Skip to main content

Medicine and Health: Citations/Citing/Impact Factors

A guide to resources for researching the biomedical literature, including the journal literature and evidence-based medicine.

How Do I Cite This?

Your use of resources should be acknowledged in footnotes and lists of references. There are many styles to choose from. The following sites provide examples for many types of resources and styles.

Managing Your References

A critical part of the research process is keeping track of where you found a particular idea, picture, fact, or quote so you can properly cite it in your work according to an accepted style. Reference management software programs are tools to help you do this easily and efficiently.

Who's Citing Whom?

Web of Science (Science Citation Index)
Web of Science, produced by ISI, provides web access to three citation databases, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, which can be searched individually or together. Coverage is from 1900-present; the databases are updated weekly. (Licensed for use at Dartmouth/DHMC only.)

Citation databases are bibliographic databases in which each article record includes the article's bibliography or reference list, allowing you to use citation information as an additional access point. Using the Cited Reference Search screen, you can search the database for articles that cite a known author or work. In addition, the General Search screen allows searching by subject keyword, author, journal title, author affiliation, and year. Cited Reference, Times Cited, and Related Records links within each article record allow you to retrieve related articles published both before and after an article of interest.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar indexes scholarly literature.  Records include the number of citations for a given article, and links to the citing articles.  Although the records are fairly sparse, links to the full text are provided.  Click on Resources@Dartmouth to get links to full text licensed for Dartmouth/DHMC users; or you can request the article through DartDoc with the form filled out for you.

Journal Impact Factors

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) provide data that helps you evaluate and compare scholarly journals in the sciences and social sciences based on citations in indexed articles to other articles in a particular journal. The journal impact factor is a measure of the frequency with which the "average article" in a journal has been cited in a particular year. The impact factor will help you evaluate a journal's relative importance, especially when you compare it to others in the same field.

Eigenfactor
Created as a competitor to JCR's Impact Factors, the Eigenfactor™ Score is a measure of the overall value provided by all of the articles published in a given journal in a year.  The Article Influence™ Score is a measure of a journal's prestige based on per article citations.  The site also evaluates the cost effectiveness of journals.

SCImago Journal Rank
The SJR is another competitor to JCR's Impact Factors, created from the Scopus database.  It expresses the average number of weighted citations received in the selected year by the documents published in the selected journal in the three previous years.

H-Index for Authors
Hirsch developed an index to evaluate the impact of an individual author.  See this Wikipedia article for more.