Sociology Librarian
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
Need more help?
Schedule an appointment to meet with me in the Reference Office (Berry 180).
- Online scheduler: https://libcal.dartmouth.edu/appointments/baker-berry
- No time available in the online scheduler? Email me (a few days in advance, please) to find a mutually convenient time.
E-Mail, Chat, or Text the on-call Reference Librarian
Review one of the library's subject-specific research guides for additional suggestions.
RWIT [Berry Level 1]
Schedule an appointment to meet with an RWIT tutor
Key tools
DynaMedevidence-based clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics
Encyclopedia of Public Health (2002)Call Number: Baker-Berry Reference RA423 .E53 2002
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (2nd edition)Online!
This massive, broad-coverage work is great for in-depth overviews - particularly social theory.
UpToDateover 7,500 topic reviews in 14 medical specialties, plus drug information
The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Health, Illness, Behavior and SocietyOnline!
More than 700 entries across 20 sub-disciplines, on all aspects of the social scientific study of health and illness.
- Coming Soon!
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology (online)
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology (online)
- Annual Review of SociologyOnline! Also see related Annual Review of Psychology, Annual Review of Political Science, etc.
Default search: full-text
Review articles summarize key research and emerging issues.
Extensive bibliographies provide authoritative paths to relevant primary literature.
Topics include major theoretical and methodological developments and current
research in the major subfields.
Coverage begins in 1975.
Default search: citations/abstracts/subject headings
Citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage begins in 1952.
A service of the National Library of Medicine that includes citations from life science journals back to the 1950s.
Default search: citations/abstracts/subject headings
Despite the name, Web of Science is multidisciplinary. Covers scholarly journal articles, and offers a "cited reference search" to track research forward.
Default search: citation/abstracts
|
Search Web of Science™ Copyright 2014 Thomson Reuters |
|
|
If We Don't Own It
or if our copy is checked out...
- BorrowDirect
Request books (only) from small, but strong, group of libraries (Ivies, plus Duke, Johns Hopkins, MIT, & U. Chicago) - Interlibrary LoanRequest articles, books, and other publications you need from a huge network of other libraries.