Wendel Cox
He/Him/His
Contact:
231 Baker
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
Amy Witzel
Contact:
230 Baker (Research & Learning)
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
Phone: (603) 646-0790
Background, Analysis & Historical Context
- American national biography This link opens in a new windowOffers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. The publication of the online edition makes the ANB even more useful as a dynamic source of information -- updated quarterly, with hundreds of new entries each year and revisions of previously published entries to enhance their accuracy and currency. The ANB Online also features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities.;Features thousands of illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references and links to select web sites.
- Gale Literary DatabasesComprising the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Contemporary Authors, this resource includes short critical biographies of authors from all nationalities and eras.
- Literature OnlineLiterature Online includes information about over 14,000 authors. Search for author pages by name or browse for authors by nationality, time period, or other criteria.
- Oxford Companion to American LiteratureBrief biographies, plot summaries, and descriptions of major works.
- Dartmouth College Library CatalogThe primary index for locating books, ebooks, journals, and other media at Dartmouth.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive index of scholarship in literature, language, folklore, film, new media, and rhetoric and composition. Covers articles in periodicals, books, and book chapters. Does not index book reviews.
- America, history and life This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries with abstracts. The database content is drawn from over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. The coverage of America: History and Life also includes citations to book reviews from over 100 major journals of American history and culture and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.
Newspapers
- America's historical newspapers: including Early American Newspapers Series 1- 9, 1690-1922, and Series 12 + 13, 1821-1916 This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant (1764-1988)The Hartford Courant (1764 - 1984) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers - New York TimesFull-page images and article images from the New York Times from its first issue in 1851 to three years before the current date. To limit results to book reviews, click on "More Search Options" and set the document type menu to "Reviews."
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersIncludes major US papers, selected regional papers, as well as several minority press titles
[links to library catalog list of individual titles]
Books & Magazines
- American periodicals series online, 1740-1900 This link opens in a new windowContains over 1000 periodicals and chronicles the development of America across 150 years. The journals in this collection cover three broad periods: journals published between 1740 and 1800 offer insights into America's transition from a British colony to an independent nation; the first 60 years of the 19th century became the golden age of American periodicals, with general interest magazines, children's publications, and journals for women; periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras reflect the nation in turmoil and growth, and titles from the 1880s through 1900 capture the settling of the West and the emergence of modern America.
- Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1543-1945 This link opens in a new windowCollection of books, periodicals and pamphlets on women's issues, begun by Aletta Jacobs Gerritsen in the late 1800's. Includes over 4,000 titles, primarily in English, French and German, with coverage back to the 16th century.
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryMillions of searchable texts from a partnership of research libraries. The material out of copyright is available to read; material in copyright is searchable.
Additional Sources
Ancestry.com Library Edition by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis edition provides access to historical documents and photos, local narratives, oral histories, indexes and other resources in over 30,000 databases that span from the 1500s to the 2000s. The Library Edition of Ancestry.com has fewer personalized functions and options than the versions available to private subscribers.
