The Encyclopedia Arctica is the typecript of a proposed 20-volume reference work on the northern arctic and subarctic regions. The project was begun in 1947 under the sponsorship of the Office of Naval Research, Department of the Navy and drew on the expertise of governments (especially Canada), learned societies, and scholars from all over the world. ...
Call Number: Baker/Berry Ref. G 855 .E55 2007 v. 1-2
"All of this makes the Encyclopedia of the Antarctic a unique resource and tool for a wide readership of students, researchers, scholars, and anyone with a general interest in the region of the Antarctic, sub-Antarctic, and Southern Ocean. It both examines the broad, complex theoretical context and fills in the specific details of the existing knowledge about the Antarctic¿its history, life forms, and influence on the rest of the Earth, as well as its place in our scientific understanding of the world." [Introduction]
Call Number: Baker/Berry Ref. G 606 .E49 2005 v. 1-3
"The Encyclopedia of the Arctic offers a rich and dynamic view of, and introduction to, an enormous, incredibly diverse, and rapidly changing part of the world. Its three volumes comprise overviews of hundreds of topics, events, places, people, human cultures, animals, and environments, ranging from geological history, exploration, the cultures and livelihoods of indigenous peoples, geopolitics, international environmental cooperation, natural history, physical processes, life sciences, and environmental change." [Preface]
Call Number: Rauner Stefansson G 587 .M55 2003 v. 1-2
Using an alphabetical rather than a chronological approach, this encyclopedia informs readers of the famous and less well-known expeditions to the polar regions. Included are all of the regions and countries explored, the specific expeditions and those private and commercial entities which funded those expeditions.
The vast empty spaces of the Poles were the last frontier to be assailed by explorers intent on achieving a geographical goal. But long before the North Pole was finally attained, men sailed the seas searching for an easier and shorter path to the riches of the Orient. The mapmakers of the day translated sparse information into often fanciful, sometimes stunningly artistic maps. ...
The Arctic is in Paul Nicklen's blood. Born and raised on Baffin Island, Nunavut, he grew up in one of the only non-Inuit families in a tiny native settlement amid the ice fields, floes, and frigid seas of Northern Canada. At an age when most children are playing hide-and-seek, he was learning life-and-death lessons of survival: how to read the weather, find shelter in a frozen snowscape, or live off the land as his Inuit neighbors had done for centuries. ...
The Arctic and Northern Studies digital collection comprises a selection of materials from the University of Calgary’s Archives and Special Collections. The materials are rare published or unpublished archival documents, dating from the 1600s to the early 1900s, which were originally acquired by the Arctic Institute of North America, now located at the University of Calgary.
The Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S. (ARCUS), based in Fairbanks, Alaska, was formed in 1988 as a nonprofit member consortium of educational and scientific institutions that have a substantial commitment to arctic research.
The Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research (INSTAAR) strives for excellence in research, education, and outreach related to Earth System Science and Global Change in high-latitude, alpine, and other environments.
The Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research (INSTAAR) develops scientific knowledge of physical and biogeochemical environmental processes at local, regional and global scales, and applies this knowledge to improve society's awareness and understanding of natural and anthropogenic environmental change.
IARC's mission is to foster Arctic research in an international setting to help the nation and the international community understand, prepare for, and adapt to the pan-Arctic impacts of climate change.
SCAR, the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research, is a committee of ICSU , the International Council for Science, and it is charged with the initiation, promotion and co-ordination of scientific research in Antarctica. SCAR also provides international, independent scientific advice to the Antarctic Treaty system.
The U.S. Antarctic Resource Center (USARC) is located at the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) in Reston , Va. It maintains the nation's most comprehensive collection of Antarctic aerial photography, maps, charts, satellite imagery and technical reports.
Our members share resources, facilities, and expertise to build post-secondary education programs that are relevant and accessible to northern students. Our overall goal is to create a strong, sustainable circumpolar region by empowering northerners and northern communities through education and shared knowledge.
The Arctic Research Policy Act of 1984 established USARC. Its principal duties are to develop and recommend an integrated national Arctic research policy and to assist in establishing a national Arctic research program plan to implement the policy.