This is the "Videos" page of the "Multimedia Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Multimedia Resources   Tags: film.020-fa13  

Sources for video, images, and audio; tips and tools for creating and editing media; and information on citing media sources.
Last Updated: May 15, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.dartmouth.edu/multimedia Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Videos Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Video sources on the web

YouTube
The largest video sharing website, where users can upload and share videos.

Vimeo
Another video sharing website but more on the artistic side and usually better quality.

Blip.tv
Catered to discovering the best in original web series, from professional and up-and-coming producers.

Daily Motion
Debuted in Paris during the same time YouTube hit the online world, Dailymotion has become one of France's 10 most popular websites. DailyMotion is yet another website dedicated to sharing videos.

Metacafe
One of the world's largest video sites, specializing in short-form original content - from new, emerging talents and established Hollywood heavyweights alike.

Video Encyclopedia of the 20th Century
(Only available to the Dartmouth community)

The video Encyclopedia is a collection of film and videotape segments recording the social, political, and cultural history of the 20th century. The Video Encyclopedia website contains the complete text and video footage of the collection coverted to digital format for delivery via the network. Due to licensing restrictions, you must be on the Dartmouth network, or connected via VPN, to access it. If you would like to use footage from the collection in a media project and for educational purposes only, contact susan.simon@dartmouth.edu for details. 

 

Acquiring Online Video

YouTube Downloader Tool for most browsers
Once installed, a small drop down box will appear under the YouTube video you would like to save. Click on it to download the video file in a variety of formats, such as MP4, FLV, 3GP, MP4, 1080HD and more.

KeepVid: Download and save online video
Download and convert streaming/flash video into a variety of formats. Copy and past the URL for the source video into the KeepVid site, then select the file you want to save.  MP4 files can be imported into iMovie for editing.

 

Search Videos at Dartmouth

This search includes all libraries on campus; note the location and call number.

 

Jones Media Center Resources

Borrow Video Equipment
Video cameras, tripods, and accessories

Quick Reference Tutorials
Steps for importing and editing video projects

Lynda Training Videos
Thousands of video tutorials on a wide range of software programs. Access from your dorm room, your office, or come in to Jones Media Center.

 

iMovie Video Tutorials


 

Apple Support iMovie 11: 

http://www.apple.com/support/imovie/


Upload to YouTube

The following video will explain how to save your final project and upload it to YouTube

 

Shooting Video - Tips, Tricks and Techniques!

Ten Tips for Capturing Great Video (.pdf)

Conduct and Shoot an Interview (website)

 


Excellent video on Filmmaking Techniques

 

 

Excellent video on how to avoid The 5 Deadly Sins of Amateur Video!

 

 

A Must-See video for beginners. Great tips on how to pan, tilt, and proper handheld techniques.

Media Learning Technologist

Profile Image
Susan Simon
Contact Info
Jones Media Center
6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
Phone: 603-646-0629
Send Email

Media Services Librarian

Profile Image
Sarah Tischer Scully
Contact Info
Jones Media Center
6025 Baker/Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0915
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip