Storage Discard Project
Acquisitions Update - May 2014
Review File Requests ~ Reminder
For the quickest service, please send all review file requests to our team’s list serve at: COLLECTION-ANALYSIS-TEAM@LISTSERV.DARTMOUTH.EDU . This will go directly to the review file team and the member who is “on duty” at the time will begin working on it and you won’t have to worry about who to send it to or who to follow up with. If for any reason you do not receive an appropriately speedy reply, please contact James Fein directly.
FY15 budget preparation meetings are underway. A current budget report will be provided prior to your meeting. Please let your Acquisitions Liaison or Judy know if there’s anything else you need in preparation.
May: Limit orders to faculty requests, new in-stock items, Rush, Class Reserves
May 31st: Last approval shipment paid on current FY funds
We recommend that you reserve the month of May for last minute and late-published materials, and restrict June to RUSH and Class Reserves. Please let us know if you have any questions, concerns, or extenuating circumstances!
Coutts: Revised 3rd Quarter Report & FY15 Profile Reviews
A corrected 3rd Quarter report is available on our wiki (January through March 2014):
See Q3 report revised.
We plan to invite Coutts to campus this summer or early fall to review approval profiles and we would like to include all Subject Specialists. Please help us with planning by updating your calendar with vacations, conferences, or other times that you will be away from campus.
Collection Assessment Activities
On April 25th, James presented Dartmouth College Library’s collection evaluation methods with regard to the Storage Project as part of the New Hampshire College & University Council (NHCUC), Library Assessment Interest Group at UNH Durham’s Dimond Library.
During April, James and Acquisitions Liaisons met with staff to discuss collections related matters at Paddock, Kresge, Feldberg, and Matthews-Fuller, which resulted in very fruitful discussions and ideas.
On May 1st, James attended a webinar on OCLC Collection Evaluation for weeding projects, accreditation reviews and more; and he will be attending the Acquisitions Institute at Timberline in Oregon from May 17-20.
Please contact James if you have any questions or would like additional information.
Key Deadlines & Dates
2014 Dates and Deadlines
- Serials Lists distributed to selectors for FY15 cancellation and transition decisions
- Print to Digital Transition Requests Due (for FY15)
- Start of Fiscal Year
- Collections budget assignments
- Cancellations and new serial titles decisions due (for FY15)
- Bibliographers Annual Reports due
Review File Request
For review file requests, send email to: COLLECTION-ANALYSIS-TEAM@LISTSERV.DARTMOUTH.EDU
Please see our web page for information on requesting review files from Acquisitions Services: