Subject Librarian
Other library resource(s)
Annual review of animal bioscienceCall Number: Electronic resourceThe Annual Review of Animal Biosciences places a particular emphasis on biotechnology, genetics, genomics, and breeding, as well as veterinary medicine, especially veterinary pathobiology, infectious diseases and vaccine development, and conservation and zoo biology.
Biodiversity conservation from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Biodiversity conservation is the 1990s manifestation of social, scientific, and policy agendas seeking to maintain or restore attributes of nature valued by societies or groups therein. The term “biodiversity” was coined during the 1980s and refers to the totality of genes, species, and ecosystem in a defined space. It became a mainstream policy concern following the ratification of the 1992 Convention on Biological Diversity. ...
Sustainable development from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Ecology by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199830060Sustainable development is a concept that has quickly risen to prominence both in academic work and in policymaking at all levels, particularly since 1987 when the World Commission on Environment and Development, better known as the Brundtland Commission, released its report promoting this approach. The report defines sustainable development as development that “meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs” and states that “the concept of sustainable development does imply limits—not absolute limits but limitations imposed by the present state of technology and social organization on environmental resources and by the ability of the biosphere to absorb the effects of human activities. ...
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Course description for Conservation & Sustainability
This course investigates the challenges and opportunities associated with integrating the twin goals of biodiversity conservation and development in the Global South. We will look at the history of international conservation, paying attention to the assumptions and power relations that have underpinned dominant approaches. We will examine the consequences of multiple conservation models and learn about conservation debates and critiques, paying attention to the political and socio-cultural contexts of these debates. Case studies from around the world will help students to gain a broad perspective on these issues. The course challenges students to think critically about the meaning of sustainable development for people and ecosystems across the Global South. Writing and research are important aspects of this class. Students will write a personal reflection essay, an analytical essay, and a research paper. We will spend class time on peer editing, discussions about writing, and learning about research methods and sources.
[Source: IWR, 11/08/2018], WCult: None; Distrib: INT
In the Library's Collections
Here are some useful subject headings for searching the online catalog. Clicking on any of these headings will lead you to resources on that subject.
Introductory reading(s)
Biodiversity conservation: challenges for the future by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781681080222Biodiversity Conservation - Challenges for the Future is a multidisciplinary book, linking topics on biodiversity, conservation, food and nutrition, organic farming, food security and sustainable management.
Life on earth: an encyclopedia of biodiversity, ecology, and evolution by Call Number: Library Depository QH 541.15 .B56 L54 2002 v.1-2ISBN: 9781576072868An examination of nature's extraordinary biological diversity and the human activities that threaten it.
Place-based conservation: perspectives from the social sciences by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789400796652The concept of "Place" has become prominent in natural resource management, as professionals increasingly recognize the importance of scale, place-specific meanings, local knowledge, and social-ecological dynamics. Place-Based Conservation: Perspectives from the Social Sciences offers a thorough examination of the topic, dividing its exploration into four broad areas. ...
A theory of global biodiversity by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780691154831The number of species found at a given point on the planet varies by orders of magnitude, yet large-scale gradients in biodiversity appear to follow some very general patterns. Little mechanistic theory has been formulated to explain the emergence of observed gradients of biodiversity both on land and in the oceans. Based on a comprehensive empirical synthesis of global patterns of species diversity and their drivers, A Theory of Global Biodiversity develops and applies a new theory that can predict such patterns from few underlying processes. ...
Selected book title(s)
Between preservation and exploitation: transnational advocacy networks and conservation in developing countries by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780262528764A study of biodiversity governance analyzes the factors that determine the effectiveness of transnational advocacy networks and the importance of justice claims to conservation. In the late 2000s, ordinary citizens in Jamaica and Mexico demanded that government put a stop to lucrative but environmentally harmful economic development activities--bauxite mining in Jamaica and large-scale tourism and overfishing on the eastern coast of the Yucatán Peninsula. ...
Bringing in the future: strategies for farsightedness and sustainability in developing countries by Call Number: Baker-Berry HC 59.72 .E5 A83 2009ISBN: 9780226029160Humans are plagued by shortsighted thinking, preferring to put off work on complex, deep-seated, or difficult problems in favor of quick-fix solutions to immediate needs. When short-term thinking is applied to economic development, especially in fragile nations, the results—corruption, waste, and faulty planning—are often disastrous. In Bringing in the Future, William Ascher draws on the latest research from psychology, economics, institutional design, and legal theory to suggest strategies to overcome powerful obstacles to long-term planning in developing countries. ...
Green industrial policy in emerging countries by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781136024009For decades, governments have tried to foster industrial competitiveness and economic growth. Many instruments are known to work, and many lessons have been learned. However, humanity is increasingly feeling the effects of natural resource depletion. The rate of this depletion is deeply unsustainable, and it is - as of yet - inextricably linked to economic growth and development. To preserve acceptable living conditions for future generations, while at the same time creating these conditions for millions of poor in the first place, we must achieve a de-linking of economic activity and resource depletion. ...
Nature in the balance: the economics of biodiversity by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199676880This book sets out the building blocks of an economic approach to biodiversity, and in particular brings together conceptual and empirical work on valuation, international agreements, the policy instruments, and the institutions. The objective is to provide a comprehensive overview of the issues and evidence, and to suggest how this very urgent problem should be addressed. ...
Standing up for a sustainable world: voices of change by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781800371774The world has witnessed extraordinary economic growth, poverty reduction and increased life expectancy and population since the end of WWII, but it has occurred at the expense of undermining life support systems on Earth and subjecting future generations to the real risk of destabilising the planet. This timely book exposes and explores this colossal environmental cost and the dangerous position the world is now in. Standing up for a Sustainable World is written by and about key individuals who have not only understood the threats to our planet, but also become witness to them and confronted them. ...
Finding scholarly articles and journal titles
Our collection includes journals which look at biodiversity and conservation. I've listed one title below which may be of interest. You have several options to find journal literature. You can use one of the article indexes listed below or the search box at the top of the page.
Biodiversity and conservationCall Number: Electronic journalBiodiversity and Conservation is an international journal that publishes articles on all aspects of biological diversity-its description, analysis and conservation, and its controlled rational use by humankind. The scope of Biodiversity and Conservation is wide and multidisciplinary, and embraces all life-forms.
Environmental science index by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis resource provides in-depth A&I coverage from the environmental science literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types.
GreenFILECall Number: Electronic resourceGreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
Gale in context: Environmental studies by Call Number: Electronic resourceFrom climate change to automobile emissions, today’s environmental issues determine the destiny of tomorrow’s world. Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides users with comprehensive information on topics that affect people around the world. You can explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more. This resource
Integrates case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more on over 400 topics.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Keeping up with Environmental Science journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Environmental Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.