Reference Sources
Items in the Reference collection -- particularly subject encyclopedias -- are great starting points for your research. Encyclopedia articles offer concise overviews of a topic, summaries of key research in a particular discipline, and often include a bibliography which can serve as a starting list of sources for your project.
Reference Universe
Reference Universe indexes the contents of 7000+ print and electronic reference titles and links to Dartmouth Library holdings.
Enter your search terms:
Reference Titles of Note
The Queer Encyclopedia of the Visual ArtsCall Number: Sherman Art Reference - N72.H64 Q44 2004Google Books preview linked from our library catalog recordBoy culture : an encyclopedia
Not sure why this ended up in the stacks... In the psychology section... But you can find it on
Berry Lower Level: BF692.5 .B69 2010 (2 vols.)
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in AmericaBaker-Berry Reference HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004 (vols. 1-3)Encyclopedia of Sex & Gender
Online!Girl culture : an encyclopedia
Baker-Berry Reference HQ798 .G523 2008 (2 vols)
GLBTQ : an encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, & queer cultureCall Number: Online!Note that as of August 2015, GLBTQ is no longer updated. The above link is for the archived site.
International Encyclopedia of Men and MasculinitiesCall Number: Online!
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (2nd edition)Online!
This massive, broad-coverage work is great for in-depth overviews - particularly social theory.
Men and Masculinities by Call Number: Baker Berry - HQ1090.3 .M436 2004 (vols. 1-2)Google Books preview linked from our catalog record
Routledge Critical Dictionary of Feminism and PostfeminismBaker-Berry Reference HQ1115 .R68 2000Routledge international encyclopedia of women : global women's issues and knowledge
Baker-Berry Reference HQ1115 .R69 2000 (vols 1-4)The Women's Movement Today : an Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism
Baker-Berry Reference HQ1115 .W644 2006 (2-vol. set)
Oxford Art OnlineCall Number: Online!Suite of resources including the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
See, for example, the biographical entry for Allen Jones
WGST Librarian
Amy Witzel
Contact:
230 Baker (Research & Learning)
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
Phone: (603) 646-0790
Need more help?
Schedule an appointment to meet with me in the Reference Office (Berry 180).
- Online scheduler: https://libcal.dartmouth.edu/appointments/baker-berry
- No time available in the online scheduler? Email me (a few days in advance, please) to find a mutually convenient time.
E-Mail, Chat, or Text the on-call Reference Librarian
Review one of the library's subject-specific research guides for additional suggestions.
RWIT [Berry Level 1]
Schedule an appointment to meet with an RWIT tutor