Online Training Resources
- ElementK Online Training Resources
The ElementK system provides online training for many common applications such as Microsoft Outlook, Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Access, FrontPage, and FileMaker, as well as a basic overview of the Windows and Macintosh operating systems. - Microsoft eLearning Suite
Site provides self paced online training modules for Microsoft Office products. - Keynote 2009 Tutorials
Tutorial developed and maintained by Apple.
Jones Media Center Resources
Lynda.com Online Training Library is now available at Jones Media Center editing stations. The resources provides over 57,000 graphic design and business application video tutorials. You can view descriptions of all available course materials at www.lynda.com.
Contact the Jones Media Center with any questions about this resource.
Articles & Blogs
- 10 Tips for Designing Presentations the Don't Suck
This blog post provides ten practical tips for designing good looking, professional presentations.
Keynote Videos
- Keynote for Beginners - Episode 1

- Guides, Guidelines, Spacing and Sizing

- Format Bar, Comments & Presenter Notes

- Working with Photos

- Working with Text Boxes

- Working with Shapes

- Working with Images

- Working with Titles & Bullets

- Themes and Master Slides

- Format Bar, Comments and Presenter Notes

- Guides, Gridlines, Spacing and Sizing

Feedback
Life After Death by Powerpoint
Design Tips
When designing presentations:
-
Decide on 3 to 4 key points to be covered and organize material around these themes. Audiences need a clear framework based on some major themes in order to grasp and retrieve the ideas.
-
Develop illustrations, stories, examples, audiovisuals, concept maps for major points. Restate the point after the example or illustration.
-
Capture audience interest in the beginning of the presentation. Read a powerful quote, state a question that will be answered in the presentation or a strong generalization which contradicts common thought, introduce puzzling facts, tell a personal anecdote, give an example, tell a joke or do a demonstration.
-
Plan to set the stage by telling the audience what will be covered in the presentation (e.g., How many of you drank a soda this week? What did you do with the can? Today we will be talking about the economic impact of recycling.)
-
Pace presentations in 5-10 minute chunks. Doing the same thing for more than 10 minutes without a change of pace or transition may cause the audience to "tune out" and lose interest. This does not mean that you have to be some sort of entertainer or run a media show to keep audience interest, rather that you need to change your pace at regular intervals. For example, learn to punctuate your presentations with rhetorical questions, vivid examples, or demonstrations.
-
Pace-changing transitions often occur easily if you link them to the presentation of your 3 to 4 key points.
Intro to Keynote
Presenting Content
-
Front-load your presentation (put the most important facts in your first few slides).
-
Make it big - test the presentation to make sure everything can be read from the back row.
-
Keep it simple - No more than 6 lines per slide. No more than 7 words per line of text. Your audience can read faster than you can talk. You don't want their attention to split between the slide and you.
-
Make it clear - choose fonts, font sizes, and colors that enhance readability of your slides. Most of PowerPoint/Keynote default font sizes ans color schemes work well. If you decide to experiment on your own, be sure not to reduce readability in the process.
-
Be consistent in thought, word and deed - your goal should be to educate and inform your audience. Make sure the stages of your presentation and the visual aides you use follow a logical sequence.
-
Select fonts carefully - use a sans-serif screen display font like Verdana for your on-screen presentation, and use a serif print display font like Times Roman for handouts.
Other Considerations
-
Don't detract: stay away from PowerPoint/Keynote bells ans whistles like builds, transitions, animations, and sound effects. If you absolutely have to use the frills, only add them to slides that don't contain key facts. That way the presentation will look pretty, but the "real" content won't be lost due to visual interference.
-
Only use pictures to teach, not to decorate or entertain. The on screen text is processed in visual memory because it is seen, viewed with the eyes. Relevant pictures do not help because they are also stored in visual memory along with the text - on new information is added over a different channel. Unrelated pictures in a presentation, however, have a negative effect on audience enjoyment and the learning of the materials. (Bartsch & Cobern, 2003) A picture may be worth a thousand words, but when you use an unrelated picture those thousand words drown out what you are trying to say.
Common Accessibility Problems
Common accessibility problems in presentations are:
- As noted earlier poor contrast between background ans text makes the presentation difficult to read.
- Graphics, figures, logos and charts so not contain captions and/or alt tags so there is no text to be read out loud for those who rely on assistive technology.
- If the information is not structured within the auto layouts provided by most presentation packages the text is not available to text readers.
- Audio and/or video will usually require accommodation unless captioning or a transcript is provided by the content author.
Other Tools
Educational Technology Group |
Visual Graphing Tools
The following are some visual graphing tools that you may want to explore for your students and/or to display you own datasets.
- A
Periodic Table of Visualization Methods
- AnyChart
- provides a Flash based solution to creating interactive, attractive
charts.
- Chart.io - provides a simple tool
to create charts and dashboards from data sets.
- Chronoscope - tool
will allow you to visualize large numbers of data points. The tool
provides a Javascript API and Google Visualization API.
- Degrafa
- is a declarative graphics framework for creating data visualization
and mapping.
- Flare - "Flare is an
ActionScript library for creating visualizations that run in the Adobe
Flash Player. From basic charts and graphs to complex interactive
graphics, the toolkit supports data management, visual encoding,
animation, and interaction techniques."
- Flex Monster - provides
an internet application designed to view, analyze and manage
multidimensional data online.
- Gapminder - provides
worldwide statistical data in an engaging interactive format.
- Google
Chart API - can generate many kinds of charts that can be embedded
into web based applications.
- Google
Motion Charts - allows you to create dynamic charts to explore
several indicators over time utilizing a visualization API. The charts
are rendered as Flash videos.
- Many Eyes
- provides a collection of data visualizations. On the Many Eyes site
you can view and discuss visualizations and data sets, create
visualizations from existing data sets, and upload your own data sets.
Note: you will have to create an account to upload your own data.
- Omgili - lets you
measure and compare the percentage of a term out of the total number of
discussions Omgili covers on specific dates. You can also embed the
graph inside any web page.
- Open Flash
Charts - is an open sources Flash based chart generation tool. The
site provides packaged software and a clear set of tutorials that assist
in getting started with the product.
- R Project for Statistical
Computing - is a "free software environment for statistical
computing and graphics. It compiles and runs on a wide variety of UNIX
platforms, Windows and MacOS."
- Swivel - provides a web-based
data graphing solutions. Swivel is free for public data, and charges a
monthly fee to people who want to use it in private."
- Tableau Public
- provides a free data visualization tool that can be embedded into
websites or the shared.
- Visual Complexity - "intends to be a unified resource space for anyone interested in the visualization of complex networks."

Loading...
