Do we own it?
- If the full-text of the article is not linked from the citation...follow the "Get It" icon
or search the library catalog by magazine/journal title. - Our library catalog has separate records for paper & online formats of journals
- Be sure to check the range of years ownedto see if we have the issue you need.
If We Don't Own It
or if our copy is checked out...
- BorrowDirect
Request books (only) from small, but strong, group of libraries (Ivies, plus Duke, Johns Hopkins, MIT, & U. Chicago) - Interlibrary LoanRequest articles, books, and other publications you need from a huge network of other libraries.
Dig Deeper - Discover Scholarly Books and Articles
- To find books (films, journal & newspaper subscriptions, databases) within Dartmouth's collection, start with our library catalog.
- Books can provide extensive background and contextualization of a topic that a short article simply can't address.
- Library catalog records are brief. Keep your searches simple, as there's not much to match against.
- Tracking down a specific book chapter or journal article? Search our catalog by title for the book or journal that contains the chapter or article.
- For items in Baker-Berry or Sherman Library, look for the blue "Map It" button
to see a floorplan where they are shelved. - To borrow the book, bring the book and your campus ID to the Baker-Berry Circulation Desk
- More searchable content means larger, less precise result sets
- You are at the mercy of whatever wording the author used. Be creative in search terminology variations
- Improve precision with quotation marks to force a phrase search. ["Emily Dickinson" is very different than Emily Dickinson]
- Too many results? Try limiting to recent years, and then trust those articles' bibliographies to point you to important earlier research.
- Still too many results? Try limiting your search to the document title field, or abstract field if available (check for advanced search options). This will eliminate some good results, but usually if the citation or abstract contains your search term, then the overall document is likely to be relevant.
- Dartmouth Library Search (home page search box)Broad search across our library catalog as well as many full-text article & e-book collections. Works best when you filter the results using the left-hand menu. For a quick filter, limit to "Show Only: Peer-reviewed content" (articles only). Or -- limit to "Format: Book Chapters" (or Books).
- ProQuest central This link opens in a new windowProquest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, ecology, and other fields of the sciences, humanities, and social sciences.
- Project MuseFull-text archive of selected scholarly books journals in the humanities and social sciences. Advanced search menu allows limiting to specific disciplines.
- ProQuest Ebook CentralNote that access rights vary from title to title. Some allow only one user at a time. Others allow unlimited access.
- Ebsco Ebook CollectionNote that access rights vary from title to title. Some allow only one user at a time. Others allow unlimited access.
These bibliographic database point you to scholarship in specific disciplines. Dartmouth doesn't own everything cited, but we can get copies from other libraries via Interlibrary Loan or BorrowDirect.
- America, history and life This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries with abstracts. The database content is drawn from over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. The coverage of America: History and Life also includes citations to book reviews from over 100 major journals of American history and culture and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.
- Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts and full-text from international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins from 1984 to the present. Areas covered include archaeology, architecture, art, film, humanities, marketing, motion pictures and photography. Ser Art Retrospective to find articles from 1929-1984.
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new windowARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
- Film & television literature index This link opens in a new windowCovers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Some full text is available.
- Literature Online (LION)Texts and criticism across vast spans of time and place.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive index of scholarship in literature, language, folklore, film, new media, and rhetoric and composition. Covers articles in periodicals, books, and book chapters. Does not index book reviews.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines from 1952 to the present.