Skip to main content

Resource Sharing: Finding Resources to Request

Research Resources

Contacts

Contacts

Borrow Direct
(603) 646-9307

Baker Berry DartDoc
(603) 646-2596

Biomedical Libraries DartDoc
(603) 646-8629

Finding Resources to Request

There are a number of tools available for locating research materials. Dartmouth's Research and Instruction Services can provide guidance on a range of subjects, and research guides available on the library website provide tips and guidance for various subjects and courses. Included below are some additional resources. From these tools there is often a link that allows you sign directly into DartDoc and will automatically fill in the request information. Look for a link with “Request,” “Get It,” “Use DartDoc” or similar language.

Useful Search Tools

LIBRARY CATALOG

If we own the book you want but it is checked out, you can login to DartDoc right from the library catalog to place a request for it. Click on the DartDoc icon on the right side menu.

SUMMON

Summon is a great place to start when looking for articles, reviews, books, and other materials. It can provide more detailed information, especially on journal articles and book chapters, than what can be found through the catalog. Much of what is found through Summon can be accessed through Dartmouth, either online or on campus. However, it also includes indexes and abstracts of materials that we do not own. You can request these items by clicking the request button at the bottom of a record.

BORROW DIRECT

Borrow Direct is a great place to start when searching for books or scores. By logging into Borrow Direct, you can search the catalogs of all the members of the Borrow Direct consortium and immediately see if an item is available or requestable. If you find an item that is not requestable through Borrow Direct, you can link right to DartDoc.

ONLINE DATABASES

Through the Dartmouth Libraries, you can search hundreds of databases for articles, conference papers, books, and other materials. The scope of the databases ranges from general collections to highly specialized subjects. You can browse and search through the catalog's Database Finder. Once you find a database to search, you can request materials using the "Get It" button that will appear below a citation not available through Dartmouth.

PROQUEST THESES & DISSERTATIONS

Many theses and dissertations are already accessible to the Dartmouth community through Proquest Dissertations & Theses. If you cannot access a thesis online, you can use the "Get It" button that appears to the right. This will prompt you to login to DartDoc.

WORLDCAT

WorldCat is a worldwide network of library content through which you can search for materials from libraries around the world. If you find material you are interested in, you can see which libraries (including Dartmouth) own it. You can also connect directly to DartDoc to request the item by clicking on the "DartDoc Interlibrary Loan" button found beneath the item's description.