This is the "Home" page of the "PHYS 7 - Space Politics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PHYS 7 - Space Politics   Tags: phys.007-sp13, space politics  

Spring 2013 ~ Prof Mary Hudson
Last Updated: Jun 3, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.dartmouth.edu/phys7_space_politics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

About this Guide

Looking for a topic?

Start with reading background information in the area you're interested in. Then do some preliminary searches in the article indexes and the library catalog.

Looking for articles?

Try searching some of the article indexes/databases or Summon (see the Key Resources box).

Looking for books?

Try doing a keyword or subject search in the library catalog. Look for the tips in the second middle box for subject searching ideas.

Guide Index

Related Guides

Quick Help

  • Search Techniques
    Try using quotation marks to search for a specific phrase. Use * to truncate a word so that you can search all variations of the root. Use "and" and "or" to control your results (don't forget that you can make use of parentheses here!). See the Subject Heading box for specific tips.
  • Broad vs Narrow Search Terms
    Depends on what database you are searching. If you are in the library catalog, you may want to broaden your search because books are not cataloged in full text. If you are searching a full-text database, then definitely get as narrow as you can think of!
  • How to Read a Call Number
    See this quick guide on how to read a call number!
  • How to Find a Book in Baker Berry Library
    Watch this video that walks you through finding a book in Baker Berry Library.

Key Resources

 

Subject Headings in the Library Catalog

Many bibliographic databases use strictly controlled terms to describe the subject content of materials. Being aware of these subject terms can help you focus your search with great precision. if you're not sure of the exact Library of Congress Subject Heading, use a Keyword search to locate a few items that are relevant to your topic. Then use the Subject Headings associated with those items to lead you to more relevant materials. Here are some examples.

For discussions of missions to specific areas:

Space flight to Mars / Mars (Planet)--Exploration / Space flight to the moon / Moon--Exploration

For specific missions:

Voyager Project

For the politics of space exploration:

Astronautics / Astronautics--United States / Astronautics and State / Astronautics and State--Soviet Union / Astronautics, Military / Space Industrialization / Space Stations--Government Policy / Space Tourism

For space exploration in general:

Astronautics / Outer space--Exploration / Space stations / Space flights

For biographical materials:

Glenn, John / Astronauts--Biography / Astronauts--United States--Biography

For the history of a topic:

Space Flight--History / Manned Space Flight--History / Outer Space--Exploration--History / Space Race--History

Research Consultations

Profile Image
Lora Leligdon
Contact Info
Kresge Physical Sciences Library
3rd Floor Fairchild Hall
Phone: (603) 646-3845
Send Email
Subjects:
Physics, Astronomy
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip