Subject Librarian
Other library resource(s)
Legacy effects from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Ecology by Call Number: Electronic resourceLegacy effects are environmental changes resulting from antecedent human disturbances. The disturbance may be a result of changes in land use and land cover, fire regime, water diversions, introductions of chemicals or isotopes, other disruptions in natural systems, or combinations of these changes. Literally, “legacy” refers to an inherited condition. ...
Postcolonialism from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002In the colonial period imperialism advanced in uneven ways across time and space globally. European exploration in the late 15th century first brought destructive, exploitative, and deadly changes to what became known as the Americas. The subjugation and elimination of Indigenous groups, which commenced during this period, created the conditions for accumulation by dispossession, enslavement (of both Indigenous groups and people stolen from Africa), plantation-style production systems, and the extraction of resources—the legacies of which still mark political, social, economic, and environmental landscapes today. ...
Keeping up with Environmental Science journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Environmental Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.
Course description for Colonialism, Development and the Environment in Africa and Asia
This course examines the environmental history of Africa and Asia, focusing on the period of European colonialism and its aftermath. Topics include deforestation and desertification under colonial rule; imperialism and conservation; the consequences of environmental change for rural Africans and Asians; irrigation, big dams and transformations in water landscapes; the development of national parks and their impact on wildlife and humans; the environmentalism of the poor; urbanization and pollution; and global climate change in Africa and Asia.
[Source: Registrar, ENVS, 2021]
In the library's collections
The following are some useful subject headings to search the online catalog.
- africa environmental conditionsSubstitute a country name for Africa to find more specific resources.
- environmental policy asiaSubstitute a country name for Asia to find more specific resources.
Introductory reading(s)
African landscapes: interdisciplinary approaches by Call Number: Baker-Berry GF 701 .A37 2009ISBN: 9780387786810Landscape studies provide a crucial perspective into the interaction between humans and their environment, shedding insight on social, cultural, and economic topics. The research explores both the way that natural processes have affected the development of culture and society, as well as the ways that natural landscapes themselves are the product of historical and cultural processes. Most previous studies of the landscape selectively focused on either the natural sciences or the social sciences, but the research presented in African Landscapes bridges that gap. ...
Cultivating the colonies: colonial states and their environmental legacies by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780896802827The essays in Cultivating the Colonies demonstrate how the relationship between colonial power and nature reveals the nature of power. Each essay explores how colonial governments translated ideas about the management of exotic nature and foreign people into practice, and how they literally "got their hands dirty" in the business of empire. ...
A dictionary of environmental history by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781845114626A Dictionary of Environmental History provides in a single volume a comprehensive reference work covering the past 12,000 years of the Earth's environmental history. An introduction to the discipline is followed by almost 1,000 entries covering key terminology, events, places, dates, topics, as well as the major personalities in the history of the discipline. Entries range from shorter factual accounts to substantial mini-essays on key topics and issues. ...
Economic development and environmental history in the Anthropocene: perspectives on Asia and Africa by Call Number: Baker-Berry HC 412 .E2162 2017ISBN: 9781474267496For the populations of the developing economies - the vast majority of humanity - the present century offers the prospect of emulating Western standards of living. This hope is combined with increasing awareness of the environmental consequences of the very process of global industrialisation itself. This book explores the interactions between economic development and the physical environment in four regions of the developing world: Sub-Saharan Africa, South Asia, Southeast Asia and East Asia. ...
Postcolonial studies: the key concepts by Call Number: Baker-Berry JV 22 .A84 2013ISBN: 9780415661911Publication Date: 3rd ed.This hugely popular guide provides a comprehensive overview of the issues which characterize post-colonialism: explaining what it is, where it is encountered and the crucial part it plays in debates about race, gender, politics, language and identity. ...
The postcolonial studies dictionary by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 56 .P555 N38 2015ISBN: 9781118781043This new Dictionary features a thoughtfully collated collection of over 150 jargon-free definitions of key terms and concepts in postcolonial theory. Features a brief introduction to postcolonial theory and a list of suggested further reading that includes the texts in which many of these terms originated. ...
