Librarian
Wendel Cox
He/Him/His
Contact:
231 Baker
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
Joan of Arc
Scholarship: Leading Indexes
- Iter: gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowIter is "a bibliographic database of interdisciplinary journal literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700)" including more than 300 journal titles with searching capabilities, additional bibliographies, and links to other sites.
- International medieval bibliography-online This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Citations classified by date, subject and location.
- Regesta Imperii (OPAC)Open, freely accessible literature database for Medieval History. Regesta Imperii means "The records of the Empire" - Empire here being the empire of knowledge. Covers books, articles, and book chapters.
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. It offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, astronomy, biology, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion, women's studies, and other fields.
- ProQuest central This link opens in a new windowProquest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
- Christian Periodical Index This link opens in a new windowChristian Periodical Index provides indexing for evangelical Christian journals providing both articles and review indexing.
Scholarship: Full-Text Journal Archives
Full-text archives put a wealth of scholarship at your fingertips, but they differ in scope and content and are incomplete. Any substantial literature review should also use disciplinary indexes like those linked above.
- JSTORFull-text archive of select journals in the arts and sciences.
- Project MuseFull-text archive of select journals in the arts and sciences.
- CAIRN: French-Language News and ScholarshipFrench-language news and scholarship in translation (International Edition) and in its original form with much greater volume in the French Edition.
Online Sources
- Oxford BibliographiesLarissa Taylor's entry on Joan of Arc.
- The International Joan of Arc SocietyA bibliography section that lists all of the basic sources and a whole series of other productive links. Infrequently updated.
Primary Sources: Collections in North American and European Depositories
There are many ways to identify archives with sources suitable for your research project, but savvy researchers use novel tools to search across archives for relevant sources -- especially those in unexpected places.
Tools like Archives Hub and ArchiveGrid facilitate access to collections at hundreds and even thousands of different institutions. You may not find digitized content, but you will learn which institutions hold unique resources of interest.
- Archives Hub (UK)"Use the Archives Hub to find unique sources for your research. Search across descriptions of archives, including links to digital content, held at over 300 institutions across the UK."
- AIM25"AIM25 is a free-to-use database of archives and manuscript collections from many of London's higher education institutions, learned societies, cultural organisations and City livery companies."
- ArchiveGrid (US and Canada)Search more than four million collections at depositories principally in the United States and Canada. Invaluable for identifying collections in unexpected places. See your liaison librarian for help with this and other archival search tools.
- The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)The principal federal archive for the United States. See your liaison librarian for additional assistance with this and other archives.
- The National Archives (United Kingdom)The United Kingdom's principal public archive. Digitized content, research guides, and finding aids.
- Library and Archives CanadaThe principal federal Canadian archive. In English and French.
- National Archives of FranceThe archive of the French state, accessible in French, English, and Spanish.
Cite and Manage Sources
- Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of Style, 17th EditionA handy reference for answers to frequent questions.