Subject Librarian
Other library resource(s)
Annual review of environment and resourcesCall Number: Electronic resourceThe Annual Review of Environment and Resources provides authoritative reviews of significant topics within environmental science and engineering, including ecology and conservation science, water and energy resources, atmosphere, oceans, climate change, agriculture and living resources, and human dimensions of resource use and global change.
Anthropocene by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #22139A Working Group of international scientists is deciding whether to declare a new geological epoch - the Anthropocene - a planet shaped more by mankind than nature. Its members tell the story of the Anthropocene and argue whether it's a tragedy, a comedy, or something more surreal. ...- CIESIN: Center for International Earth Science Information NetworkCall Number: Electronic resourceCIESIN is a non-profit, non-governmental agency that provides access to datasets on all aspects of earth and environmental sciences, including social issues. SEDAC is one of the datasets. ...
Economics of international environmental agreements from Oxford Bibliographies Online - ENVS by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199363445International Environmental Agreements (IEAs) respond to transnational environmental problems associated with the use of environmental resources such as, for example, water resources in international river basins, transboundary oil and gas fields, fisheries in international waters or harvesting of migratory fish, and also transboundary pollution of water and air. ...- The European Union and environmental policy from Oxford Bibliographies Online - ENVS by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199363445Although manifestly not a state, the European Union (EU) has evolved from its origins as a trade-based economic organization to become a supra-national political body that regulates across multiple policy sectors in a state-like manner. Nowhere is this regulatory influence more pronounced than in relation to the environment, where the EU now effectively determines the national policy of its member states in areas as diverse as air quality, water pollution, habitat protection, and genetically modified organisms. ...
Social ExplorerCall Number: Electronic resourceTheir objective is to help you visually analyze and understand the demography of the U.S. through the use of interactive maps and data reports. You can map all types of demographic data including immigration.
There once was an island by Call Number: Streaming videoThree people on a unique Pacific Island face the devastating effects of climate change. As an enormous flood threatens to engulf their paradise, who will decide to flee and leave their culture behind forever? And who will stay, hoping only that God will save them from the ever-rising sea? ...
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Course description for Global Environmental Politics
This course will examine the global politics associated with environmental issues such as desertification, wildlife management, biodiversity conservation, oceans and fisheries, shared water resources, and climate change. Specifically, we will engage these topics using theories from international relations and comparative politics. A major goal of the course is to give students a firm understanding of the linkages between the policy preferences of governments and the outcomes of international negotiations regarding the global environment.
In the Library's Collections
Here are some useful search strategies for use in our new discovery system.
- global environmental politicsThis is a keyword search in the online catalog.
- environmental protection international cooperation
- environmental policy interational cooperation
- security, international environmental aspects
- "international relations" AND "environmental policy"This is a keyword combining 2 subject headings.
Introductory reading(s)
Encyclopedia of global change: environmental change and human society by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780195108255Mapping the relationship between human society and the Earth, the Encyclopedia of Global Change is the first general reference guide to the impact of politics, population, economics, and technology on the planet. ...
The environment and international relations by ISBN: 9781107671713This new edition introduces students to the ways in which the theories and tools of international relations and other social science disciplines can be used to analyse and address global environmental problems. Kate O'Neill develops an innovative historical and analytical framework for understanding global environmental issues, integrating insights from different disciplines, and she identifies the main actors and their roles, thereby encouraging readers to engage with the issues and equip themselves with the knowledge they need to apply their own critical insights. ...
Global environmental politics by Call Number: Baker-Berry GE 170 .C46 2021ISBN: 9780367227623Publication Date: 8th ed.Global Environmental Politics has provided an accurate, up-to-date, and unbiased understanding of the world's most pressing environmental issues for thirty years. The eighth edition continues this practice by covering critical new developments in global environmental politics and policy-making. Updated case studies on key issues such as on climate change, endangered species, ozone depletion, desertification, whaling, hazardous wastes, toxic chemicals, and biodiversity detail the ongoing development of major environmental treaty regimes, and new case studies on mercury and marine biodiversity showcase the challenges of creating new treaties during a period of significant global change. ...
