Librarian
Wendel Cox
He/Him/His
Contact:
231 Baker
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
Debating Democracy
Your seminar examines the ideas and practices of American democracy at the moment of its emergence and considers such vital issues as expansions and contractions in voting rights; the role of public opinion; the place of minorities in majoritarian government; the tensions between American democracy and American slavery; and the contested debates over the citizenship of women and African Americans.
Scholarship: Leading Indexes
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive index of scholarship in literature, language, folklore, film, new media, and rhetoric and composition. Covers articles in periodicals, books, and book chapters. Does not index book reviews.
- ProQuest central This link opens in a new windowProquest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
- America, history and life This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- MagillOnLiterature plus This link opens in a new windowContains Masterplots (12 volumes), Masterplots II (61 volumes), Cyclopedia of World Authors (5 volumes), Cyclopedia of Literary Characters (5 volumes), Magill's Literary Annual 1990-2002 (26 volumes), Magill's Guide to Science Fiction and Fantasy Literature (4 volumes) and Magill Book Reviews. In addition, this database also includes Critical Surveys (53 volumes), Magill's Choice: Notable Poets (3 volumes), Magill's Choice: Shakespeare (1 volume), Magill's Choice: 100 Masters of Mystery and Detective Fiction (2 volumes) and World Philosophers and Their Works (3 volumes).
Scholarship: Full-Text Journal Archives
Full-text archives put a wealth of scholarship at your fingertips, but they differ in scope and content and are incomplete. Any substantial literature review should also use disciplinary indexes like those linked above.
- JSTORFull-text archive of select journals in the arts and sciences.
- Project MuseFull-text archive of select journals in the arts and sciences.
Primary Sources: Digital Collections
- C19, the nineteenth century index This link opens in a new windowC19 indexes publications of the Anglo-American World, 1790-1919. Collections expand with each release of the database. You may search the entire index and thus all the resources contained within it, or limit your search to one of the individual resources included in the database.
- Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1543-1945 This link opens in a new windowCollection of books, periodicals and pamphlets on women's issues, begun by Aletta Jacobs Gerritsen in the late 1800's. Includes over 4,000 titles, primarily in English, French and German, with coverage back to the 16th century.
- Slavery & Anti-Slavery: a Transnational Archive This link opens in a new windowBroad archival collection of books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, manuscripts, and maps documenting the history of the slave trade in the Americas and beyond, from the 17th through the 19th century.
Archival collections were sourced from more than 60 libraries including the U.S. National Archives, Library of Congress, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Yale University, British Library, British National Archives, and Oxford University.
Primary Sources: Digital Collections: ProQuest Congressional Universe
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowIndexes information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1789 to the present. Includes full text of Congressional hearings, 1824- ; full text of Committee Prints, 1830-2003; and full text of the Serial Set Collection with Maps, 1789-1969. For a complete description of contents, coverage, and update frequency, consult the online Help section.
Primary Sources: Digitized Newspapers and Periodicals
- American periodicals series online, 1740-1900 This link opens in a new windowOver one thousand periodicals across 150 years.
- 17th-18th century Burney Collection newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817)--the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. More than twelve hundred titles and almost one million pages are included.
- America's historical newspapers: including Early American Newspapers Series 1- 9, 1690-1922, and Series 12 + 13, 1821-1916 This link opens in a new windowSeries 1-7 offers more than 300 significant 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers from all 50 present states. Early American Newspapers Series 8, 9, 12, and 13 added in 2016 provide full publication text coverage of selected American newspapers from the 18th, 19th and 20th Centuries. These three module contain content from over 300 individual newspaper titles from all fifty states and the District of Columbia. (Updated annually)
- Chronicling AmericaDigitized American newspapers, 1789-1949, from states participating in the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
- Newspaper Digitization Projects: ICONThe International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON) list of open-access and fee-for-service digitization projects.
Primary Sources: Collections in North American and European Depositories
There are many ways to identify archives with sources suitable for your research project, but savvy researchers use novel tools to search across archives for relevant sources -- especially those in unexpected places.
Tools like ArchiveGrid, Archive Web, and Archives Portal Europe facilitate access to collections at hundreds and even thousands of different institutions. You may not find digitized content, but you will learn which institutions hold unique resources of interest.
- ArchiveGrid (US and Canada)Search more than four million collections at depositories principally in the United States and Canada. Invaluable for identifying collections in unexpected places. See your liaison librarian for help with this and other archival search tools.
- The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)The principal federal archive for the United States. See your liaison librarian for additional assistance with this and other archives.
- The National Archives (United Kingdom)The United Kingdom's principal public archive. Digitized content, research guides, and finding aids.
- Library and Archives CanadaThe principal federal Canadian archive. In English and French.
- National Archives of FranceThe archive of the French state, accessible in French, English, and Spanish.
Cite and Manage Sources
- Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of Style, 17th EditionA handy reference for answers to frequent questions.