Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, with bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities. Scopus has 55 million records dating back to 1823, 84% of these contain references dating from 1996.
EnergyWire is designed to bring readers coverage on the business and political issues surrounding the rapidly expanding unconventional energy industry in the United States and around the world. Sign up for the daily newsletter to receive the latest headlines.
Covers renewables, carbon emissions and trading, hydrogen and fuel cells, coal to gas, gas to liquids, biomass to liquids and nuclear industries. 25,000+ power plants, 16,000+ companies, and hundreds of research reports.
This book reviews alternative and renewable energy resources in order to pave the way for a more sustainable production in the future. A multi-disciplinary team of authors provides a comprehensive overview of current technologies and future trends, including solar technologies, wind energy, hydro-power, microbial electro-chemical systems and various biomass sources for biofuel production. ...
Advances in Sustainable Energy by Yong-jun Gao (Editor); Weixin Song (Editor); Jingbo Louise Liu (Editor); Sajid Bashir (Editor)
Publication Date: 2021
This books provides a comprehensive platform to the scientific, education and research communities working on various fields related to sustainable energy. It covers the exploration, generation and application of this area to meet societal needs as well as addressing global issues related to the environment. The content of this book presents research related to energy and how to tackle climate change as a comprehensive framework based on the success of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs). The authors use the scientific method to analyze and deliver viable technical solutions, demonstrating how chemistry and engineering can be combined to solve technically challenging problems. While maintaining high scientific rigor, a quantitative approach is offered in select chapters to the study of energy related to our societies increasing need for electrical and chemical energy feedstocks.
Shaping an Inclusive Energy Transition by Margot P. C. Weijnen (Editor); Zofia Lukszo (Editor); Samira Farahani (Editor)
Publication Date: 2021
This open access book makes a case for a socially inclusive energy transition and illustrates how engineering and public policy professionals can contribute to shaping an inclusive energy transition, building on a socio-technical systems engineering approach. Accomplishing a net-zero greenhouse gas emissions economy in 2050 is a daunting challenge. This book explores the challenges of the energy transition from the perspectives of technological innovation, public policy, social values and ethics. It elaborates on two particular gaps in the design of public policy interventions focused on decarbonization of the energy system and discusses how both could be remedied. First, the siloed organization of public administration fails to account for the many interdependencies between the energy sector, the mobility system, digital infrastructure and the built environment. Cross-sector coordination of policies and policy instruments is needed to avoid potentially adverse effects upon society and the economy, which may hamper the energy transition rather than accelerate it. Second, energy and climate policies pay insufficient attention to the social values at stake in the energy transition. In addressing these gaps, this book intends to inspire decision makers engaged in the energy transition to embrace the transition as an opportunity to bring a more inclusive society into being.
Green Energy by Sanjeevikumar Padmanaban (Editor); Suman Lata Tripathi (Editor)
Publication Date: 2021
Like most industries around the world, the energy industry has also made, and continues to make, a long march toward "green" energy. The science has come a long way since the 1970s, and renewable energy and other green technologies are becoming more and more common, replacing fossil fuels. It is, however, still a struggle, both in terms of energy sources keeping up with demand, and the development of useful technologies in this area. To maintain the supply for electrical energy, researchers, engineers and other professionals in industry are continuously exploring new eco-friendly energy technologies and power electronics, such as solar, wind, tidal, wave, bioenergy, and fuel cells. These technologies have changed the concepts of thermal, hydro and nuclear energy resources by the adaption of power electronics advancement and revolutionary development in lower manufacturing cost for semiconductors with long time reliability. The latest developments in renewable resources have proved their potential to boost the economy of any country. Green energy technology has not only proved the concept of clean energy but also reduces the dependencies on fossil fuel for electricity generation through smart power electronics integration. Also, endless resources have more potential to cope with the requirements of smart building and smart city concepts. A valuable reference for engineers, scientists, chemists, and students, this volume is applicable to many different fields, across many different industries, at all levels. It is a must-have for any library.
Renewable-Energy-Driven Future by Jingzheng Ren (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020
In order to promote the sustainable development of renewable energy and renewable-energy-driven technologies, Renewable-Energy-Driven Future: Technologies, Modelling, Applications, Sustainability and Policies provides a comprehensive view of the advanced renewable technologies and the benefits of utilizing renewable energy sources. Discussing the ways for promoting the sustainable development of renewable energy from the perspectives of technology, modelling, application, sustainability and policy, this book includes the advanced renewable-energy-driven technologies, the models for renewable energy planning and integration, the innovative applications of renewable energy sources, decision-support tools for sustainability assessment and ranking of renewable energy systems, and the regulations and policies of renewable energy. This book can benefit the researchers and experts of renewable energy by helping them to have a holistic view of renewable energy. It can also benefit the policymakers and decision-makers by helping them to make informed decisions.