Global environmental politics: from person to planet by Call Number: In processing - Ask at the Baker Circulation deskISBN: 9781612056494Today's students want to understand not only the causes and character of global environmental problems like climate change, species extinction, and freshwater scarcity, but also what to do about them. This book offers the most comprehensive, fair-minded, accessible, and forward-looking text for introducing students to the challenge of global environmental protection. Drawing on a diverse range of voices, the book sequentially explains our current predicament, examines what is being done to respond at a variety of levels from the international to the local, and outlines different, relevant strategic choices for genuine political engagement. ...
The great acceleration : an environmental history of the anthropocene since 1945 by Call Number: Baker-Berry GF 75 .M39 2014ISBN: 9780674545038The Earth has entered a new age--the Anthropocene--in which humans are the most powerful influence on global ecology. Since the mid-twentieth century, the accelerating pace of energy use, greenhouse gas emissions, and population growth has thrust the planet into a massive uncontrolled experiment. The Great Acceleration explains its causes and consequences, highlighting the role of energy systems, as well as trends in climate change, urbanization, and environmentalism. More than any other factor, human dependence on fossil fuels inaugurated the Anthropocene. ...
Great powers, climate change, and global environmental responsibilities by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780198866022This book is the first of its kind to examine the role of great powers in the international politics of climate change. It develops a novel analytical framework for studying environmental power in international relations, what counts as a great power in the environmental field, and what their special environmental responsibilities are. In doing so, the book connects International Relations (IR) debates on power inequality, great powers and great power management,with global environmental politics (GEP) scholarship. ...
Green planet blues: critical perspectives on global environmental politics by Call Number: Baker-Berry HC 79 .E5 G6916 2015ISBN: 9780813349527This unique anthology examines global environmental politics from a range of perspectives (contemporary and classic, activist and scholarly) and reflects voices of the powerless and powerful. Paradigms of sustainability, environmental security, and ecological justice illustrate the many ways environmental problems and their solutions are framed in contemporary international debates about climate, water, forests, toxics, energy, food, biodiversity, and other environmental challenges of the twenty-first century. ...
The politics of the environment : ideas, activism, policy by Call Number: Baker-Berry JA 75.8 .C38 2018ISBN: 9781108459242Environmental problems are firmly on the political agenda. The stark threat to the planet from climate change, biodiversity loss and pollution can no longer be ignored by governments, political parties, businesses or individuals. The Politics of the Environment analyses the relationship between 'green ideas' and other political doctrines, the development of green parties and public policymaking, and environmental issues at international, national and local levels. ...
The Wiley-Blackwell encyclopedia of globalization by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781405188241This five-volume Encyclopedia contains over 600 entries on the essential topics of Globalization and is the definitive reference resource for students, researchers and academics in the field.
Selected book titles
Ecologists and environmental politics: a history of contemporary ecology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781943665648Ecologists, like other scientists, have for decades debated their role in society. While some have argued that ecologists should participate in environmental politics, others have focused their attention strictly on scientific issues. In Ecologists and Environmental Politics Stephen Bocking explores this debate by recounting the history of ecology in Great Britain, the United States, and Canada since the 1940s. Bocking tells this history through four case studies. By comparing these case studies, Bocking demonstrates how the places of contemporary science--laboratories, landscapes, and funding agencies--and science's purposes, as expressed through the political roles of expertise and specific managerial and regulatory responsibilities, have shaped contemporary ecology and its application to pressing environmental problems.
Environment, political representation and the challenge of rights : speaking for nature by Call Number: Baker-Berry GE 42 .T36 2016ISBN: 9781137538949Tanasescu examines the rights of nature in terms of its constituent parts. Besides offering a thorough theoretical grounding, the book gives a first detailed overview of the actual cases of rights for nature so far. This is the first comprehensive treatment of the rights of nature to date, both analytically and in terms of actual cases.
An environmental history of Latin America by Call Number: Baker-Berry GF 514 .M55 2007ISBN: 9780521612982A narration of the mutually mortal historical contest between humans and nature in Latin America. Covering a period that begins with Amerindian civilizations and concludes in the region's present urban agglomerations, the work offers an original synthesis of the scholarship on Latin America's environmental history and argues that tropical nature played a central role in shaping the region's historical development. Human attitudes, populations, and appetites, from Aztec cannibalism to more contemporary forms of conspicuous consumption, figure prominently in the story. However, characters such as hookworms, whales, hurricanes, bananas, dirt, butterflies, guano, and fungi make more than cameo appearances. ...
