Encyclopedias
- Oxford Latin American History Research EncyclopediaSubstantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History provides articles on a wide range of topics. A great place to gain conceptual grounding and start one's research.
- The Oxford handbook of Latino StudiesTwenty-five essays by leading and emerging scholars discuss and reconsider a variety of key themes and issues, including the Chicano Movement, gender and race relations, the changes in demographics, the tension between rural and urban communities, immigration, the legacy of colonialism, language identity and the controversy surrounding Spanglish, and meditations on popular culture and the lasting power of literature.
- The Oxford handbook of Latin American historyThis Oxford Handbook surveys the large and growing field of Latin American history by bringing together the principal themes and approaches over the past three decades. Essays address indigenous peoples of the region, colonial history, independence movements, rural history, slavery and race, and much more.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and CultureProvides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
- Encyclopedia of U.S.-Latin American relationsThis A-to-Z reference features more than 800 entries detailing the political-cultural interconnections between the United States and the countries of Latin America, including Mexico Central America, the Caribbean, and South America.
- Cambridge History of Latin American LiteratureOnline resource. Three-volume set spanning pre-Columbian literature to the present. Brazilian literature is also covered. Print version is available.
- A Companion to Latin American Women WritersIncludes biographies and critical essays on a dozen renowned writers
- Encyclopedia of Latin American theaterThis volume traces the history of Latin American theater, including the Nuyorican and Chicano theaters of the United States, and surveys its history from the pre-Columbian period to the present.
- Latin American Women WritersLatin American Women Writers: An Encyclopedia presents the lives and critical works of over 170 women writers in Latin America between the sixteenth and twentieth centuries.
- Encyclopedia of U.S. military interventions in Latin AmericaShows how the United States has intervened militarily, politically, and economically in Central America, South America, and the Caribbean from the early 19th century to the present day.
Print Encyclopedias
You can find most of these sources in the Baker-Berry Reference Stacks on First Floor Berry (FFB). If you need assistance locating materials, ask a librarian at the Research & Information Desk.
- Enciclopedia biográfica e histórica del Perú : siglos XIX-XX12-volume set located in Stacks Annex A. Available for borrowing.
- Diccionario biográfico español50 volume set from the Real Academia Español. Considered controversial for its conservative stance but nevertheless an indispensable reference source. Find all 50 blue volumes in Baker Berry Reference DP58 .D533 2009