Selected book title(s)
"Wilderness into civilized shapes": reading the postcolonial environment by Call Number: Baker-Berry PR 9084 .W75 2010ISBN: 9780820333960This study examines how postcolonial landscapes and environmental issues are represented in fiction. Wright creates a provocative discourse in which the fields of postcolonial theory and ecocriticism are brought together. ...
Colonialism, environment and tribals in South India, 1792-1947 by Call Number: Baker-Berry DS 463 .S27 2017ISBN: 9781138697515This book offers a bird's eye view of the economic and environmental history of the Indian peninsula during colonial era. It analyses the nature of colonial land revenue policy, commercialisation of forest resources, consequences of coffee plantations, intrusion into tribal private forests and tribal-controlled geographical regions, and disintegration of their socio-cultural, political, administrative and judicial systems during the British Raj. It explores the economic history of the region through regional and 'non-market' economies and addresses the issues concerning local communities. ...
Empire and catastrophe: decolonization and environmental disaster in North Africa and Mediterranean France since 1954 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781496219633Empire and Catastrophe examines natural and anthropogenic disasters during the years of decolonization in Algeria, Morocco, and France and explores how environmental catastrophes both shaped and were shaped by struggles over the dissolution of France's empire in North Africa. ...
Postcolonial geographies by Call Number: Baker-Berry G 70 .P687 2002ISBN: 9780826460820Postcolonialism and geography are intimately linked through the spatiality of colonial discourse as well as the material effects of colonialism and decolonization. Geographical ideas about space, place, landscape, and location have helped to articulate different experiences of colonialism both in the past and present and the "here" and "there." At the same time, while spatial images such as mobility, margins and exile abound in postcolonial writings, more material geographies have often been overlooked. Postcolonial Geographies presents the first sustained geographical analysis of postcolonialism. ...
Postcolonial green: environmental politics & world narratives by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780813930015Postcolonial Green brings together scholarship bridging ecocriticism and postcolonialism. Since its inception, ecocriticism has been accused of being inattentive to the complexities that colonialism poses for ideas of nature and environmentalism. Postcolonial discourse, on the other hand, has been so immersed in theoretical questions of nationalism and identity that it has been seen as ignoring environmental or ecological concerns. This collection demonstrates that ecocriticism and postcolonialism must be understood as parallel projects if not facets of the very same project--a struggle for global justice and sustainability. ...
Postcolonial studies and beyond by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780822386650An interdisciplinary collection of essays designed to map out a wide-ranging and productive future for postcolonial studies, this volume assesses the current state of the field and points toward its most promising new developments. In addressing questions about the definition and relevance of postcolonial scholarship, many of the essays consider its relation to the study of globalization. ...
Resurrecting the granary of Rome: environmental history and French colonial expansion in North Africa by Call Number: Baker-Berry GF 702 .D38 2007ISBN: 9780821417515Tales of deforestation and desertification in North Africa have been told from the Roman period to the present. Such stories of environmental decline in the Maghreb are still recounted by experts and are widely accepted without question today. International organizations such as the United Nations frequently invoke these inaccurate stories to justify environmental conservation and development projects in the arid and semiarid lands in North Africa and around the Mediterranean basin. Recent research in arid lands ecology and new paleoecological evidence, however, do not support many claims of deforestation, overgrazing, and desertification in this region. Pioneering analysis reveals the critical influence of French scientists and administrators who established much of the purported scientific basis of these stories during the colonial period in Algeria, Morocco, and Tunisia, illustrating the key role of environmental narratives in imperial expansion. ...
Finding scholarly journal articles and titles
Articles and other writings about environmental conditions for Asia and Africa can be found in many publications. You can use a variety of indexes to find articles or the search box at the top of the page.
Historical abstractsCall Number: Electronic resourceHistorical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
Environmental science index by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis resource provides in-depth A&I coverage from the environmental science literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types.
GreenFILECall Number: Electronic resourceGreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
