"... a digital archive that focuses on Western interactions with the Middle East, particularly travels to Egypt during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries."
- RAND Voices of Jihad Database"This online database is a compilation of speeches, interviews, statements, and publications of jihadist leaders, foot soldiers, and sympathizers. Nearly all content is in English translation, and has been collected from publicly-accessible websites. Original links are provided, along with excerpts and full-text content when available." From the web site.
Interfaith Understanding
- A Common WordAn ecumenical letter from the Muslim community on the common ground between Islam and Christianity.
Article Indexes
- Index Islamicus (1905- )The primary index to Islamic studies.
For literature published between 1665-1905, consult the print volumes:
Baker Berry Reference Z7835.M6 L62 1665/1905- - ATLA Religion DatabaseIndexes journals in religious studies.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Encyclopaedia of Islam Online (2nd ed.)Baker Berry Ref. DS37 .E523 v.1-11
A new edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam (3rd ed.) is in progress. - Oxford Dictionary of Islam OnlineBaker Berry Ref. BP40 .O95 2003
- New Cambridge History of Islam OnlineA scholarly multi-volume scholarly history of Islam.
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World OnlineAlso available: Baker Berry Ref. BP40 .E525 2004 v.1-2
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic WorldBaker Berry Ref. DS35.53 .O96 2009 v.1-6 (Catalog Record)
- Historical Atlas of IslamPublished by Brill, this online resource provides a wide range of historical & contemporary maps of the Islamic world.
- Encyclopedia of women & Islamic culturesBaker Berry Ref. HQ1170 .E53 2003 v.1-6 (Catalog Record)
- Encyclopedia of Islam in the United StatesBaker Berry Ref. BP67.U6 E53 2007 v.1-2 (Catalog Record)
- Encyclopaedia Iranica OnlineBaker Berry Ref. DS253 .E56 v.1-13
See the overview article on Islam in Iran. Some articles are still only available in the print edition. - Encyclopaedia IslamicaThe first volume in an abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī. One unique feature of this work of reference lies in the attention it gives to Shiʿi Islam. (Brill)
- A Report on the Size and Distribution of the World's Muslim PopulationProjections for 2010-2030 by the Pew Research Center’s Forum on Religion & Public Life.
- The Muslim diaspora : a comprehensive reference to the spread of Islam in Asia, Africa, Europe, and the AmericasBaker Berry Ref. BP50 .J46 1999 v.1-2 (Catalog Record)
- Columbia world dictionary of IslamismBaker Berry Ref. BP40 .D5313 2007 (Catalog Record)
Bibliographies
- The Literature of Islam : a guide to the primary sources in English translationBaker Berry Z7835.M6 S585 2006
Contents: The Qur'an: text and translation -- The traditions: Hadith -- Exegesis of the Qur'an: tafsir -- Law and legal theory: shari'a and fiqh -- History and historiography: ta'rikh -- Philosophy: falsafa -- Theology: kalam -- Spirituality and mysticism: tasawwuf -- Appendix: anthologies. - Guide to reference books for Islamic studies compiled by C.L. GeddesBaker Berry Z7835.M6 A54 no.9
- Guide to Islam compiled by David EdeBaker Berry Reference Z7835.M6 G84 1983
A bibliography of English language scholarly publications on Islam.
Reference Bibliographer |
Contact Info 180 Berry Baker Berry Library Dartmouth College Hanover, NH 03755 My telephone: (603) 646-0788 Reference Desk: (603) 646-2704 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