Environmental security by Call Number: Baker-Berry GE 170 .D35 2002ISBN: 9780816640263Since the end of the Cold War, environmental matters -- especially the international implications of environmental degradation -- have figured prominently in debates about rethinking security. But do the assumptions underlying such discussions hold up under close scrutiny? In this first treatment of environmental security from a truly critical perspective, Simon Dalby shows how attempts to explain contemporary insecurity falter over unexamined notions of both environment and security. ...
Media and transnational climate justice : indigenous activism and climate politics by Call Number: Baker-Berry GF 50 .R66 2018ISBN: 9781433134883Media and Transnational Climate Justice captures the intriguing nexus of globalization, crisis, justice, activism and news communication, at a time when radical measures are increasingly demanded to address one of the most pressing global issues: climate change. Anna Roosvall and Matthew Tegelberg take a unique approach to climate justice by focusing on transnational rather than international aspects, thereby contributing to the development of theories of justice for a global age, as well as in relation to media studies. ...
Finding Articles about global environmental politics
Our collection includes many journal titles on the environment. I've listed a couple of journal titles which may be of interest. You have several options to find journal literature. You can use one of the article indexes listed below or the search box at the top of the page.
Global environmental change: human and policy dimensionsCall Number: Electronic journalGlobal Environmental Change is a peer-reviewed international journal publishing articles, which advance knowledge about the human and policy dimensions of global environmental change. The journal interprets global environmental change to mean the outcome of processes that are manifest in localities, but with consequences at multiple spatial, temporal and socio-political scales. ...
Global environmental politicsCall Number: Electronic journalGlobal Environmental Politics examines the relationship between global political forces and environmental change, with particular attention given to the implications of local-global interactions for environmental management as well as the implications of environmental change for world politics. ...
Environmental science index by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis resource provides in-depth A&I coverage from the environmental science literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types.
GreenFILE by Call Number: Electronic resourceGreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
Gale in context: Environmental studies by Call Number: Electronic resourceFrom climate change to automobile emissions, today’s environmental issues determine the destiny of tomorrow’s world. Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides users with comprehensive information on topics that affect people around the world. You can explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more. This resource
Integrates case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more on over 400 topics.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- Databases from the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations
A list of databases provided by the FAO. - Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) from IISD
The Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) is a balanced, timely and independent reporting service on United Nations environment and development negotiations. It is the flagship publication of the International Institute for Sustainable Development ... - Gapminder Tools
Gapminder produces free teaching resources making the world understandable based on reliable statistics. Gapminder promotes a fact-based worldview everyone can understand. Gapminder collaborates with universities, UN, public agencies and non-governmental organizations. - Global Environment Outlook
The Global Environment Outlook (GEO) is a consultative and participatory process to prepare an independent assessment of the state of the environment, the effectiveness of the policy response to address these environmental challenges and the possible pathways to be achieve various internationally agreed environmental goals. ... - International Environmental Agreements (IEA) Database
The International Environmental Agreements (IEA) Database Project seeks to foster analysis of international environmental agreements (IEAs) by providing a "single source" repository for most information related to IEAs and the evaluation of their influence. - International Regimes Database
The International Regimes Database (IRD) is a tool designed by a German-American research-team in collaboration with 46 case-study experts who coded 23 international environmental regimes. - National Climate Assessment
The National Climate Assessment from the U. S. Global Change Research Program summarizes the impacts of climate change on the United States, now and in the future. You can get a copy of their latest report here. - South Asia Co-operative Environment Programme (SACEP)
Their mission is to promote regional co-operation in South Asia in the field of environment, both natural and human in the context of sustainable development and on issues of economic and social development which also impinge on the environment and vice versa; to support conservation and management of natural resources of the region and to work closely with all national, regional, and international institutions, governmental and non governmental, as well as experts and groups engaged in such co-operation and conservation efforts. - UNEP Environmental Data Explorer
The Environmental Data Explorer is the authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. ... - World Development Indicators (WDI) Online
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the World Bank’s premier compilation of cross-country comparable data on development.
Keeping up with Environmental Science journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Environmental Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.