Spring 2013 ~ Prof Peter Winkler
Last Updated: Jun 18, 2014
Looking for a topic?
Start with reading background information in the area you're interested in. Then do some preliminary searches in the article indexes and the library catalog.
Looking for articles?
Try searching some of the article indexes/databases or Summon (see the Key Resources box).
Looking for books?
Try doing a keyword or subject search in the library catalog. Look for the tips in the Digging Deeper tab.
- About the Collection
The Wallace Cook Memorial Mathematics Collection was made possible by a gift from John Brown Cook, class of 1929, in memory of his father, Wallace Cook. The collection currently contains over 30,000 volumes in mathematics and computer science, hundreds of online journals, as well as numerous other related resources. It is supported by the librarians of Kresge Physical Sciences Library
- Location: Berry Level 3
The Collection is housed in Berry Level 3, where the majority of the mathematics and computer science print books and journals are located. Additional titles may be in Kresge, Feldberg, and various parts of the library system.
- The Entire Print Collection
Click link for a catalog search for all books in the Cook Collection, listed in reverse chronological order.
- Hours: Same as Baker Berry Library
Access to the Collection is dependent on the hours set by Baker Berry Library. Be sure to check the calendar.
- Search Techniques
Try using quotation marks to search for a specific phrase. Use * to truncate a word so that you can search all variations of the root. Use "and" and "or" to control your results (don't forget that you can make use of parentheses here!). See the Digging Deeper tab for specific tips.
- Broad vs Narrow Search Terms
Depends on what database you are searching. If you are in the library catalog, you may want to broaden your search because books are not cataloged in full text. If you are searching a full-text database, then definitely get as narrow as you can think of!
- How to Read a Call Number
See this quick guide on how to read a call number!
- How to Find a Book in Baker Berry Library
Watch this video that walks you through finding a book in Baker Berry Library.