Reinventing the Energy Value Chain by David Steven Jacoby; Alok Raj Gupta
Publication Date: 2021
As the push for diversification of energy sources continues, this book provides a toolbox of techniques to enhance top-line as well as bottom-line results by successfully managing capital projects and operations & maintenance trade-offs across the value chain. Built on the foundations laid in Jacoby's previous books Optimal Supply Chain Management in Oil, Gas, and Power Generation and Guide to Supply Chain Management, it offers groundbreaking new ways to tap the power of supply chain management in conventional and emerging energy industries - from the small to the large project, and from solar to nuclear and everything in between.The organization of the book makes it a handy reference resource. It starts with a conceptual framework for value chain and supply chain management in the energy sector, laying out objectives, key business processes, and performance metrics that provide useful guideposts. It offers principles that should guide investments in the energy industry and explains how to organize the supply chain to maximize their results. Chapters on capital project and operations management explain tools and techniques that are relevant to energy value chains broadly speaking. Technology-specific chapters show how these concepts apply to ten energy domains: Hydrogen & Fuel Cells, Energy Storage, Wind, Solar, Biomass, Oil & Gas, Geothermal, Gas and Coal-Fired Power, Hydropower, Nuclear
Energy Impacts by Jeffrey B. Jacquet (Editor); Julia H. Haggerty (Editor); Gene L. Theodori (Editor)
Publication Date: 2021
Development of various energy sources continues across North America and around the world, raising questions about social and economic consequences for the places and communities where these activities occur. Energy Impacts brings together important new research on site-level social, economic, and behavioral impacts from large-scale energy development. Featuring conceptual and empirical multidisciplinary research from leading social scientists, the volume collects a broad range of perspectives to understand North America's current energy uses and future energy needs. Twelve chapters from respected scholars in a variety of disciplines present new ways to consider and analyze energy impact research. Focused on varied energy topics, geographies, and disciplines, each chapter includes a policy brief that summarizes the work and provides "key takeaways" to apply the findings to policy and public discourse. Meaningful public engagement is critical in limiting the negative implications of energy development, and understanding the social influences on and of energy systems is a cornerstone of addressing the climate crisis. As such, Energy Impacts is a significant work for students, scholars, and professionals working in sociology, education, geography, environmental studies, and public health. This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. 1528422. Publication is also supported, in part, by Montana State University. Contributors: Ali Adil, Lisa Bailey-Davis, Nancy Bowen-Elizey, Morey Burnham, Weston Eaton, Heather Feldhaus, Felix Fernando, Emily Grubert, C. Clare Hinrichs, John Hintz, Richard Hirsh, Season Hoard, Tamara Laninga, Eric Larson, Achla Marathe, Natalie Martinkus, Seven Mattes, Ronald Meyers, Patrick Miller, Ethan Minier, Myra Moss, Jacob Mowery, Thomas Murphy, Sevda Ozturk Sari, John Parkins, Christopher Podeschi, Nathan Ratledge, Sanne Rijkhoff, Kelli Roemer, Todd Schenk, Anju Seth, Kate Sherren, Jisoo Sim, Marc Stern, Jessica Ulrich-Schad, Cameron Whitley, Laura Zachary
Power Shift by Peter Newell
Publication Date: 2021
Energy transitions are fundamental to achieving a zero-carbon economy. This book explains the urgently needed transition in energy systems from the perspective of the global political economy. It develops an historical, global, political and ecological account of key features of energy transitions: from their production and financing, to how they are governed and mobilised. Informed by direct engagement in projects of energy transition, the book provides an accessible account of the real-world dilemmas in accelerating transitions to a low carbon economy. As well as changes to technology, markets, institutions and behaviours, Power Shift shows that shifts in power relations between and within countries, and across social groups and political actors, are required if the world is to move onto a more sustainable path. Using contemporary and historical case studies to explore energy transitions, it will be of interest to students and researchers across disciplines, policymakers and activists.
The Changing Energy Mix by Paul Meier
Publication Date: 2020
Energy comes in many shapes and forms, from wind, solar power, geothermal, and biomass to coal, natural gas, and petroleum. The energy we consume is constantly changing, but the use of these resources-whether renewable or nonrenewable-has long-term impacts on our planet. While there has been this recent shift to renewable energy within the United States, the worldwide demand for all energy types continues to increase at a rapid rate. In fact, it has increased by 84% over the past twenty years. Despite their dwindling supply, these resources are still heavily relied on today. Coal still accounts for 30% of the electricity generated by the United States, even though natural gas is now the primary energy used to produce electricity. Likewise, only 7% of electricity usage worldwide is linked to solar and wind energy. In The Changing Energy Mix, Paul F. Meier compares twelve renewable and nonrenewable energy types using twelve common technical criteria. These criteria span projected reserves, cost to the consumer and supplier, energy balances, environmental issues, land area required, and lasting impacts. While explaining the pros and cons of these resources, Meier takes readers through the history of energy in the United States and world. He provides insight into energy sources, such as wind-powered and solar-powered electricity (which did not exist until the mid and late 80s, respectively), and he explains the constantly evolving world of energy. Breaking down the potential promises and struggles of transitioning to a more renewable energy-based economy, Meier explains the positive and negative implications of these various sources of energy. The resulting book equips readers with a unique understanding of the history, availability, technology, implementation cost, and concerns of renewable and nonrenewable energy.