Indexes books, journal articles and book chapters on Africa - and to a lesser extent the African diaspora. Subject coverage principally in the social and environmental sciences, development studies, humanities and arts. Some items from the medical, biological and natural sciences are included. African government publications and works of creative literature are not normally listed.
"The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. It contains more than 440,000 thousand entries surveying over seven hundred American and international journals."
Interdisciplinary database covering physical and human geography, geology, ecology, and Third World studies. Includes citations and abstracts published in several print journals: Geographical Abstracts. Human Geography; Geographical Abstracts. Physical Geography; International Development Abstracts; the Geological Abstracts Series (Geophysics and Tectonics, Economic Geology, Palaeontology and Stratigraphy, Sedimentary Geology); Mineralogical Abstracts; and Ecological Abstracts.
An interdisciplinary database combined from Women studies abstracts (1984-present), Women's studies database (1972-present), Women's studies bibliography database, New books on women and feminism (1987-present), Women of color and southern women (1975-1995), The history of women and science, health, and technology: a bibliographic guide to the professions and disciplines (1970-1995), Women's health and development: an annotated bibliography (1995), Women, race, and ethnicity: a bibliography (1970-1990), WAVE: Women's audiovisuals in English: a guide to nonprint resources in women's studies (1985-1990), POPLINE subset on women (1964-2000).
The most comprehensive index of scholarship in literature, language, folklore, film, new media, and rhetoric and composition. Covers articles in periodicals, books, and book chapters. Does not index book reviews.
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, ecology, and other fields of the sciences, humanities, and social sciences.
Includes titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, journals with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields. Coverage includes 426 journals by 106 publishers.
This third edition of the Reference Guide to Africa explains the most important resources for the study of the continent of Africa .... The first part explains and lists portals, databases, bibliographies, indexes, guides, encyclopedias, country sources, biography, primary sources, government publications, and statistics. The second part presents 16 subject-oriented chapters, mostly in the arts, humanities and social sciences, from agriculture and food security to women studies.
The Encyclopedia of Africa presents the most up-to-date and thorough reference on this region of ever-growing importance in world history, politics, and culture. Its core is comprised of the entries focusing on African history and culture from 2005's acclaimed five-volume Africana - nearlytwo-thirds of these 1,300 entries have been updated, revised, and expanded to reflect the most recent scholarship. Organized in an A-Z format, the articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa.
Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism.
Africa, Fourth Edition
by Maria Grosz-Ngaté (Editor); John H. Hanson (Editor); Patrick O'Meara (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014-04-18
Since the publication of the first edition in 1977, Africa has established itself as a leading resource for teaching, business, and scholarship. This fourth edition has been completely revised and focuses on the dynamism and diversity of contemporary Africa. The volume emphasizes contemporary culture-civil and social issues, art, religion, and the political scene-and provides an overview of significant themes that bear on Africa's place in the world. Historically grounded, Africa provides a comprehensive view of the ways that African women and men have constructed their lives and engaged in collective activities at the local, national, and global levels.
Two volumes introduce the history of colonial wars in Africa and illustrate why African countries like the Democratic Republic of Congo, Nigeria, Somalia, and Sudan continue to experience ethnic, political, and religious violence in the early 21st century. * Begins with a helpful introduction and overview of the topic * Contains alphabetical entries on wars, campaigns, battles, leaders, and other topics related to European colonial conquest in Africa * Includes African rebellions against the early colonial states in the 1890s and early 1900s * Features entries written by scholars in the fields of history and politics * Covers all major regions of Africa as well as relevant European powers * Provides a list of additional sources for further reading
Dictionary of African Biography
by Henry Louis Gates (Editor); Emmanuel K. Akyeampong (Editor-In-Chief); Steven J. Niven
Publication Date: 2011-12-08
In the spirit of The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, American National Biography, and African American National Biography- -all three published by Oxford University Press - Dictionary of African Biography is a major biographical dictionary covering the lives and legacies of notableAfrican men and women from all eras and walks of life. This groundbreaking resource tells the full story of the African continent through the lives of its people.
Contains articles from over 100 news publications throughout Africa and from several hundred other sources, including governments, non-governmental organizations and other newsmakers, inside and outside of Africa. To access our subscription's advanced search features and access the news archive (1996+), run an initial search and then follow "AllAfrica's premium search engine" link.
The Los Angeles Times (1881-1986) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
The New York Times (1851-2011) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
The Washington Post (1877-1993) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Database containing outline, elevation, and reproducible maps of the world, individual regions, countries, U.S. states and Canadian provinces. Also provides statistical, historical, and political information along with references to related print and online resources.
1948 to current. International Monetary Fund. Detailed tabulations of international and domestic finance data by country. Time series data summarize each country's balance of payments, with collateral data on major financial components such as trade and reserves, and data on exchange rates, international liquidity, money and banking, international transactions, prices, production, government finance, and interest rates.
For access to OECD statistical databases, click on the STATISTICS tab at the top. Publications - monographs, periodicals, and statistical databases - issued by the Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD).
Derived from CAB Abstracts the database covers agricultural economics to farm economics, food industry and rural sociology from 1973 to the present. It includes policy and development, agrarian reform, employment, environmental and natural resources, biotechnology, input industries, markets, marketing, consumers, international trade, finance, education and extension, and the rural economy.