Subject Librarian
Other library resource(s)
Environmental science from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199363445Environmental Science arose from disparate disciplines as a distinct field in the last half of the 20th century. Initially fueled by awareness of environmental degradation, risk of species loss, and global climate change, it straddles the divisions and seeks to integrate synergies between them in research and application. This includes but is not limited to the physical sciences, the planning and social sciences, the health sciences, engineering, governance, policy, and more. Here, environmental physics, chemistry, and biology; risk analysis and public health; ecosystem governance, management, and planning; social and legal issues toward sustainability; and environmental engineering all come into play. ...- Key figures: North American environmental scientist activists from Oxford Bibliographies Online - ENVS by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199363445Environmental scientist activist is not an established phrase. Here it designates individuals who begin their careers as professional scientists and become concerned about the loss of natural ecosystems or species, or environmental degradation and associated health effects. This concern gives rise to activism on behalf of environmental protection and enhancing public awareness of environmental issues. For some, activism takes the form of writing for a popular audience. ...
Course description for Introduction to Environmental Science
To understand current environmental problems, we need to study the physical, biological, chemical and social processes that are often the basis of those problems. This course will give the skills necessary to ask intelligent questions about - and perhaps obtain answers to - some of the environmental problems our planet is facing today by examining scientific principles and the application of those principles to environmental issues. This course will survey a variety of topics including pollution, biodiversity, energy use, recycling, land degradation, and human population dynamics. It is designed to introduce environmental science and environmental issues, topics which are explored in greater depth in other Environmental Studies courses.
[Source: Registrar, 05/06/2022], DISTR: SCI
In the Library's Collections
Here are some useful subject headings for searching the online catalog. Clicking on any of these headings will lead you to resources on that subject.
Introductory reading(s)
Environmental science: a global concern by Call Number: Baker-Berry GE 105 .C86 2015ISBN: 9780073532547Publication Date: 13th ed.Environmental Science: A Global Concern is a comprehensive presentation of environmental science for non-science majors which emphasizes critical thinking, environmental responsibility, and global awareness. ...
Environment and society: a critical introduction by Call Number: Baker-Berry GE 105 .R63 2022ISBN: 9781119408239Publication Date: 3rd ed.Environment and Society: A Critical Introduction, Third Edition demonstrates how theoretical approaches such as environmental ethics, political economy, and social construction work as conceptual tools to identify and clarify contemporary environmental issues. ...
Essentials of environmental science by Call Number: Baker-Berry GE 105 .F755 2016ISBN: 9781319065669Publication Date: 2nd ed.Essentials of Environmental Science is ideal for a one-semester course. It takes the same non-biased approach as its parent text, teaching students to think critically about data presented. In addition to being briefer, Essentials is even more accessible placing less emphasize on math calculations. The coverage of ecology, agriculture, energy, and water has also been streamlined to provide a more focused treatment of the science concepts.
Selected book title(s)
Environmental changes: the futures of nature by Call Number: Baker-Berry GE 140 .G73 2016ISBN: 9781785480263This book addresses environmental changes and how they reconfigure society's relationship to the future. It argues that Man does not build "his" future alone: instead, environmental changes are also proof of the future-making capacity of non-human beings. ...
The environmental humanities: a critical introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780262036764A concise overview of this multidisciplinary field, presenting key concepts, central issues, and current research, along with concrete examples and case studies. The emergence of the environmental humanities as an academic discipline early in the twenty-first century reflects the growing conviction that environmental problems cannot be solved by science and technology alone. ...
Still only one Earth: progress in the 40 years since the first UN Conference on the Environment by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781782620761Forty years since the first UN Conference on the Human Environment was held in Stockholm, how has the situation changed? We still have only one Earth but are we caring for and maintaining it? This book, written by leaders in the field, discusses the key environmental issues affecting the Earth today. Aimed at policy makers, students, environmental scientists and thinkers, it is an important review bringing the reader right up to date with current opinions.
Finding articles and journal titles
Our collection includes many journals which look at environmental science. You have several options to find journal literature. You can use one of the article indexes listed below or the search box at the top of the page.
AIMS environmental scienceCall Number: Electronic journalAIMS Environmental Science is an international Open Access journal devoted to publishing peer-reviewed, high quality, original papers in the field of Environmental science.
Gale in context: Environmental studies by Call Number: Electronic resourceFrom climate change to automobile emissions, today’s environmental issues determine the destiny of tomorrow’s world. Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides users with comprehensive information on topics that affect people around the world. You can explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more. This resource
Integrates case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more on over 400 topics.
Environmental science index by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis resource provides in-depth A&I coverage from the environmental science literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types.
GreenFILECall Number: Electronic resourceGreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Environmental Science journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Environmental Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.