Skip to main content

Medicine and Health: Keeping Current

A guide to resources for researching the biomedical literature, including the journal literature and evidence-based medicine.

New Books at Dana

Loading

New Books At Matthews-Fuller

Loading

Recent Articles by Dartmouth Authors

Click on the title to view the citation and abstract in RefShare.  Then click on Get It to see options for accessing the full text of the article.  (If the citations don't appear below, go to http://www.refworks.com/refshare?site=010191135918800000/RWWS2AA531016/DartAuth%20WOK.)

Loading

Dartmouth Researcher Profiles

Journal Tables of Contents Alert Services

Sign up to receive the tables of contents of your favorite journals.

  • Individual Journal Table of Contents:  To set up alerts for your favorite journal, go to the online edition and follow the directions provided under headings such as "alerts" or "e-mail table of contents."  You can find eJournals by looking up the title in the Library Catalog, the Biomedical Libraries eJournals list, or in e-Journal Browser.  Or use a search engine like Google to find journals not available at Dartmouth.
  • JournalTOCS Journal Tables of Contents Service: JournalTOCs is a free tables of contents alert service covering over 20,000 scholarly journals from over 1,200 publishers. JournalTOCs allows you to ssearch, follow, and set up alerts.
  • PubMed's MyNCBI: PubMed's MyNCBI feature can be used to set up email alerts for articles in your favorite journals indexed in PubMed/MEDLINE.  See a 4-minute demonstration video.  The email alert received will contain a link to PubMed search results.  Be sure to sign into MyNCBI at the PubMed screen so that you see Dartmouth full-text links.
  • Ingenta Table of Contents Alerts: Ingenta's ConnectComplete is a table of contents service covering 11,000 journals in multiple disciplines.  Ingenta can also alert you to new articles on topics of interest.  The Dartmouth College Library's site license allows affiliated individuals at the College and DHMC to register and set up profiles.  Caution: Ingenta's table of contents alerts contain links to Ingenta's version of the journal, usually not accessible by Dartmouth's users.

Alert Services for Database Searches

Database alert services allow you to save search strategies and receive automatic alerts of new results matching your strategy.

  • PubMed: Register for MyNCBI; links are in the upper right corner and in the blue column at the left of the PubMed screen.  MyNCBI saves search strategies and has an option to automatically update and email search results on a schedule of your choice.  See PubMed's "Help" for more information.
  • Ovid AutoAlerts: With Ovid AutoAlerts it is possible to save a search strategy that will be run automatically each time the database is updated and the resulting citations emailed to you.  See Saving Search Strategies for more information.
  • Web of Science: Web of Science allows you to set up an automatic alert to email results to you weekly or monthly.  You can register or sign in on the first Web of Science screen, or at the point of saving a search strategy.  See "Help" within Web of Science for more information.
  • ProQuest: ProQuest hosts PsycInfo and other databases. You can search and save the strategy as an alert after first registering for a personal account. See ProQuest's help for information about setting up alerts.
  • Other databases: Many other search services and databases offer alerts and the ability to save search strategies.  Look for references to "alerts" or "saved searches" in the help section or guide.